We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many issues, would have loved to be back but most unhelpful in returning my deposit”
Review of Hotel Notting Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Notting Hill
Ranked #80 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Stay there on the 12th July for one night - paid the hotel cash in full but had to give my debit card to hold a secure deposit for additionals - I have since found out that the hotel is still holding this deposit against my card and it is over 8 days now. I have phoned 3 days in a row and have had no joy in getting my money back. Maybe they need it more than me! Totally unacceptable and a great disappointment !

Room Tip: Room a strange shape but pretty views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tvanheusden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Mr van Heusden,

thank you for your review. This is very helpful to us.

We are sorry for the inconvenience. At check we always ask a credit card to make an authorisation as a deposit for any additionals, this is not a payment. It is also possible to do this in cash. At check out we always cancel this directly in our system. This procedure is what almost every hotel around the world does. Can you contact the hotel if the situation is solved?

Thank you again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you again in our hotel!

Kind Regards,
Team Hotel Notting Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,026)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

775 - 781 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2011

My partner and I have just returned from 3 cold wet and windy days in Amsterdam where we stayed at the Hotel Notting Hill.
With the Hotel Notting Hill it seems that it’s all about the look and not about the function.
The building looks good as does the interior as one enters reception and the common areas looks fine with a decent choice of colours.
There is only one elevator and it is rather slow and the floor numbers shown do not correspond to the floors one is wanting. We were on the 3rd floor and the number on the panel in the lift showed floor 4, but that was not a major problem just odd.
Then one gets to the room itself and this is where our dislike and the feeling that look is more important than the function comes into play.
We had booked a “Twin Deluxe Room” and if this was “deluxe” I am so glad we had not chosen a standard room. Our room was number 314 and I think was on the top floor of the building with a small window overlooking the street. The window could not be opened therefor one had to reply upon the air conditioning for any air in the room.
Even though the window would not open, was double glazed and on the 3rd floor (well we think it was but with the lift numbering being off I cannot be certain) it is quite noisy with the trams running on the street in front of the building, but this is quite a common problem with Amsterdam.
The room was long and very very narrow with barely room to swing the proverbial cat!! There are many things one could say about the room itself but it was it’s size which triggered the dislike. There was a wardrobe (taking up half of the room width) with shelving on one side and hanging space on the other. Well, with 2 bathrobes taking up most of the hanging space and an ironing board and iron taking up most of the rest there really was no room to hang ones clothes.
What really got to us was the bathroom, and this is really a case of the designer just not thinking about how many of the fittings could (or rather could not) be used without aggravation. Let’s start with the floor to ceiling glass door. Now, no matter how long one has been with one’s partner it is very embarrassing not to be able to use the toilet whilst sitting and doing what nature requires (and which rhymes with sitting). Then one needs to use the hand basin, well I have not used a hand basin before where you have to screw or unscrew the piece of the sink that allows the water to drain or prevent it doing so, how stupid is that!!!! There is nowhere to put the bar of soap provided and the mirror unit over the sink is so badly positioned that you continually bang your head on the shelf surrounding the mirror.
When taking a shower there is only a very small (totally inadequate) tray on which to put shower gels / shampoo’s soaps etc etc. Now whether one uses the large overhead shower head rose or the hand held option water floods under the door of the shower into the bathroom and into the room itself, requiring one to stack towels on the floor to avoid slipping and doing physical damage!!!
The only plus factors for us were (a) good free in room Wi-Fi internet and (b) the Nespresso coffee machine.
We really would not recommend this Hotel to visitors to Amsterdam, there must be better for the price and whilst it may not look as good it will function better.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Prodwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Judging by the size of the hotel bar (small) and the fact that the bathroom door is transparent this hotel seems to be aiming more for the lone business traveller and couples rather than families/friends on holiday.

When we first checked in at about 1700 we were taken to a room in the basement. To the hotel staff member's embarrassment the room was clearly occupied (bag and clothes on chair, bed unmade). She ushered us back to the reception and she confirmed that according to the computer the room was vacant and clean. The only other room available was on the second floor - and we were relieved. The basement room looked dark and gloomy and smelled of stale cigarette smoke. The second floor room was bright, clean, comfortable, free WiFi- everything you could ask for!

The service at the front desk is efficient and business like. The bar and 'behind the scene' staff were more friendly and more chatty.

The minibar is a vending machine rather than a fridge - with a Mars chocolate bar setting you back £2.50!! No water is provided either but you do get a Nespresso machine with a choice of three coffee pods. English tea drinkers may wish to bring their own tea bags. The closest my husband got to a 'real cuppa' was Earl Grey and that was only on day 1. Day 2 -5 was nothing but fruit tea and green tea.

We didn't eat at the hotel, so can't comment on the food.

Location wise, it couldn't be better. Tram 4 and 25 stop outside the hotel and go all the way to Centraal Station (10-15 mins max), the metro station is a short walk away. The hotel is very close to the Albert Cyupmarkt. A wonderful place to shop, eat and people watch.

Room Tip: Second floor, canal facing. Avoid basement rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PenguinPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We arrived at the Notting Hill and enjoyed our check in experience. We went to our room to find out that while all rooms are non smoking, it smelled like smoke. Given that my fiance is asthmatic, we asked for another room. At first they were unsure if they could accomodate us, but found that they had a cancellation and brought us to another room. We enjoyed the room as it was comfortable, dark and quiet. The bathroom had a very unfortunate feature - all of the water from the shower wouldn't drain into the floor, but instead out to the carpet! I would suspect that they really need to address this as soon as possible! We had drinks at the bar downstair with a somewhat cranky bar tender - but overall everyone was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NH48K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Great location near tram and metro. Walking distance to heineken experience. Nice, clean rooms. Friendly helpful desk. Breakfast is very expensive and not included.
Bathrooms have glass doors so a bit wierd if you are sharing with someone other than spouse. We hung a sheet since were sharing with teens.
Will return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F550M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

The hotel is brand new. The rooms are good in size, the shower is really nice. But service needs to be improved. It took us 30 minutes to check out because all personal is unexperienced. They tried to charge us twice for the same breakfast even after a phone call from our travel agent that the breakfast is prepaid. There was no water and no minibar in the room. Also the pillow is so high it is impossible to sleep on it. The location is out of the center but the tramway is just outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eglevit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We realized that being a brand new hotel (it opened two days before we arrived), there would be some things they would still be working out, but were rather surprised at some of the 'loose ends' we discovered. Overall, this was a beautiful, stylish place to stay, but it lacked an obvious polish of a hotel that had been around for awhile. The front desk staff was quite young, at times a little disheveled, unsure of protocol and lacking in neighborhood/popular restaurants/parking option knowledge, but were overall pleasant and helpful. This hotel is located away from any major restaurant or bars, which makes for a quieter part of town, but it's still close enough to walk to almost everything.

I'll give them a pass on most things they were still working on (i.e. getting mini fridges for the room, fixing the elevators to go to the right floor, buckets of dirty tools laying around), but there were a couple of things that did get to me. One was the wastefulness of the maid staff. They tossed out the open soaps and replaced the towels every day (they also tossed out our personal soap that we had brought). When we realized they did this, we left the 'do not disturb' button on (everything's very modern and electronic) because we didn't need all new everything, but they came in anyway. Minor, but it would be nice to give guests the option to not be so wasteful and to decide when they didn't want someone in their room.

The major thing that bothered me is probably more of an American thing, as it has to do with modesty and privacy. The door to the bathroom is completely transparent glass. I've seen a lot of this travelling throughout Europe in the last year, but this is the first time that anyone on the bed had a direct view of the toilet (how romantic) and a door that didn't even close. The door had a handle and latch that looked like it would go into a door frame - but there was no frame there. There was just a three inch gap all the way around and the door just hung a little open. I'm assuming based on the door design that this is something they're still working on, but it was quite off-putting.

The room we had faced the street, but was still a nice enough view with the trees and the canal off to the right. The tram stops right in front of the hotel, which is convenient, but sounds like a low roll of thunder every 20 minutes or so. Not overly loud, just surprising at times. The room was a good size, by European standards, and being new, was spectacularly clean. The bed was quite comfortable but I was surprised how awful and lumpy the pillows were. I thought that was something that resulted from wear, but apparently that's how they're purchased.

With some more polish in the service, crossing off the outstanding 'to-dos' and doing something about the bathroom doors, this has the potential to be a really great, 4-5 star place to stay. I hope to hear from reviewers about improvements so we might stay here again on our next trip to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Request canal view & completed bathroom door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shoegirlinDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#112 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,938 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#34 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,366 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Notting Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Notting Hill

Address: Westeinde 26, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $128 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Notting Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam is a boutique design hotel, in which you will feel right at home. The hotel is situated in an attractive and historic building in the heart of the bustling city of Amsterdam. Discover Amsterdam from your doorstep with Leidseplein Square, Rembrandtplein Square and the Museum Quarter right around the corner. The blend of classic elements, modern facilities and historic features make this former governmental building a perfect place to stay in Amsterdam. This stylish luxury hotel is the key address for cosmopolitan and international travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Notting Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing