We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Orlando

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Orlando
Save
You added Hotel Orlando to your Saves list
Ranked #224 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed at the Orlando for a weekend in July, before going on to Amersfoort. Had a really great time. Rose was completely lovely with lots of tips and advice for where to go and how to get there
(the vintage market on a Monday morning is a must!).
My partner, son and myself stayed in the front basement room, we found it spacious, clean, and modern. The bathroom was lovely, slight poss tentancy to leak with over enthusiastic showering!
Great location and we are already planning our return! There's no bar, pool, etc, but the decor's great, it's a beautiful house with lots of character in a central but quiet location.

Room Tip: If you're after a family room in central, quiet, pretty location, room 112 is great. It is a bas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    58
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
74
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Very happy to stay here one night. Room 116 is large, with sofa, desk & chair. Simple decor, that worked well. separate shower and bath.

Friendly welcome with coffee - and coffee set up for a pre-breakfast early departure.

Place with real character.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nwfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated within handy strolling distance to all main attractions. To get from Schipol you get a train from the airport - 4 euros 20 min journey approximately. Then take tram 4 from amsterdam central 2/3 euros 5/10 min journey. Very easy and plenty of room on both sets of transport. Most trains have two decks. Stayed in basement room 112 with its own entrance. Quirky room with very comfortable bed and lovely bathroom. Breakfast is served by Rose - lovely helpful girl. Consists of freshly squeezed orange juice, cereal, yoghurt, bread, cheese, ham and boiled eggs - very filling. Paul the owner is friendly and joins guests for a coffee each morning. Would definitely return. Thank you!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirkenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I was a guest at the Hotel Orlando over the recent New Year’s holiday and could not have been happier with my choice. The location is perfect as it is in a quiet residential area but within easy walking distance to the tourist spots (Rembrandtplein, Skinny Bridge, Museumplein, and Leidseplein), a tram stop, and the “Restaurant Row” of Utrechtsestraat.

I stayed in Room 115, which was on the ground floor facing the canal (can’t ask for a better view than that). The room was spacious and clean with comfortable furnishings. If you are a light sleeper I would recommend reserving a room with a garden view as there is outside foot traffic throughout the night. Also the stairs are very steep and narrow as you would expect in a classic Amsterdam home, so if that might be an issue request a ground floor. I did hear the guests above me walking around, as mentioned by other reviewers, but as an apartment dweller that’s something I’m used to so it wasn’t a deal breaker.

From the moment I checked in to my checkout Paul and his wonderful assistant Rose really made me feel welcome. They were so helpful and were glad to answer any questions about things to do and see.

Breakfast was the typical light European fare of cold cereal, yogurt, rolls, ham, cheese, etc., just enough to keep you going as you ventured out for the morning. However there are mini fridges in each room so it’s easy to pick up a few snacks and drinks from any of the nearby grocery stores (good bets are Albert Heijn and Marqt).

Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Orlando and highly recommend it.

A few Amsterdam tips:
*Instead of paying around 50 euro for a taxi from/to the airport, take a high-speed train that runs from Schiphol to Amsterdam Centraal Station and then catch a taxi to the hotel. The trip each way costs about 20 euros.

*If you plan on using the tram regularly definitely buy a pass instead of paying individual fares, it’s much cheaper. You can get them at kiosks at Centraal Station or from an attendant at the ticket office located directly across the street. That said, it is so easy to get around Amsterdam on foot that you may not use it much.

*There is an amazing selection of restaurants on Utrechtsestraat with all kinds of cuisines, but most of the dining rooms are quite small with seating for about 20 people maximum. Needless to say it only takes a couple of large groups to come in to fill a restaurant to capacity. This usually happens between 6:00-9:00 p.m. so the best way around it is to make reservations or go before or after the dinner rush.

*Bicycles have the same right of way in traffic as cars so take the same care when crossing the street. It will save you possible injury and almost certain dirty looks.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank michelec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We spent 4 nights in Amsterdam and chose this hotel because of it's location.

Having read previous reviews we asked for room 117. The room is on the second floor and we had to manoeuvre the narrow spiral staircase to get to the room. Boy, is it worth it! The room is huge! We had a million dollar view of the canal and plenty of sun to brighten the room. There was some street noise, it ended at reasonable times and didn't bother us.

The breakfast room is lovely. it is the original kitchen and faces the large private garden.

My only negatives ......the beds were not the best and the wifi was intermittent.

The location is 10 out of 10, you can walk to most museums, lots of restaurants around the corner. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Location : Took a taxi from Amsterdam Train Centraal station, costs Euro 16 (14 from our hotel to station). Walking distance to tram station. Tried nearby western and Thai restaurant, price is reasonable and food is good. Very quiet area.
Room : we stayed in the basement room, 112, big enough for 4. But 2nd bed is a bit too small for 2 adult. Room is clean, comfortable. No kettle is provided in the room.
Breakfast : 8:30am, Rose serve us tea/coffee, fresh orange juice, yogurt, egg, bread, with jam, bacon and cheese, cornflake with milk. You can see the green garden with music while having breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mengyew8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

I would give five stars if not for a couple of issues, 1) poor lighting in room and 2) insufficient sound insulation.

To be clear, I would stay here again and highly recommend it. I only mention the issues that kept me from giving the highest rating in case it helps someone else.

The hotel has a fantastic location, and is generally quiet yet very close to RemBrandt square.

We stayed four nights in room 114, very conveniently located on the ground floor, so we did not have stairs within the building. The room itself is very large for European standards. The room has high ceilings, well decorated, very clean. The bathroom is also large and well lit.

The lighting issues may not impact everyone. The switch for the bathroom light is outside of the bathroom, so using it during the night risks waking a light sleeper in the room. There is not a good outlet in the bathroom, and I do not like using hotel provided hair dryers, so I had to dry my hair in the main room. While there is a very large window overlooking the garden, the sun does not provide enough lighting. We found the room too dim for some tasks.

Second, the person above use on the next floor had heavy footsteps and woke us up each morning. But we are light sleepers, so this may it impact every person.

The hotel manager and especially Rose are friendly. They called for a taxi for us and provided good suggestions.

The breakfast is very good. You serve yourself cereal and fruit, but arose typically serves a plate of meats and cheeses, offers coffee or tea, offers boiled eggs. There is a variety of tea on the table as well as yogurt. This is all well presented and pleasant, which enhanced our stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank dtnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#41 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#161 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Keizershof
Hotel Keizershof
#131 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
#248 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#138 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orlando

Property: Hotel Orlando
Address: Prinsengracht 1099, 1017 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#71 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Orlando Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Orlando Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing