We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“We could not believe we ate the whole thing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Blauw Amsterdam

Restaurant Blauw Amsterdam
Ranked #136 of 3,558 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Aix-en-Provence, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We could not believe we ate the whole thing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

As others have written, this Indonesian restaurant is a couple of trolly stops from the center of Amsterdam, but very easy to access and well worth the few extra few minutes to get there. I was not familar with the rice table concept, but we tried this, and loved it. The rice table was amazing! Dish after dish of different tastes.... my mouth was exploding with flavor! We really liked the service (there were two very nice young waitresses who took excellent care of us), with good recommendations about their menu. Though we did not think we could possibly finish everything served to us, we did, plus ordered an Indonesian pancake for dessert..... it was delicious as well. This was a very special evening and a great dining experience!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    295
    73
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely food in pleasing surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We went for dinner on Boxing Day (or, as the Dutch say, the second day of Christmas).

We took the Christmas menu which was a succession of courses providing a wide variety of the skills of the kitchen. Each was delicious.

The service was prompt, correct but affable. The surroundings with wooden surfaces, red panels and figured velvet upholstery are modern and congenial and it was not too noisy.

It is well worthwhile to make the short journey from the centre of Amsterdam.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Timotheus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great rice table”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Even though Blauw is located a bit off center I´d say it´s worth the taxi if you are looking for a good Indonesian experience.

Restaurant Blauw offers professional and personal service and nothing was amiss during my two dining experiences here. Both times I have ordered a "rice table" which means you will be served a very wide range of smaller dishes. They offer this with your choice of emphasis on meat, fish or vegetarian. It is quite delicious.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JPF_GOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Come here hungry and leave with an extraordinary experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Great people, world class service, variety of very fresh dishes combined into a nice concept.

We went here for our christmas dinner and were overwhelmed by the kindness of people. We ordered the highly recommended rice tables (a compilation of a lot of different indo dishes) and were really stuffed. We received in addition 2 (!) additional desserts which were fantastic! Just awesome!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank veryhungryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
207 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A bit overrated?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

I had read lots of positive reviews of this place and perhaps I expected too much. Don't get me wrong, the food was great and the staff friendly. But I had expected a touch of perfection from all the positive reviews. The dishes could have been spicier to better match "real" Indonesian food. And if you are out for a quiet romantic dinner this is not the place to go as the tables are too densely packed together. For a larger group this place would be perfect.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Blauw Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Blauw Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing