We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food very good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kamasutra

Kamasutra
Lange Niezel 9, 1012 GS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))
020 6260003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #295 of 3,021 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food very good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Here you get the option of 2 menus: indian and indonesean. I order a mild chicken with a coconout milk sauce from the indonesean one. I was sorprise when it arrived since it came with lots of small plates with different things to add into my chicken and also a big plate of rice with vegetables. Was soooo good!!! I also had some special bred form the indian menu . There are diferet kinds , i got the one with garlic and cheese.I loved it!! Here yu can eat a lot of good food for a very good price. I think i payed like 17 euros for all including also entrance and 2 drinks.

Helpful?
2 Thank Valencap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Paris, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Staff very friendly and helpful. Wine pairings very good. Not sure I would have chosen veal cheek, but it was very tasty. After dinner, the chef showed how the dish was prepared. Very open kitchen. Nice experience.
ok just try

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank van k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We found this restaurant by chance when wandering in the red light district. The food here was really good and the service was the best we had out of all of the restaurants we visited during our stay in Amsterdam. Extensive menu with Indian and Indonesian choices. Lots of set meal choices which were good value. The house wines (we tried white and rose) were good too. The staff were very attentive and explained the menu to those of us not overly familiar with Indonesian food. Nice atmosphere inside and the food was reasonably priced.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BristolKibbey18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“as close to authentic as you can get in Holland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

i eat there alot and you can get your food indian spiced its real nice. They know how i like it and each time i go there i try something new now

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mad_mullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Traditional indian food in the heart of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I went out to Kamasutra with my colleagues. Its a busy place with interesting interior. I didnt expect such a good indian restaurant in such a busy tourist place. But more importantly it was the food. The taste is very authentic, very different from some of the other indian restaurants i have tried in the past. We ended up ordering a lot and surprisingly ate it all up too. Great food :-))

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank esly82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kamasutra also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Kamasutra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing