We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best budget hotel in amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Larende
Ranked #46 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best budget hotel in amsterdam”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Hi Dear Trippers, as a former resident of Amsterdam and one who speaks Dutch and has stayed in more Amsterdam hotels than most, I can confirm that this hotel is the 1st one within a budget that I would go back too.
great breakfast made by a chef who is clearly passionate about his food and his duty of care to his client is outstanding.
Polite friendly staff, above all Larende is clean, fresh, warm feel to the hotel. I had room 103 which comes with jacuzzi yes I said jacuzzi and room size wise superb for holland. A TV that actually worked and a double bed. room safe and wifi(gratis). Location was great for me but I can see why some would be concerned as it is not in the centre but hey tram 13 from centraal station, 10mins you are directly outside and 5 mins back you are outside the westerkirk.
It is that simple.

if you are going Dam then do yourself a hugh favour and check this place out before booking some run down hovel in the centre. you will thank me.

your welcome.

PS one down side re booking com & larende took my room payment 5 weeks in advance. this is simply wrong and should not be allowed. I understand one must cover oneself but that to me was wrong and one has to question this policy.

Room Tip: room 103 for me. small balcony, good room but from I gather most rooms ticks all the boxes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outside101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    129
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
41
215
49
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We really enjoyed our two-night stay at this hotel. The staff were all really nice and friendly and the breakfast was good. The rooms were great as they were modern and clean. The hotel is in a nice area (though not really noisy) with quite a few great cafes and bars around (cafe Thuys just 20m up the road is great). The centre is 10 minutes away by bike or tram so you can come and go easily. We will stay here when we come back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McGmanGla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This hotel does not look super smart from the outside but the rooms are very modern and comfortable and the staff are great. They provided an extra lock for our bike and served us dinner when we arrived late. Both the dinner and the breakfast the following morning were excellent. Definitely one of the better hotels we have stayed at in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Glenys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We arrived at the hotel in the morning for our 2 night stay in Amsterdam and from the start we were very impressed by how accommodating the staff were --- coffee offered, luggage stored and great hints/directions for sightseeing even before we checked-in. The hotel is ideally located a pleasant distance from the hussle & bussle of central Amsterdam --- the tram line out front makes getting to any location in Amsterdam very convient. Amsterdam's public transportation system is great. Our room was more than adequate on the back of the hotel with a small balcony. It was quite, simply furnished and spotlessly clean --- with comfortable king beds and modern bathrooms. The restaurant was excellent and breakfast was good. We would definetly recommend staying at Hotel Restaurant Larende if you are looking for reasonably priced, conviently located and clean modern accomodation.

Excellent Value!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farnorth50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were greeted on the morning of our arrival by manager, Murat Gedik with tea, coffee or soft drinks. Even though we were very early, Murat assured us that he would bring our luggage up to our rooms so we could begin sightseeing! He gave us wonderful directions and had tram passes for sale right there so we were all set! After a full day of doing museums and various attractions, we returned to the hotel for dinner. It was excellent! Murat had an appetizer for us of a special cheese he had purchased that day, yummy!, and we ordered various house specialty pizzas and Spaghetti Bolognese - which was one of the best ever! The wine , beer and booze selection at the hotel was very complete. Our rooms had little balconies and were very nice and quiet!! We spent 2 nights at the Larende and would stay again when back in Amsterdam!! It's so close to the museum district, Vondle Park and other attractions that one could walk if it weren't so much fun to take the trams! Murat arranged a large taxi for us to get to our ship and got us a very good secured price too!! He was very personable and really wanted us to have a great experience at his hotel and in Amsterdam too...... and we did!!!! We would definitely stay at the Hotel Larende again in the future!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Marcia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
377 House - Amsterdam
#47 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#53 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#36 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#13 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#24 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Larende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Larende

Property: Hotel Restaurant Larende
Address: De Clercqstraat 115, 1053 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Larende 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Larende is a designer hotel with free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour front desk, only a 20 minute walk from Dam Square. It has a restaurant and soundproof rooms with boutique-style décor. Guests at Hotel Restaurant Larende have rooms with a flat-screen TV and a work desk. Some of the rooms also include a balcony. Restaurant Larende serves international cuisine in the intimate dining room which features modern décor. The restaurant specializes in pizza. A continental breakfast is served daily. The E. Wolffstraat tram stop is only 65 ft away, serviced by lines 12, 13, and 14. The Anne Frank House is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Dam Square, featuring the Royal Palace and Madame Tussauds, is one mile from Larende Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Larende reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing