We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different!”

Restaurant Blauw Amsterdam
Ranked #136 of 3,858 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indonesian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Something different!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Since my home city doesn't have much (or anything) in the way of Indonesian, we were anxious try Blauw. The rice table was an awesome experience - it gives you a way to try a little bit of everything, all at once. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurelmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    327
    81
    21
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“More than perfect”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had a more than perfect dinner-experience at Blauw last night. We were a family of five, and came in at the restaurant quite late, all hungry. Never been to an Indonesian restaurant before, and thought a bit prejudiced that is was something between Thai and Chinese cuisine, purely of geographical reasons. Had a quick look at the menu, and the "Rice Table" seemed perfect for us, a mixed group. We choose 3 meat based and 2 fish based menus. The vegetable variety, with a lot of tofu things, did not seem to be our stuff this night. Very quickly the waiter started to fill up our table, and soon more than 20 small dishes were ready. And this was nothing like the average Chinese experience, with a number of different looking dishes tasting just like the other! The range of our Rice Table dishes had a enormeous variety of tastes, and every dish had a distinct flavour. But still you could mix as you wanted, by ignorance and chance. Each and every dish was excellent, and some were just extraordinary. Especially one, which I have afterwards tried to reconnect the tasted of through Internet recipes, was just so full of flavors and yet so balanced. A meat dish. Think it was something in the style of Rendang and Semur, correct me if I am wrong. The spices were anise and coriander seeds, ginger and garlic and sweet soy sauce, thick, dark, like licorice sauce. Extremely tasty. This we know because we asked, and just a second later the highly enthusiast and friendly main chef Agus Hemawan showed up to explain it to us. He must have sensed our interest for food, because afterwards he served us small tastes and treats from his official and unofficial dessert menu (this was after we had finished all 20 dishes...). He was obviously in love with Pandan, a grasslike vegetable used to give green color and an unique taste: so we tried pandan cake, pandan pudding, pandan ice cream and pandan-flavoured creme brûlée! Can't think that this was purely traditional Indonisian, but isn' that just the genius of cooking, when you feel that something has been reinvented and modernized without getting fancy? The bottom line: Our meal was just great, and we can nothing more than highly recommend anybody to visit this restaurant. If you are more than 2, it is best to make a reservation. We just had pure luck to get in. And it is not all expensive, compared to the mainstream tourist menus downtown.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank palkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
164 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Memorable!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The owner of our B&B recommended Blauw over other Indonesian restaurants in Amsterdam and she was absolutely right. The food and atmosphere was great. We had a "rice table" for one and ordered a few more plates. It was just perfect. We were told that a rice table for two is simply too much. The waiter was very helpful saying that if we did not have enough, we can simply order some more. When you order the rice table they take a picture and post it on their website. You can then retrieve it afterwards (nice touch). The food was fantastic, only in the Netherland can you experience a rice table. Try it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank YUL_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rijsttafel!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Rijsttafel is a legacy of Holland's East Indies empire, and something that's probably better in Amsterdan than back home (unless you're from Jakarta). Blauw is a pretty good restaurant at the outer end of the Vondelpark. Order rijsttafel (there are three versions) and share; they'll offer wine, but I recommend beer (despite a limited selection).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Seeitgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
138 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Spicy and Wonderful”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Went to Blauw last week on a business trip to Amsterdam and LOVED it. Ordered the meat rice table and my friend oredered the seafood rice table. We were presented with brown and white rice and then 10 small "boat dishes" of various meats, veggies and seafood. Lots of food for 2 people. Each was more delicious than the last. As my Mom used to say, if nobody is talking at the table then the food must be great. Needless to say, we didn't talk for while except to utter the occasional "Oh my God, this is really good!". I am going back the next time I visit Amsterdam. You won't be dissapointed - just make sure to make reservations.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelMasterGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Blauw Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Blauw Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing