We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“historical”

Museum Het Rembrandthuis (Rembrandt House)
Book In Advance
More Info
$44.33*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #23 of 501 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rembrandt lived and worked from 1639 to 1658 in this 17th-century house, which today is a museum that pays tribute to the artist's life and career.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“historical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

there are no words that can be spoken to this place .. very valuable history that can not be assessed ... if you are not a connoisseur of art and do not know the history behind it, may not be able to enjoy it, but this is different .. history make this place alive .. .

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Made-Edy-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,443
    1,696
    513
    95
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lots of interactive displays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

The sessions on colour mixing and etching were great. Staff were wonderful and we really enjoyed our visit.
Get involved in the activities and you will too!

Helpful?
Thank kath006
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

A wonderful experience. The home was well preserved with many interesting rooms and furnishing. The audio guide was great, too. Exceptional demonstrations by knowledgeable experts, too. We left there feeling in awe; we actually spent time in the studio of Rembrandt!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mercury752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Overall I was a disappointed with the visit. There is not much to see and is rather expensive for what it offers. I was expecting to learn more about the life and work of Rembrandt but felt disappointed. Not many works of the artist were on display.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Masterpiece”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

A very interesting experience where one learns a lot about Rembrandt and his life.

I was especially interested in seeing his studio and therefore experiencing the natural light that he had whilst painting.

We'll worth a visit and the audio guides are free.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bobcoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Het Rembrandthuis (Rembrandt House) also viewed

 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Museum Het Rembrandthuis (Rembrandt House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing