We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Museum Het Rembrandthuis (Rembrandt House)
Book In Advance
More Info
$67.20*
and up
Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum
Ranked #24 of 510 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rembrandt lived and worked from 1639 to 1658 in this 17th-century house, which today is a museum that pays tribute to the artist's life and career.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I'm a big Rembrandt fan, and I think this place is amazing! They have really done a nice job in restoring/recreating the home and studio to its original state with original furniture. It was as if I was stepping back in time. Highlights were the artist's studio, where you can see how his canvases were stretched and how he mixed his pigments, and his print studio where he made his etchings. There are apparently live demonstrations in both places, but I only caught the demo in his studio. TIP: don't make the mistake of sitting in one of the chairs inside the home - they're the real deal. You may be surprised at how quickly someone swoops in to escort you out of the room!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxxinTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,534
    1,758
    528
    97
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A house really lived in ... Rembrandt's house”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Here you have, not somewhere incidental to a great mans life, but somewhere central to it, where he lived for twenty years and produced his middle period masterpieces. The place is spacious, a wonderful restoration of a wealthy mans house from seventeenth century holland, but also gives insight into one of civilisations prophets. At the end, you can buy some excellent mementoes, including etchings taken off microscopically reproduced original blocks, giving the nearest most will get to owning a real rembrandt. Superb.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Facinating insight to the man and the period”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Not being a great lover of art, I basically tagged along as my wife and daughter were keen to go. We were able to walk right up to the ticket counter - no queue - not a good sign I thought. We dropped our coats and bags in one of the free lockers and picked up the free audio guide and set off.

The house and the object and furniture give a fascinating insight into the period this famous painter inhabited and the audio guide in particular draws you into his personal successes and tragedies. Although we missed the etching demonstration we were lucky enough to see the paint making demonstration which also enhanced the overall experience.

Despite my initial reservations I really enjoyed the whole experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Saint100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Interesting house with history”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This house provides a really good insight into Rembrandt and his life and works. There are practical demonstrations which enable people to see how he was able to create his artwork. Very clean, polite and helpful staff. Free lockers and a good audible system.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BillsonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Its like walking into a time machine”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

When we got to The House/Museum, there were no queues at all... frankly, for a split second I wondered if this was a bad sign, but afterwards I was proven wrong.
One of the friendly staff gave us a free audio guide that goes with the ticket and it did all the explanation needed .
The minute we stepped into The House , it was like stepping into a time machine ...everything was amazing, and I especially liked the collection of mummified animals and weird stuff which Rambrandt kept in an excellent condition.
People : when in Amsterdam, go and enjoy the history combined with art of this famous Dutch artist

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MayMustafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Het Rembrandthuis (Rembrandt House) also viewed

 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Museum Het Rembrandthuis (Rembrandt House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing