We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine little museum if you have time to kill and a strong interest in the artist”

Museum Het Rembrandthuis (Rembrandt House)
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.58*
and up
Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum
More Info
$32.90*
and up
Private Contemporary Amsterdam Morning or Afternoon Walking Tour
More Info
$47.85*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #24 of 518 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rembrandt lived and worked from 1639 to 1658 in this 17th-century house, which today is a museum that pays tribute to the artist's life and career.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fine little museum if you have time to kill and a strong interest in the artist”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Small and easily manageable museum, you can run through it rather quickly. It gives you and idea how Rembrandt and his contemporaries lived back in the day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaymoOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,635
    1,815
    543
    101
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed!”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

You could almost walk past this museum - well, I did! The rooms are furnished as they were in his time, and the walls festooned with his paintings. There was also a demonstration in his studio of what paints he would have used and made from various minerals, as well an exhibition of etchings.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brantome2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Floor to ceiling Rembrandts”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Quite interesting to see the home of Rembrandt, walk the same steps, and view his masterpieces on walls, floor after floor. Do check out the special exhibits. The one on mixing paint was neat; Rembrandt lived before tubes of paint were available. The exhibit on etchings was extra special. I asked what they did with the prints, many hanging to dry from ceiling clotheslines and was given the one from our demonstration. If you are the first to ask, you get it! It is framed and hanging on a wall in front of me.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cruztravelr19808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A flavour of the Artist”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

A combination of carefully restored rooms, a collection of paintings that were important to Rembrandt and his studio with easel and pigments. This was a great way to get to know how Rembrandt lived.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Draw like a professional”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Went to Rembrant House as I wanted to know more about the man behind the artwork.
We found the house easily and were welcomed with a smile.
The house is full with lots to see and think about. I was most impressed with the 'wood' marble doorfames.
At the top of the house we were able to complete our own etchings. I am not an artist to any meaning of the word however I was able to get a feel for what it would have been like. The fellow that was instructing you what to do was insightful and passionate about art. I was walked through all the steps, even getting ink on my arms, then made prints of my etching. My print was then stuck up on the wall for others to see. (I also go to take home some prints too)

All together it was great to attration to see and do.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SJN6282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Het Rembrandthuis (Rembrandt House) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Museum Het Rembrandthuis (Rembrandt House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing