We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good authentic Chinese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nam Kee Chinatown

Nam Kee Chinatown
Ranked #853 of 3,767 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very good authentic Chinese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Unlike many psuedo Chinese restaurants found in Western countries which serve up a horrible mish-mash of dishes that only vaguely hint at being Chinese (think sweet curry, General Tso's chicken, egg roll or chop suey), this restaurant serves up authentic Chinese cuisine.

We ordered typical Chinese eatery-type dishes such as roast duck, brinjal in claypot, stir fried vegetables and noodles with wonton in soup and all were satisfyingly good. Best of all, the food was not too salty, unlike some other Asian eateries we had eaten at in Amsterdam.

The restaurant was packed with Asians both times I went, which is a good sign.

Service was efficient and matter-of-factly. Prices were reasonable, servings, large. Recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    173
    62
    30
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food in a great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great location on Zeedijk. We went here on a Wednesday evening at about 8pm and there wasn't a queue, although I'd say the restaurant was about 85% full which I took as a good sign.
I feel like it was an experience of two halves. On one hand the food was great, big portion sizes, good choice. We had sweet and sour chicken, chicken in satay sauce, rice and spring rolls, all of which was delicious and reasonably priced and which I would definitely recommend.
However, on the other hand, the service was pretty bad. There were only two members of staff that we saw. The lady that served us was abrupt (verging on rude), unsmiling and not attentive in the slightest. It wasn't just us that felt this way as there was a family sitting across from us that tried 3 or 4 times to get her attention before she even noticed them. The interior of the restaurant was ok and it seemed relatively clean.
Overall, I would recommend this restaurant for the food if you can put up with the service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PrincesaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
104 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food, better prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We ate here last week based on recommendation from our hosts at Mauro Mansion.
The food was delicious and the service was prompt and efficient. Tis is not a high end place, but very clean and well run.
We loved our food and contemplated going back even though only in town a few days

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TshoesNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
533 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Good choice across from Buddhist temple”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

this is not a particularly great Chinese restaurant but it is good, relatively inexpensive and convenient. Nam Kee is my favorite of its ilk in this area. Walking up the Zeedijk (the street it's on) from the De Wag in the Niewmarkt is a very nice walk through Amsterdam's Chinatown. The menu is very extensive and can be hard to choose from. There are a lot of tourists here but plenty of locals. Service is brusque but efficient. Prices are reasonable. Food is good but not great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Smell China in the air”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

When you enter Nam Kee you have traveled to China.
Not only the smell is the same but the food as well!
If you wish to have a good quality and great price Chines go to Nam Kee and please try the oysters!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bertha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nam Kee Chinatown also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Nam Kee Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing