We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful hotel, helpful staff, walking distance to most everything.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Notting Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Notting Hill
Ranked #68 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, helpful staff, walking distance to most everything.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We booked two rooms for a few nights in Amsterdam and loved our stay at the Hotel Notting Hill. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to give us recommendations, directions, or make reservations. The location is great, off the main roads to be quiet and quaint, but close enough to walk to many of the sights. There is also a tram stop right outside of the hotel, which was super convenient. The room was very comfortable and modern and very quiet. I would absolutely recommend this hotel and consider it for a future trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjecamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    302
    79
    28
    16
See reviews for
84
428
27
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wicklow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed here from 21st to 24 th of November 2013 in a single room. The price was high 143 plus taxes for thurs to 170 plus taxes for Saturday. The prices go up depending on how busy the city is according to the receptionist! The city taxes are added on to the room price so be careful of that when you are budgeting. The location is great as its right beside a picturesque canal and a little off the beaten track though sill convenient for walking, cycling and the tram stops right outside.
The hotel itself is clean and warm though its quite sterile with no atmosphere and a very quiet bar. The barfood is good though. We rented bikes for the day at 16.50 euro each which I thought was very expensive considering the high cost of the rooms. I noticed that my bike had a broken lamp and no back brake after unlocking it and called back to reception to notify them and I wasn't believed, 'just back pedal' she said! I got another bike and it worked out fine but there is definitely an unhelpful unfriendly attitude with the staff here. On the first night I requested foam pillows as I have a feather allergy and was told there was 'nothing we can do now' and that was it! i slept on an extra quilt(foam) for the three nights, no apologies and no follow up just 170 euro plus tax please per night , bye bye!
All in all a very average hotel which I wouldn't return to it as it is unfriendly and unhelpful. My advice is find somewhere more helpful for that price. Easily done.

Room Tip: The windows in my room didn't. The bathroom door is a swing door,no lock,made of glass so no pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WicklowManxcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

It was 1st time when I got room in basement, and believe me it was good. As I didn't spend daytime in my room, small window near ceiling was enough.
Big, well decorated room, bathroom with separate tub and walk-in shower, good, not yet worn-out materials. Surprisingly good electronic light switches.
Free wi-fi with router in room, free Nespresso coffee machine.
At reception lady greeted me, explained everything and led to elevator. Later I used stairs, and those were unkempt for 3 nights I spent in hotel in contrast to cleanliness of room.
I didn't go for EUR 23 breakfast, instead on my way to museums bought brotje with young herring for EUR 3. And believe: it was simple and divine.
Hotel is 15 minutes walk to museum district and tram stops just opposite hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

I recently spent 5 days in Netherlands on business and stayed at the Hotel Notting Hill on my last night before departing on an early morning flight. Do yourself a favor and stay an extra day or two if you can. This hotel is wonderful and Amsterdam is great. From a location perspective though, if you want to be right in the middle of the tourist hustle and bustle of the red light district or Rembrandt Plein then you will have a bit of a walk or trolly ride but, frankly, I am not sure I would want to stay near there anyway. Hotel Notting Hill is a short taxi ride from the train station and an easy walk to anything you want to see. The hotel is among my favorite boutique hotels I have stayed in. The bar-man was great with directions and suggestions of what to see, he stayed open late when we came home for a night-cap and was super friendly. I needed a cell phone charger cord and the check-in gal dug one up for me which was super and the room, while quite small was amazing. Everything was as though it had just been renovated and they did not spare a single expense. On top of all that, we were up early the next morning for our flight so I got a cup of coffee from the bar and it was quite possibly the best cup of coffee I have ever had even more than in Italy, France, UK or Germany. While a little off of the beaten tourist path, this hotel is really great.

Room Tip: I was put in a room on the front of the hotel at the corner so I had two windows which was nice howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PackersFanCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Booked this hotel after trying to find the perfect location at a great price... was not disappointed! It's literally about 10 minutes from anywhere of interest (by tram)... the only downside to having a tram stop outside is the thundering sound every 15 minutes or so but you get used to this & it never woke us up. We stayed for 3 nights & the hotel staff could not have been more helpful from checking in, right up to checking out. They even had a traditional porter in the red uniform on the door one night! We never ate in the restaurant so can't rate that but the rooms were great, spacious and clean. The bathroom was lovely, shower had 2 options... you could either use the big round head on the ceiling as a rainfall shower or use the handheld shower head on the wall. The minibar is a vending machine which is strange but pretty cool... we asked for a canal view room & the staff were apologetic when they "couldn't fulfil" this & gave us a corner room instead... which had a canal view! Guess it wasn't full canal view so didn't count? Upon checking in, we were provided with a map on which all the main attractions were circled & explained. The bed was extremely comfortable, the sheets were so soft & silky that I found myself sliding off the edge at one point! You get a dressing gown & slippers, anything you could need in the bathroom too... from toothbrush & toothpaste to a sewing kit & shoe sponge! Complimentary water upon arrival in the room & also an electronic safe where you specify your own code. There are 2 blinds on each window: 1 light that gives privacy but allows light through, or a blackout blind. All in all, I would (& in fact, already have) recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view room, probably the higher the better due to tram noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilbec29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

This boutique hotel has everything I can ask for in a hotel: modern, spacious, spotlessly clean, new appliances, new bedding, comfy double bed, fluffy towels, great shower, big bathroom...etc. etc. It's my new favourite hotel. The staff are lovely and very helpful. Delicious and fast room service from the restaurant downstairs - we had the same meal twice! Really close to some great areas of Amsterdam - could easily stroll to any bars and restaurants we needed to go to. Can't recommend this hotel enough - I would have paid way more for this comfort.

Room Tip: Room 120 doesn't have a view (just facing a brick wall) and the cleaning-staff's room is nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buddlemug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, small, convenient with excellent rooms. Missed out on breakfast, but service in general really friendly. Location quite good and prices fair in comparison to similar hotels in Amsterdam. Would visit again, definately.

Room Tip: Avoid lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hildur O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#32 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#63 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#62 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Notting Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Notting Hill

Property: Hotel Notting Hill
Address: Westeinde 26, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Notting Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam is a boutique design hotel, in which you will feel right at home. The hotel is situated in an attractive and historic building in the heart of the bustling city of Amsterdam. Discover Amsterdam from your doorstep with Leidseplein Square, Rembrandtplein Square and the Museum Quarter right around the corner. The blend of classic elements, modern facilities and historic features make this former governmental building a perfect place to stay in Amsterdam. This stylish luxury hotel is the key address for cosmopolitan and international travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Notting Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing