We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel but made to feel 2nd class due to room booked”
Review of Hotel Notting Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Notting Hill
Ranked #87 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great hotel but made to feel 2nd class due to room booked”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I can highly recommend Hotel Notting Hill, it’s a gorgeous new hotel in a great part of Amsterdam, not too far from the main attractions but far enough to escape the crowds.

On arrival it was very busy as it was 11am and this is check out time. We were disappointed that after 10 mins of waiting another man was rudely allowed to jump the queue in front of us because he was a local speaking their language, this I found to be very rude and unprofessional of the hotel staff not to notice that we were waiting next to be served. After this blip the check in was smooth but the room wasn't ready because we were so early, instead we left our luggage and went off into the City.
When we arrived back later we found out that our room was downstairs in the basement when I had requested a high level room, when I went up to reception to ask if there were any other rooms available, I was told 'No this is the room you booked, our cheapest room, you did not pay for the more expensive rooms which are on a higher level.' I explained that I wasn't given an option to upgrade or chose which room rate I wanted to pay when booking online, but clearly told 'No you paid cheapest price and these rooms are all in the basement, we have no expensive rooms available till tomorrow and then it will cost you 55euros more' I felt the tone in which she spoke was as if she didn't think we could afford this. We decided to give the room a try as we had no other options, the room still was fine, not too big and enough for our 2 night stay just a bit dark and not nice having tables and chairs from the hotel bar right outside the window, but because it was quite cold thankfully no one sat there, I can imagine in the summer this can get busy because its next to the canal so could be noisy. The bed had the most comfortable mattress topper I've ever slept in and managed to get 2 good night’s sleep which is unusual for me as I don't sleep well in hotels due to noise. The bathroom was very modern and had a nice big shower in there, only disappointment which is minor was on the 2nd day when they cleaned the room they didn't replenish the shower cap and other toiletries we’d used the night before. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful and the staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Try to find the option to allow you to chose a room on a higher level, I imagine in the summer being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCL19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving us your comment. Your feedback is very helpful and valuable for us to optimize our service.
I am very sorry to hear that you experienced that an associate has approached you wrongly, by not asking whether you would like to have an upgrade to a higher floor; and that this has come across completely wrong. This is not how we treat our guests and therefore I do apologize about this situation! We will share your experience with the team.
Our aim is to fulfill wishes as good as possible.
I hope that despite of this, you have enjoyed your stay.

Best regards
F. Bogaert
Hotel Notting Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    331
    95
    30
    19
See reviews for
92
471
27
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
97 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This hotel is definitely worth the stay. The staff are incredibly welcoming and service is prompt. The hotel lobby is very well decorated and the rooms are pretty, even if a bit small.
This is understated luxury. Hotel location is good for Rijsmuseum and Van Gogh museum, and great restaurant and shopping area.
Easy to get to Dam square and Centraal Station on the tram: 10-15mins.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We booked an apartment for the weekend in Amsterdam six months ago for our 25th wedding anniversary and took along another couple.The apartment was just so awful and dirty and we couldn't stay there,and so found ourselves homeless late Friday night.We went into the Notting Hill hotel and explained our predicament,they were so kind and helpful to us.They found accommodation for one couple nearby for the first night at another nice hotel and for all of us at the Notting Hill on the second.Complimentary wine arrived at our room to cheer us up as I had been visibly upset,and the service throughout was second to none.Add to that the fact that it is a beautiful hotel,the decor is so tasteful,our holiday actually turned out to be a great experience.Well done Notting Hill and thank you!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Angela,

thank you for your great words about our Hotel! Good to hear you had a great experience celebrating your 25th Wedding Anniversary with us. If you want to come to Amsterdam again please let us know.

All the best!
Team Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

My husband and I, with our daughter of 2.5 years, have stayed at Notting Hill hôtel 4 nights in April 2012.
The hôtel is brand new, very modern with a nice design.
The room was very big and very clean. We were lucky to have the view on the canal.
The breakfast was splendid, with fresh orange juice and plenty of choice to start the day in good conditions...
The staff was very kind, specially with our little daughter, and it helped us in finding some goods restaurants in the area and booking them for us.
We want to thank you the staff for this fabulous stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view on the canal !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed for three nights - great location, very service oriented, room (Deluxe) with all the trimmings - a tad small for two people, but manageable - I will certainly return - great value for money!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

A lovely hotel on a very good location. All tram pass so you can go anywhere. Good restaurants nearby, adequate facilities. The price is a bit high, but all hotels are expensive Amsterdan.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicole v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Staff very nice and helpful. The room was decorated in modern style with free internet there is a quality espresso machine in the room! Room service is available throughout the day and very tasty. Reasonable location pretty close to the area of ​​entertainment and a nice market. We walked everywhere but I'm not sure it's suitable for everyone.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hagar111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#34 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#71 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#59 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#66 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#32 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Notting Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Notting Hill

Property: Hotel Notting Hill
Address: Westeinde 26, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Notting Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam is a boutique design hotel, in which you will feel right at home. The hotel is situated in an attractive and historic building in the heart of the bustling city of Amsterdam. Discover Amsterdam from your doorstep with Leidseplein Square, Rembrandtplein Square and the Museum Quarter right around the corner. The blend of classic elements, modern facilities and historic features make this former governmental building a perfect place to stay in Amsterdam. This stylish luxury hotel is the key address for cosmopolitan and international travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Notting Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing