We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Express

L'Express
Ranked #709 of 3,323 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $31 - $39
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We ate in this restaurant tonight. I can honestly say this was one of the highest quality meals I've eaten in a long time. The choice was good, the quality of food was excellent. I have a healthy appetite & the portions were generous. Service was attentive and our comments were clearly appreciated. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    63
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

L'Express is in a street with several good restaurants, and in my opinion it's one of the best. The food and service is consistently good. Sometimes, eating out in Amsterdam can be pricey, but L'Express keeps its prices very reasonable, with well-prepared, tasty French style food and wine. Mouss is a great host and has an excellent team.
They do a "Theatre menu" for early diners who have cinema or concert plans for the evening and don't want to linger. Otherwise, service is nice and relaxed, just right.
We've been coming here since it opened and always look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cousiest place ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

It was a lovely dinner. The staff is so friendly and quick. They decorated the place so nice. What you pay for what you get is absolutely reasonable. It is one of my favorite place in Amsterdam.
See you Mus..

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alperdemir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
180 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“French cuisine in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is a good and friendly french restaurant just off the centre of Amsterdam; the food was good if not absolutely top rate, but overall we had a perfectly pleasant evening in a relaxing atmosphere (just like somewhere in a small town in France). Given they are (in a sense) competing with Cafe Flo (just round the corner - see my reveiw) this is a much less high pressure way of eating french in Amsterdam. They also have jazz on some nights (not when we were there) and it gets quite full on those nights.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jazzzy-guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious Food; Cozy Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were in Amsterdam for the holidays and chose to make a reservation at L'Express for Christmas Eve this year. We were very pleased.

The restaurant is lovely - small and warm, which is lovely for a chilly evening. We had a set menu and everything from the lobster soup to the carpaccio to the desert plate were scrumptious. Would definitely visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Express also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to L'Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing