We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Notting Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Notting Hill
Ranked #63 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cute boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel is very clean. Staff are very friendly. The room was just beautiful, really trendy and spacious. The bathroom was my favorite.
Note: the door is see through.

The big plus: It is away from the busy crowds of tourists that congregate around centraal station and dam square, but not that far from many attractions. From the train station, we took Tram no. 4 which was only a 5-10 min ride to the hotel. The hotel is also in the cool De Pijp neighborhood, where you will find many cool bars and locals hanging out. Also, it is 5 min away from the market, where you can grab a quick snack.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchesskt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Dutchesskt,

It was a pleasure to receive your review through Tripadvisor and to read that you enjoyed a good stay at Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam.

We hope to welcome you back as our guest again in the future and thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.

With kind regards,

Team Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    286
    73
    26
    15
See reviews for
81
411
26
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very welcoming and helpful staff. The room was spacious, clean and well decorated. Quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with eggs cooked to order and plenty of variety in the buffet. Can definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Stefanie,

It was a pleasure to receive your review through Tripadvisor and to read that you enjoyed a good stay at Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam.

We are happy you enjoyed our breakfast, we will forward this to our staff!

We hope to welcome you back as our guest again in the future and thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.

With kind regards,

Team Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

If, like me, you want to see Amsterdam but want to avoid the "wild" side....then this hotel will be ok. The hotel is located close to the museums, restaurants and a reasonable shopping area. Our room was very nice. Towels and toiletries replaced daily. I concede that shower door was a bit of nuisance but discretion was the order of the day. Coffee and croissants on the terrace was 9euros per couple and it was lovely to sit by the canal and watch the early cyclists and the world go by. The staff were more than helpful and I would have no hesitation of booking this hotel for my next visit. I also want to know where they got their pillows.....they are tremendous!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fjeanforsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Fjeanforsyth,

It was a pleasure to receive your review through Tripadvisor and to read that you enjoyed a good stay at Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam.

We are happy you enjoyed our pillows, if you want to know the adress, we are happy to give this!

We hope to welcome you back as our guest again in the future and thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.

With kind regards,

Team Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

This boutique design hotel have glass bathroom doors and no lock, when you use toilet or bath you wilm feel like you are in the bedroom, so your partner or the other person will feel like this.
We stayed 3 nights here, they left 2 bottles of water in the first 2 days, but on the 3. day, there was no water, when we came back to room in the evening. We called and requested 2 complimentary water,they said there wasn't such a thing like complimentary water!:)
More, our pillows were dirtu, we put them on the floor while we are leaving room in the morning,and we left the room asking to get it cleaned, but agaon when we came back, they had put the dirty pillows on the bed, they didn't change the sherts, when we saw, called them agaon, and they said that they were changing sheets in every 3 days. There wad no information in the room about this, neverthless how can a housekeeper put the pillows back from floor to bed????
Think about that, thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beliveornot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Beliveornot,

It was a pleasure to receive your review through Tripadvisor and to read that you enjoyed a good stay at Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam.

Thank you for your feedback about the bathroom door, we will check this and take action on this. On congress days we provide complimetary water, we are sorry this was not clear. We are sorry about the dirty pillows. We have informed our housekeeping staff about this. Please be informed this is not our standard service level.

We hope to welcome you back as our guest again in the future and thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.

With kind regards,

Team Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
128 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed at the Notting Hill hotel in Amsterdam for a mix of work and pleasure. The location was perfect for my particular trip because of where my meetings were located, but might not be for everyone. It’s a few tram stops away from the main tourist center and right on the border of a quieter, more residential neighborhood. But the tram stops right outside the front door and taxis were plentiful, so getting around was not an issue.

The hotel itself was quite nice and, importantly for the particular weekend of our stay, the air conditioning worked like a charm. I should warn that the bathroom was a bit less private than some (with a window looking on to the main room and shades which could be drawn from either side) so hopefully you are very comfortable with whomever you happen to be bunking. Breakfast was a bit overpriced for what it was, but we had no problem finding other options in the area.

I must particularly thank the staff who were extra helpful and went out of their way to help me sort out an invoicing issue.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Expat,

It was a pleasure to receive your review through Tripadvisor and to read that you enjoyed a good stay at Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam.

Thank you for your feedback about our breakfast. We also have less expensive alacarte breakfast on our menu and offcourse there are some nice breakfast restaurants nearby!

We hope to welcome you back as our guest again in the future and thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.

With kind regards,

Team Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This was our third visit to Amsterdam and our third hotel. Without a doubt this has been the best, the hotel is just opposite the 4 and 25 tram stop, a 15 minute walk to both Rembrandt plein and Leidesplein so perfect location for us. The main areas of the hotel are very slick and boutique ish. The room (316) was lovely, large enough with a good bathroom and nice views over the canal.

We were helped by the fact that we used our Avios points so paid next to nothing for our 3 night stay, no idea how much it would have been. It's easily worth £110-£120 per night, so if you get it as this price or cheaper then you'll be delighted.

The breakfast was cracking too, and the bar area small but nice. Can't recommend highly enough, we'd stay again when we come back to the Dam.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ninjakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Ninjakitty,

It was a pleasure to receive your review through Tripadvisor and to read that you enjoyed a excellent stay at Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam.

We hope to welcome you back as our guest again in the future and thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.

With kind regards,

Team Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llantwit Major, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Super classy hotel. Got a good price via expedia and its worth every penny. Super room, decorated with taste. Great shower room and wifi. I'll come here again. The location is on a tram route so transport from Schiphol is easy and inexpensive. Staff are loverly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rog5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Rog,

It was a pleasure to receive your review through Tripadvisor and to read that you enjoyed a excellent stay at Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam.

We hope to welcome you back as our guest again in the future and thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.

With kind regards,

Team Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#56 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#61 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,702 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#71 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#25 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,038 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Notting Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Notting Hill

Property: Hotel Notting Hill
Address: Westeinde 26, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Notting Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam is a boutique design hotel, in which you will feel right at home. The hotel is situated in an attractive and historic building in the heart of the bustling city of Amsterdam. Discover Amsterdam from your doorstep with Leidseplein Square, Rembrandtplein Square and the Museum Quarter right around the corner. The blend of classic elements, modern facilities and historic features make this former governmental building a perfect place to stay in Amsterdam. This stylish luxury hotel is the key address for cosmopolitan and international travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Notting Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing