We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Midtown Grill

Midtown Grill
Reserve with
Midtown Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 3,725 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $9 - $161
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Amsterdam's best address for steaks, chops and seafood. Inspired by the tradition of the quintessential New York steakhouses, Midtown Grill is serving up finest USDA certified steaks, irresistible classics and an extensive selection of world class wines. At Midtown Grill the emphasis is on pureness, simplicity, fresh ingredients and quality, which is why the restaurant works with the most premium meat kinds among which the unmatched Creekstone Farms prime USDA certified beef fillet. The restaurant has a warm ambiance with a vibrant view of the bustling part of Amsterdam between the Vondelpark and the Leidseplein. All senses are stimulated here, by the vibrant environment as well as the open kitchen and personal service. #MeatMeAtMidtown
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“NYC in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great queens day dinner
Excellent filet mignon and roasted potatoes
Good wine selection
Superb apple pie

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Agulha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JensHerklotz, Manager at Midtown Grill, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Agulha,
Thank you very much for your nice words, this is much appreciated!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your dinner at Midtown Grill and hope we can welcome you back soon! Lates to the first Kings Day.
Kind regards,
Jens Herklotz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    639
    202
    62
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Mediocre steak”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I love steaks, we thought we could have great steaks there (had some confidence in Marriott). We were disappointed. The meat itself was of reasonable quality but the cooking was not up to standard. We ordered medium and the steak turned out to be well-done at least. I heard the staff there said they are one of the best steakhouse in Amsterdam... Ehhh... really not sure about that.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FelinaFelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JensHerklotz, Manager at Midtown Grill, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear FelinaFelina,
Thank you for writing this review about our restaurant.
We are sorry for the inconvenience about what happened but are glad that you appreciated the solution, the new steak. We understand your opinion about the high prices and we will take this into account. We hope you choose to go to Midtown Grill again in the future and that we can show you what we have improved!

Kind regards,
Jens Herklotz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good steak, excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We popped in here on the off chance of getting a table as we fancied steak - were offered seats at the bar. Really enjoyed sitting here in fact as you get a good view of the chefs grilling the steaks. Service was excellent throughout.

Meal itself was very tasty (good soup, excellent carpaccio and the sourdough bread was warm & delicious). The steaks (ribeye for me, fillet for my wife) were both well cooked, though a little light on flavour, surprising since mine was on the bone which usually packs a punch.

The restaurant is attached to the Marriott, which adds a bit of a premium but not crazy expensive. All in all, perfectly pleasant experience but not sure I'd make a special point of going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pj1382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JensHerklotz, Manager at Midtown Grill, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear pj1382,

Thank you very much for your kind review!
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your visit so much and we hope to see you soon at Midtown Grill! Good to see that you highlighted the Carpaccio since we treat it on the old fashioned way. We don’t cut the meat frozen as fin as possible, we still take the time to treat the meat with passion.
Kind regards,
Jens Herklotz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ehhh Steaks are done better by others”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

As an American, a steak craving can get you down pretty fast. In desperate need of a good steak, I thought the Marriott would perk us up.. sadly not. The steaks were pretty average.... I guess it's off to Hard Rock next time?

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Descent steak house”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice environment, great grilling, quality ingredients, good service in a central location of the old city of Amsterdam.
A bit overpriced, perhaps.

Helpful?
1 Thank giwrgis
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Midtown Grill also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Midtown Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing