We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveler rating
285
141
14
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
141
14
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stopcentral stationsmall hotelthree nightssingle roomdam squarebuy ticketsnumber tramhighly recommend this hotelcity centrespent nightstwo night staypleasant staytea and coffeeminute walkquiet roomper day
Filter
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 452 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Despite a problem initially when booking this hotel, we were extremely glad we stuck with it. The owner and his sons and other staff are so friendly and helpful. Whilst the hotel is a 5 minute tram ride outside of the main Dam Square etc, the trams are literally outside this hotel and very regular. We walked to the hotel from central station, took around 20 minutes, if you're not familiar with the city I would recommend you get a tram to the hotel when arriving. We bought a 72 hour tram pass on arrival, from reception at the hotel (same price as everywhere else) and this was such an easy way to travel all over the city with ease. The hotel also booked other tickets for us, again at the same price as everywhere else, printed them, expalined where to go, which tram to get, so we could avoid all the queues. It rained on our first day and they even loaned us umbreallas. We really couldn't fault their helpfulness. The breakfasts were very nice, despite being continental, they were very fresh and there was plenty to choose from. The hotel supply tea/coffee free of charge downstairs in the restaurant area, which was great when you were arriving after a busy day sighseeing, there are no tea/coffee making faciltiies in the rooms. The rooms are bright and larger than we expected, as other travellers have said the beds are very, very firm, but my husband and sons found them very comfortable, I had numb hips !! The cleanliness of the rooms, bathrooms, breakfast area gets a 11/10, it really is remarkably clean without making you feel uncomfortable. Our sons' room was at the top of the house, in the attic, and was very, very hot, but the window did open, but it was difficult to control the temperature. There is a safe in the rooms, hairdryer, towels were all soft and fluffy, and sheets whiter than white. We were promised bikes with our booking, however due to the weather and overbooking by the hotel, we were compensated by being offered a free meal in the restaurant, we were so glad we did, it was absolutely lovely, much better than we anticipated, we ordered starters each and a main meal, plus a couple of drinks each, and the owner didn't want to us contribute anything, we insisted on paying for the drinks. Despite this lovely hotel being a little out of the centre I would consider staying here again, we love travelling to Amsterdam and try to visit every couple of years. The hotel was good value for money and the level of helpfulness and hospitality makes up for the 5 minute tram ride.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeandipUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The location is not central, but good enough. The room was small, but with a good, modern and very clean bathroom. Breakfast (included) was very good as well. We had dinner at the restaurant one night and we really enjoyed it, but the greatest thing about this hotel, is their staff, starting with the manager and his son. I recommend it!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5331Monica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Nice hotel and fantastic staff !!!
The 3. time at Larende. Hotel is clean and good, but the most important : The staff is fantastic ! Really deserve 5 stars !!!
Breakfast is good and they really do everything to fulfill your wishes

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Livbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The location is not really central. Tram stop right outside, route only a few minutes away from the center. Nice hotel in great location - just a 20minute walk to the centre, very modern, very clean, bed is comfortable. The breakfast was nice.The staff was very friendly. Super, we were very satisfied.
Also very tasty food in local restaurant.
The hotel was great in all respects.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Restaurant Larende for 3 nights when we visited Amsterdam for a long weekend. The hotel is a bit of a distance from the center of town but as others have mentioned there is a tram stop nearby (see hints below) and it is also not too far to walk to many of the attractions. (see hints below).
We arrived looking a bit ragged having got on the wrong train at the station and having a slight detour into South Amsterdam, but Murat immediately offered us a free beer which went down very well.
The room was quite small and had one or two small maintenance issues (which is why I haven't given it a 5 star rating) but it was lovely and clean. The room had obviously been updated fairly recently with laminated floor and new decor, and a huge and comfy, if somewhat firm, bed. The bathroom was lovely, with a fantastic 'wetroom' type shower.(And the towels werent all 'crunchy' like many English hotels)
We didn't eat dinner at the hotel but the breakfast was good with all the usual 'continental' assortments (how do you eat cheese and tomato rolls for breakfast!!!!)
Without doubt the best thing about this hotel are the staff. Murat and all of the others we spoke to were friendly and couldn't do enough to help us, from detailed descriptions of where to buy the best cheese to offering us tickets for every attraction under the sun, but not being pushy about it.
If / when we go back to Amsterdam i would definitely consider returning to The Hotel Restaurant Larende.
Hints for getting the best out of Amsterdam:
Where possible buy your tickets on line before you go, or buy them in advance at the hotel or one of the ticket shops. ( Even at 9:30 on a Friday the queue for Ann Frank's House was well over 200m long and I estimate about 2 hours. Like wise the Van Gogh Museum. We walked straight to the front of the queue at both attractions with pre-bought tickets.
Buy a tram ticket at the airport from the 'I amsterdam' office. its easy to spot as its between the arrivals area and the station.
Buy a canal cruise ticket. Its a great way to get around and see all the sights
Hire a bike to be like a local

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews