We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Larende

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Larende
Ranked #32 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and couldn't have been happier with our choice. This boutique hotel is in a quiet neighborhood of West Amsterdam right on a tram line, which makes getting around Amsterdam a breeze. The rooms are spotlessly clean and modern, and the hotel even has an elevator (which is pretty rare in hotels of this type in Amsterdam). The hotel staff could not have been more accommodating and helpful. Although no food is allowed in the rooms, the restaurant in the hotel always has coffee and tea available free of charge guests. I would definitely recommend The Hotel Restaurant Larende to anyone wanting a clean, modern and safe hotel for their stay in Amsterdam that is away from the hustle and noise of the tourist areas, yet convenient access to public transportation that can get them anywhere they want to go.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank elc2414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    117
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
37
200
48
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
asti
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Close to the city center, within a walking distance. However well connected with public transport. Nice staff, able to make you feel at home and eager to give you useful tips about the city. clean and confy rooms. Great restaurant, Strongly recommended

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mark12_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Queensland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

A big thank you to our host Murat, for the three nights at his lovely hotel in pretty much central Amsterdam. Help with the luggage, help with getting us an early check-in and directions to the local pharmacy. Nice little boutique hotel with good facilities and an excellent restaurant on the ground floor. Complaints: Very hard pillows, but that wouldn't deter me staying there again. Quiet location near a main thoroughfare, with plenty of bars, cafes, restaurants and other facilities within east walking distance, and all about 2 km from the centre of this great city; an easy walk to the flower markets, Anne Frank's House and many other places of interest. I would highly recommend this hotel. Free Wi-Fi for guests and the soup - any soup - in the restaurant, is brilliant when you need a quick pick-me-up

Room Tip: Ask for a room 'at the back' of the hotel, although with double glazing, even construction w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford Haven
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Wow! what a lovely surprise. A small friendly hotel with fantastic staff and spotlessly clean. We were made to feel very welcome the moment we stepped inside. We enjoyed a delicious warm drink before being shown to our rooms. We stayed in 102. It was lovely and quiet at the back of the hotel. The bed was huge! And very comfortable. And so clean. Toiletries provided, great asset when travelling with hand luggage only. Each time we returned to the hotel we were met with the offer of tea, coffee etc .all complimentary, a lovely touch. We will definitely be recommending to friends on our return.
Tips: Get a return ticket from the airport to Central Station. We didn't realise you could, but it would save a few euros
We found Tram 13 or 14 to Willem De Zwugerlaan the best option. Get off here and just walk back 400yds and hotel on your right. Passing the lovely Bar Spek,great food and then the Bar Thuy, both very friendly.
We bought a 2 day tram ticket 12 euros, which had paid for itself after the first day as we just hopped on and off as often as we liked.
We bought tram tickets, museum tickets and boat trip ticket all at the hotel, so much easier than having to queue for tickets elsewhere.
We were very sorry to leave and hope one day to return. And when we do it will be to Hotel Larende,
Thank you all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlorenceMilfordHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I stayed here for two nights in April, the rooms are immaculatey decorated & furnished, very clean all you could wish for. I stayed in room 203 it had a balcony to the rear of the building.

The hotel is on a tram route & has lots of places to eat & drink nearby. There is a lift for those who need it.

The staff were all polite & helpful & the other guests seemed were a sensible bunch who had probably all trip advisored before booking. A lovely place in a great city.

Room Tip: 203 had a balcony to rear of the building, the building is not on a canal so views of Amsterdam apa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexislovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This is a very nice, small, modern hotel located on a tram line about 10 minutes from Central Station. Clean, good quality bed linens and quiet. The breakfast buffet has a nice array of fruits, croissants, bread, eggs, ham, cheese, cereals, and cold cuts. The staff is friendly and accommodating and offers coffee or tea anytime. The restaurant located on the premises has a good selection and is convenient after a day of sight seeing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank collie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Friendly staff, clean clean clean rooms! Lovely breakfast buffet, great location, free spa slippers, just a great hotel! Slightly hot in the rooms but that's minor and I'm sure they would have provided a fan if I'd asked - oh yes they provide unlimited hot drinks for you to enjoy in the restaurant or in your room!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Devenia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#49 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,174 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#26 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#36 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
377 House - Amsterdam
#47 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#29 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Larende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Larende

Property: Hotel Restaurant Larende
Address: De Clercqstraat 115, 1053 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Larende 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Larende is a designer hotel with free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour front desk, only a 20 minute walk from Dam Square. It has a restaurant and soundproof rooms with boutique-style décor. Guests at Hotel Restaurant Larende have rooms with a flat-screen TV and a work desk. Some of the rooms also include a balcony. Restaurant Larende serves international cuisine in the intimate dining room which features modern décor. The restaurant specializes in pizza. A continental breakfast is served daily. The E. Wolffstraat tram stop is only 65 ft away, serviced by lines 12, 13, and 14. The Anne Frank House is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Dam Square, featuring the Royal Palace and Madame Tussauds, is one mile from Larende Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Larende reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing