We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely Hotel, Lovely Area, Lovely Stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
Ranked #101 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, Lovely Area, Lovely Stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Bilderberg Garden Hotel for 2 nights as we visiting Amsterdam with some friends to celebrate a 30th. I managed to bag a good deal through Secret Escapes for this hotel and secured an executive room.
The hotel was a 20 minute trip on the bus from Schiphol and easy to locate after exiting from the Museumplein. I had emailed the hotel the day before to see if we could gain early access to our room and despite not getting a certain yes in my reply, when we checked in 2 out of the 3 rooms in our group managed to check in around 11 am.
The room itself was lovey, a big comfortable bed with a Samsung TV in the end with an array of channels. Good size bathroom with a jacuzzi bath (which we didn't actually use) and all the amenities one should require. A few nice touches including fresh bottles of water delivered to the room everyday as well as apples made for a nice treat. We didn't use the restaurant as we wanted to explore eateries in the city, but it was busy everyday - even if it did look to be a bit on the expensive side.
The hotel staff were very friendly, handing out maps when requested and explaining all we needed to know about the local area. The hotel is located in a lovely part of Amsterdam, 20 minutes away from the hub of the city center (Dam Square, red light district etc) on the tram. Although a nice walk through Vondelpark towards the Jordaan area makes a nice change to using public transport.
Overall, a fantastic stay and I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: I managed to get a good deal through Secret Escapes for an executive room, but my friend stayed in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    495
    212
    63
    38
See reviews for
128
611
56
214
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leek
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

A special 50th birthday trip was enhanced by our 3 nights in the Bilderberg. First night noise issues, sorted immediately. After that, nothing was too much of a problem for the wonderful staff.
Far enough out for the peace and quiet, near enough to the city for a pleasant stroll every morning through Vondel Park.
My only regret was not eating in the restaurant as we had our evenings planned. Next time.....

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room away from the kitchen area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed for a couple of days for business.
The impression was very bright. Room was comfortable, spacious with cosy bed. Bathroom was nice with scented oatsoaps.
It is not too close to the city centre but it takes 2 minutes to get Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum by bicycle ('m sure this is the best way to go sightseeing in Amsterdam). Bicycles could be rent right in the hotel.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. I also liked that they had a great sense of humor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed for a Conference and we were very pleased with the friendliness of the staff and the location of the Hotel. It is in a very quiet and nice neighbourhood, which makes it convenient and pleasant. From there it is a short walk to RAI. Also there are two main tramway lines and the train station is not too far away. Overall good stay.
However, be aware of the city tax that they are going to charge on top of the overall rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed for a week in bilderberg hotel , I choose to have breakfast in the hotel and paid extra for that. Room was very comfortable with attached cozy bathroom.it is very close to the city centre. But not walking. It is close to the train station ( no 5 and 24 takes 10-15 minutes to reach central station. Bar and bar attendant was excellent . Great service , friendly and helpful staff. I bought my train tickets from the hotel reception.
I wasn't quite happy with the breakfast as they served same menu with very limited choice menu.Absolutely fix menu daily. Oh god I couldn't eat same breakfast every day. Finally I decided to withdraw from breakfast though I paid in advance but they adjusted balance whilst checkout in my final bill.
Wifi was not free .perhaps you will have to pay for wifi in most of the hotels in amsterdam.

Overall it was very comfortable stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are staying here you can find few very nice shops for great breakfast at reasonable price. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sukhi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
189 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

plus:
- just outside the city centre, valet parking.
- comfortable room, minibar, safe, good bed, airco, bathrobes
- perfect breakfast/lunch/dinner
- meeting rooms, bar
- nice staff
minus:
- garden?? there is nothing more than a terrace next to the entrance
- my room had a combined bathtub/shower, not ideal if you have knee/hip problems
plus or minus:
- not in the heart of the city, but in a quiet part of Amsterdam
- not a hotel for small children

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaapK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I can only think that the negative comments were written by people who stayed at another hotel.

The Bilderberg Garden is a lovely hotel: our exec room was precisely that; it did not purport to be a suite, it was not overly large, but it was extremely comfortable, the jacuzzi was a perfect facility after a long day's sightseeing, huge fluffy bath sheets, crisp bed linen, all changed daily.

The staff could not have been more welcoming, more attentive or more helpful. It is difficult to single out individuals when this ethic pervades the hotel from management down, but Frank (bar manager, comedian, tour guide, politician, all-round star) is, perhaps, the jewel in the crown.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#49 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,494 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#87 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#24 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Property: Bilderberg Garden Hotel
Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing