We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kilimanjaro

Kilimanjaro
Ranked #926 of 3,750 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Plantage & the East
Description: The restaurant doesn't appear to have a website of its own, but Fodor'shas a listing for it here: http://www.fodors.com/world/europe/netherlands/amsterdam/review-150707.html
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had dinner with 6 friends at Kilimanjaro last Saturday night. Definitely make a reservation for this restaurant in weekends, it is not very big and it was totally full. This little gem has a 20 year history, but I'd never been there before last Saturday. But I will come back there for sure, I loved the food. They do a mix of food from different areas on the African continent, from South-African to Ethiopian. Some dishes are served with rice or couscous; the ethiopian dishes are served with a big pancake (you can use it to pick up the food as you eat with your hands here). My friends shared a big plate with a mix of all the dishes available; I had the vegetarian one. Both plates were absolute delicious. More pancakes were served without us asking for them when we finished the first round. The desserts - especially the fresh fruit with coconut ice - were also very recommendable. Oh and don't forget to order one of the special beers they serve, like coconut or bananabear. No glasses here, but wooden cups. For people that don't (want to) drink they have tasty fruitjuice and homemade lemonade. They roast their coffee themselves; after dinner one of the women from the kitchen gave us a quit insight in this process,presenting the roasting beans at the table in a hot pot. The coffee was amazing! What makes it extra nice is that it is cheap. The only downside is that there is only one person serving the food (and as the kitchen is very small I reckon there are only 1 or 2 people working there as well) and service is kinda slow, we waited 45 minutes for our dish (happily drinking the coconut beer though). Also because you eat some of the dishes with your hands it would be nice if they would serve like a hot napkin or something before and after dinner. But other than that I would heartily recommend this friendly little restaurant!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lois744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    21
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had the best meal of our week in Amsterdam in this small cosy restaurant, where we got the last table on a rainy night. The goat soup was fantastic, really fragrant, and our mains of chicken in spicy coconut sauce and red snapper were absolutely spot on. OK we had to wait a bit as there only appeared to be one person in the kitchen and one person serving, but we didn't mind as the food was worth waiting for. Nice quirky touches like carved animal napkin holders and zebra tablecloths - a very individual place with very friendly staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants I've been to. Is affordable and does amazing vegetarian food!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

It was our first night in Amsterdam and we were really lucky to find this place by accident. We then went back there a few days later with some friends because it was so amazing and they loved it too. The vegetarian dishes came with big tasty pancakes and rice. It was so much food and so many different flavours. you do have to wait a bit but I saw that as a good sign and its definitely worth the wait. The staff is also very friendly. Might be a good idea to book in advance. Will definitely be coming back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryamBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venlo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Small, but great restaurant! Relaxt, nice interior and delicious food. It's a family business: mom is in the kitchen and her daughter in the restaurant. Both are very friendly and animated.

I've been here twice with four persons. Both of the times she suggested us to take one big plate with all different small African dishes. You all eat with your hand out of some sort of pancakes, which makes it all very cosy. Make sure to take coffee afterwards, they roast it fresh outside the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FunsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,486 reviews
562 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,647 helpful votes
“We waited a full hour for our food!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The food was just ok. The server did a good job covering for a slow kitchen. But there is no excuse for leaving patrons with no food for a full hour, and this is the reason for my "poor" rating. The place is tiny and intimate. The one server had to hop to tend to 9 tables, all of which were taken by couples on a recent Friday night. The meals are pan-African and this place certainly is popular. with the locals We ate last at this restaurant 13 years ago, and absolutely nothing about it has changed, except for the achingly slow service we experienced this time. The interior is in dire need of a make-over. They place a couple of table outside in nice weather. This was our third and last visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LWL3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilimanjaro also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Kilimanjaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing