We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, laid-back place for a drink. Good beer selection. Almost ALWAYS crowded.”
Review of Cafe Brecht

Cafe Brecht
Ranked #635 of 3,813 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: This is a café, not a restaurant, but got some food.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
288 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Nice, laid-back place for a drink. Good beer selection. Almost ALWAYS crowded.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great little place for a beer or a cup of tea. Often crowded on the weekends, so a weekday or weeknight is more relaxed, with more attentive service. Good beer selection, and service is good too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderfool44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    41
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic haven in Amsterdam”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This cafe and bar is brilliant. We went in the evening where it is the perfect place for chilled beers, with a great atmosphere and good music.
We also went back during the day for tea and cake - the rhubarb hot juice was amazing, especially as we were there in winter.
Stunny decor, it really does feel like Berlin type bar. The staff were fantastic and gave us plenty of tips for decent clubs in Amsterdam.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Berlin influences in Amsterdam”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

A little bit of Germany in Amsterdam! With it's neo-classical furniture this place oozes nostalgia from the Weimar days and has a good selection of alternative German softdrinks and good local beer + Eastern European. I live across the border in Belgium, a 4-monthly visit to this atmospheric bar is a unconditional must!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perlipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braga, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great small café!”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We went there because of the name, as we saw it passing by tram and what a great decision! The best expresso we had in Amsterdam, also at the best price, great atmosphere, cozy, beautiful in a very very unique style! Lots of small sofas and tables and chairs, makes you not want to leave. We actually, after a morning coffee, got back there that same night for a beer!
Super friendly staff, beautiful and not expensive at all - you couldn't ask for more!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“cozy little coffee place”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Cafe Brecht is a very nice little coffee place, with comfortable chairs and sofas, nice light, and reasonable prices. You are so well sitted there when is cold outside it's difficult to get up and leave!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank nathy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Brecht also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Brecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing