We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveler rating
285
141
14
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
141
14
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stopcentral stationsmall hotelthree nightssingle roomdam squarebuy ticketsnumber tramhighly recommend this hotelcity centrespent nightstwo night staypleasant staytea and coffeeminute walkquiet roomper day
Filter
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 452 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We arrived on Friday afternoon 9/20/13. I didnt get the gentleman's name, but he was so kind- we were dropping off our luggage en route to the car rental place, and I literally threw our luggage out of the car. He took what i couldnt handle and brought it in with me. He told me he'd place it all in our room, not to worry. Didnt even make me sign in as he knew we were in a no-parking zone. Upon return, he gave us each a glass of wine. So nice!
The whole staff was so helpful with everything, from purchasing hop on/hop off tram tickets, to giving directions. I might add that though this hotel is not in the central area, its still very convenient. We had room 101 which was a nice size, and featured a small balcony and king size bed. One thing that puzzles us on our trip to Europe is why no hotel uses a top sheet. We like to use a thin top sheet instead of a duvet. Luckily, someone had told me about this so we had brought our own.
I think this hotel is a good price and a good location.

Room Tip: We loved room 101. And the windows did shut out any street noise. We slept well.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sn00ksmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel, Lenni provided us with a map and then gave us a great guide to all the points of interest (including non-touristy places) and drew directions for us (unprompted). Very helpful! At the hotel you can buy tram tickets, museum tickets, anything you need at all. The hotel is small, modern, bright and clean. Room was a decent size. Our bed was huge and firm (lovely!) We had a balcony (requested) and a big window which was great for people watching and it was surprisingly quiet at night considering it's a busy enough road. Mini-bar was v reasonable (€2 for a beer). Continental breakfast was nicer than most (with proper coffee, not filter) and the restaurant is pleasant and bright. By staying a little out of the town centre (it really was only a 20 min walk to Centrum and there was a tram stop right outside the hotel from where you could get to anywhere very quickly) we saved a lot of money. There are loads of reasonably priced restaurants and bars along the road the hotel is located on (and also some really cool shops). On the first night we had dinner at a lovely Italian (Cantinetta) a few doors down and expected the bill to be high (we'd been told over and over how expensive Amsterdam is). However, 2 courses/2 beers each later our bill was only a v reasonable €57 (excellent food). The beers were €3 each. Compare that to later that eve when we decided to grab a beer on Dam square: €9 a beer! Big difference. It is also a 10 min walk to the Jordaan area, which is lovely. Only small complaint is that they serviced the room on the 2nd day by adding toilet roll and re-stocking the mini bar but they didn't make the bed which I thought was odd. No big deal, but one of the little luxuries you expect from paying to stay in a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Headmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Despite a problem initially when booking this hotel, we were extremely glad we stuck with it. The owner and his sons and other staff are so friendly and helpful. Whilst the hotel is a 5 minute tram ride outside of the main Dam Square etc, the trams are literally outside this hotel and very regular. We walked to the hotel from central station, took around 20 minutes, if you're not familiar with the city I would recommend you get a tram to the hotel when arriving. We bought a 72 hour tram pass on arrival, from reception at the hotel (same price as everywhere else) and this was such an easy way to travel all over the city with ease. The hotel also booked other tickets for us, again at the same price as everywhere else, printed them, expalined where to go, which tram to get, so we could avoid all the queues. It rained on our first day and they even loaned us umbreallas. We really couldn't fault their helpfulness. The breakfasts were very nice, despite being continental, they were very fresh and there was plenty to choose from. The hotel supply tea/coffee free of charge downstairs in the restaurant area, which was great when you were arriving after a busy day sighseeing, there are no tea/coffee making faciltiies in the rooms. The rooms are bright and larger than we expected, as other travellers have said the beds are very, very firm, but my husband and sons found them very comfortable, I had numb hips !! The cleanliness of the rooms, bathrooms, breakfast area gets a 11/10, it really is remarkably clean without making you feel uncomfortable. Our sons' room was at the top of the house, in the attic, and was very, very hot, but the window did open, but it was difficult to control the temperature. There is a safe in the rooms, hairdryer, towels were all soft and fluffy, and sheets whiter than white. We were promised bikes with our booking, however due to the weather and overbooking by the hotel, we were compensated by being offered a free meal in the restaurant, we were so glad we did, it was absolutely lovely, much better than we anticipated, we ordered starters each and a main meal, plus a couple of drinks each, and the owner didn't want to us contribute anything, we insisted on paying for the drinks. Despite this lovely hotel being a little out of the centre I would consider staying here again, we love travelling to Amsterdam and try to visit every couple of years. The hotel was good value for money and the level of helpfulness and hospitality makes up for the 5 minute tram ride.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeandipUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The location is not central, but good enough. The room was small, but with a good, modern and very clean bathroom. Breakfast (included) was very good as well. We had dinner at the restaurant one night and we really enjoyed it, but the greatest thing about this hotel, is their staff, starting with the manager and his son. I recommend it!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5331Monica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Nice hotel and fantastic staff !!!
The 3. time at Larende. Hotel is clean and good, but the most important : The staff is fantastic ! Really deserve 5 stars !!!
Breakfast is good and they really do everything to fulfill your wishes

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Livbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews