We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Different!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azmarino

Azmarino
Ranked #1,512 of 3,425 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Description: Specialising in East African cuisine, Restaurant Azmarino is set in the Pijp district of Amsterdam, near to Sarphatipark and the famous Albert Cuyp market. Dishes at this Amsterdam restaurant are based largely on Ethiopian and Eritrean cuisine, with meat dishes of differing strengths of flavour featuring heavily. All are served with vegetables and 'enjera', a typical sourdough pancake. Here, you also eat the traditional way - with only your hands. Also typical of East Africa is the beer, served in a gourd. Arguably one of the more unusual restaurants in Amsterdam, Restaurant Azmarino offers a little taste of Africa in the heart of the city.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Different!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Thought we'd try this after seeing it recommended on Guardian and it was near our hotel. Very friendly staff and really nice food - a bit spicy though - which you eat with your hands. A different experience but really enjoyable - bring a wet wipe though!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank danclay77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    13
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Co Durham
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“First time eating Ethiopian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to Azmarino, the service, food and welcome was really good. We decided to have the chefs choice which was great value. In particular we both enjoyed the meat dishes more than the vegetarian ones. The 'enjera' pancakes were great and made eating with our hands an interesting experience. The food was certainly original and the chef was happy to talk us through the dishes as the restaurant was quiet. We washed down our meal with the coconut and banana beers, delightful. Would we return? Yes! Though next time we'd be selective of the dishes we really enjoyed the most.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lockster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Yes, Azmarino isn't a loud and crowded place, but that I liked the most there.
The staff was complaintless friendly and smiling and arranged us a nice mixed plate of the best food.
It was my first time drinking beer out of a coconut and eating with my fingers and it has been one of my best experiences so far.
Can't recommend this place highly enough!

Helpful?
1 Thank Katharina K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong, this is a Top Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Once a friend wanted to suggest me his favorite African restaurant in Amsterdam. When I mentioned my favorite African restaurant (next to where I live) it turned out that we were both talking about the same one, namely Azmarino in the multi-cultural district 'de Pijp', yet far away from all the hassle.
You can choose any selection you prefer..you cannot go wrong, both vegetarian and meat dishes offer a great combination of food: stuffed beef, lamb, chicken, chickpeas, pumpkin, spinach, etc. are all finely chopped and spiced the African way.
Recently renewed, this place offers a unique style: me and my girlfriend are regular guests, we just love it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DomenicoLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

A friend said we should try Azmarino Restaurant when in Amsterdam. We had a nice experience and lovely tasty food, plenty of spice and I would encourage people to be adventuras and give it a try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dixiedoggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azmarino also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Azmarino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing