We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy and chic with great service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Restaurant Larende

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Larende
Ranked #53 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cosy and chic with great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Hotel Larende is a great place to stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the location is very handy: No 13 tram takes you to the centre and the train station and No 12 goes to Museumplein, both stop outside the hotel and run frequently. We bought a 48hr pass from the hotel for 12 euros each, great value. You can walk to the centre in about 20mins. The hotel is spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Our double was small but I think this is usual for Amsterdam as the buildings are tall and narrow, Our teenage children's twin room was a bit bigger. The bathroom was well equipped with walk-in shower, basin and toilet. plenty of clean, white towels, toiletries, hairdryer, heated towel radiator and slippers. The bed was very comfortable with white linen and cosy duvets. There were two radiators in the room, both had thermostatic valves which you could adjust very easily. The only thing I would have liked was tea making facilities in the room. Breakfast was very good, a mix of continental with omlette, boiled eggs and fruit salad. We had dinner in the hotel one night and it was very good. The food was very tasty with good sized portions and you get 10% discount as a hotel guest. We wanted to try different restaurants otherwise we would have eaten here again. I would definitely stay at the Larende if I visit Amsterdam again, I wouldn't even bother looking for anywhere else, and I am fussy, anything that jars puts me off but I really liked the Larende. It certainly deserves its TripAdvisor award.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    127
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
39
212
48
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

clean rooms, very warm ,very good breakfast, helpful staff and very good location!is a nice place to stay in Amsterdam!Room price quite expensive,but we went for New Year,everything is more expensive in this time of year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mihaelapuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night and liked it a lot. The rooms are clean and modern, with a good shower and sufficient heating. The breakfast has a good selection and the staff is friendly.

We had a room facing the street, but unlike some other reviewers we were not bothered by street noise.

The location of the hotel was better than expected. We didn't want to spend too much money and therefore chose a hotel outside of the city center. I thought we would have to rely on public transport to get to the city center, but it's barely a twenty minute (and very pleasant) walk to the Museumplein and maybe half an hour to the Dam.

Parking your car close to the hotel doesn't seem to be much of a problem. Maybe we were just lucky, but on arrival we found a free spot opposite the hotel. The parking fee in that area is 18 euro per day, which is a bargain if you compare it with the prices in the center. On public holidays you can even park there for free!

Conclusion : a pleasant stay in a nice hotel. Nothing extraordinary, but everything was fine! The location is good and parking your car nearby is possible without being totally ruined afterwards.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jes001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Our flight arrived early on Christmas morning and there wasn't much open in Amsterdam. While the hotel didn't have any rooms available yet (it was only 7 a.m.) they offered us a good cup of coffee and stored our bags for us until a room was available (around 1:00 or so). The customer service was always superb (both hotel and restaurant) and the room was very comfortable. The breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs, fruit salad, bread, croissants, boiled eggs, meats, cheeses, vegetables, jams, juices, etc - all good and plentiful. The restaurant portion of this hotel is great for dinner, offering a selection of pizza, meat mains, salads and pasta dishes. I had the Pizza Albert with their homemade sausage - it was a large portion and very good (and at about 9 or 10 Euros - a good price for Amsterdam). The hotel is a 30-minute walk from the city but you can buy tram tickets at the hotel and there's a stop right outside. You can also rent bikes here and buy tickets for canal tours, etc. (though I recommend researching canal tour operators first...they're not all equal). This place was fantastic and we'd definitely stay here again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank coolsherbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I was happy with my room. It was clean with sufficient space. The staff and service was excellent and they made a solo traveler feel welcome. The wifi was free, as it should. The location was perfect for my taste. Situated a few stops off from the main center with the tram or a quick walk. There is a supermarked nearby as well as a outdoor bar with some nice belgium beers on tap. I enjoyed the afternoon sun there. I recommend Larende.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eirik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Standard Double - Room # 403
Small, well-run , "Totally Non-Smoking" hotel in quiet area
10 min by tram #13 from Central Station.
Very clean, compact, over-furnished rooms with new bathrooms,
sound-proofed windows & key-card entry.
Lift access to all 4 floors.
Substantial breakfast served in restaurant with wonderful street level view.
Bicycle hire, tour bookings & GVB travel passes available.
No fridge or tea & coffee facilities in room.
500m to local supermarket (on same tram line)

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of property are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed for 4 or 5 nights at Hotel Restaurant Larende. For the cost of most rooms in the city, it is a bargain. The breakfast is better than most. It is extremely clean and, except for one guy who might have been having a bad evening, very eager, friendly staff. I was concerned about the location. It is a safe area convenient to everything. The trams stop almost at the door and can take you three different directions into town (train station, upscale restaurant and shopping, red light district, museums. The Anne Frank House is just a ten or fifteen minute walk.

It really wasn't that big a deal to me, but maybe for some people. Bring earplugs in case you face the street.

I'm already booked for my next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
377 House - Amsterdam
#40 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#39 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#14 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#23 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Larende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Larende

Property: Hotel Restaurant Larende
Address: De Clercqstraat 115, 1053 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Larende 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Larende is a designer hotel with free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour front desk, only a 20 minute walk from Dam Square. It has a restaurant and soundproof rooms with boutique-style décor. Guests at Hotel Restaurant Larende have rooms with a flat-screen TV and a work desk. Some of the rooms also include a balcony. Restaurant Larende serves international cuisine in the intimate dining room which features modern décor. The restaurant specializes in pizza. A continental breakfast is served daily. The E. Wolffstraat tram stop is only 65 ft away, serviced by lines 12, 13, and 14. The Anne Frank House is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Dam Square, featuring the Royal Palace and Madame Tussauds, is one mile from Larende Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Larende reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing