We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$287
$241
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$392
$244
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$316
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$293
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$579
$387
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$124
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$290
$230
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$561
$331
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$204
$188
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $271/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$285
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,615)
Filter reviews
1,615 results
Traveler rating
595
624
259
87
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
595
624
259
87
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive roomresidential areatram stopcity centrenice hotelturn down servicebusiness hotelquiet locationmuseum quarterminute walkmini barcomfortable roomsper daypublic transportationcity taxdam squarecentral station
Filter
Updating list...
686 - 691 of 1,615 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed for two nights in August 2013. Lovely hotel, staff really pleasant and nothing was a problem.

It was our wedding anniversary when we stayed and there was a half bottle of champagne in the room as will as them upgrading us to an executive room which was very nicely decorated.

Would highly recommend this hotel and definitely will be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akm210276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at the Bilderberg after getting a deal though Late bookings. Saw 5* rating so assumed a great hotel.
We stayed in a delux room and the room itself was very good. Good bed and spacious room. However the whirlpool bath was very noisy, We had bottled water with screw tops so could not open, and the coffee machine and bedside alarm clock were a nightmare to work.
The biggest dissapointment was the outside of the hotel. It looked like a 1970's housing estate. Also we were asked on arrival for a £50 deposit which was not mentioned wehn booking as well as a city tax of 10 euro for 2 nites.

It was however very quiet and the staff were great and it was in a really nice neighbourhood close to trams and Vondel park. Not worthy of 5* rating more a good solid 3* hotel.

Room Tip: Not a 5 star hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jason b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Bilderberg Hotel for 3 nights at the start of July. We arrived early in the morning and we faced a rather unpleasant surprise: we were told that we had to pre-pay for our entire stay AND pay a sum of 50 euros/night as an "insurance deposit" for the mini-bar and bike rentals. Mind you, we hadn't rented any bikes and I doubt there are 50 euros worth of things in the mini-bar. The staff insisted that this is "standard in Amsterdam". I had been to the city 3 times before, and was never asked for any kind of "insurance deposit". As we didn't have a credit card with us, we were left with no cash and we had to use our overdraft. That helped set the tone for our stay.

The hotel is not bad per se. The rooms are big and comfortable, the airco worked in the room, the apple every every evening was a nice touch. Still the carpets and the room doors felt dates and in need of refurbishment. The area is a posh, residential Amsterdam suburb - but since Amsterdam is really a small place, it's just 7 minutes by tram (station is 3 minutes on foot) to Leidseplein and the canals.

The price was ok - but I wonder why hotels (including this one) keep on having this absurd charges like e.g. 17euros per day for wi-fi or even a small charge to use the business centre? Really makes no sense nowadays.

A pleasant experience but the deposit issue did cast a shadow...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikos_Greek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights. After reading some 'negative' comments, I was pleased to notice the most of the comments are not too realistic.

+++: The hotel has a very helpfull staff, large room with airco (good to have in that hot weather), great location just away of 2 minute walking distance for the tram=> located in the residential area ( no noise @ night!)

- - -: maybe the prices for drinks @ hotelbar, it's cheaper to go for a drink in the city.

It's a 5 star-hotel? yes and no, the hotel feels very modern and has no high luxury equipment. But the details made your stay comfortable (every night turndown-service, coffee-tea on the room, great breakfast, bellboy,..)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stavrosken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Because my 89 year old mother needs a "walk in shower" we were advised to book an executive room, about $35 more per night than a regular room. I had also asked for 2 seperate beds. When we arrived, there were no seperate beds, we were told there are no rooms with shower and sperate beds, different from what I was told on the phone!!! They solved the problem by giving me my own room, which was a nice gesture. My mom could never use the shower, it was a huge step to get in and no support what so ever, waste of extra $ 35 per night, and how uncomfortable since her "climate control" also didn't work, a problem that other guests had too, we found out! We asked for the $35 per night back but they told us we already received an extra room ( we didn't ask for..., their solution). Apparently there are no facilites for handicapped or older people! My advise is, go next door to The Hilton, especially when you're used to airco. There were some other problems with the reservation, my sister reserved the hotel restaurant "Kersentuin" for Monday night, and received a nice email back, welcoming us, only to receive another email 3 days later, telling us the restaurant was closed. Turns out the restaurant is always closed during the peak of summer, so they knew when we made the reservation, pretty serious oversight! My sister and brother in law had booked a regular room and it was about the same size as the more expensive executive suite, the only difference.... no jaccuzi ,but...... it was nice and cool! The hotel has an gloomy outdoor area overlooking a parking lot, go across the street to The Hilton and you'll find one of the most beautiful terraces in Amsterdam, overlooking the water. I would not have written this review if they had just given us the $70 back. (not about the money, a question of princpal and service) I'm sure I'll get a "we had already given you an extra room, free of charge, very unusual" reaction. That did not make up for not being able to shower when temperatures inside and outside your room reach close to 90 degrees!!! On the postive side, all personnel was extremely friendly and helpful!
We have stayed in Bilderberg hotels many times but will not return to this one!

Room Tip: Definitely don't spend your money on an executive suite!!!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjolein h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews