We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & B hotel - Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Orlando

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Orlando
Save
You added Hotel Orlando to your Saves list
Ranked #224 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great B & B hotel - Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our family of three stayed in Room 112 - the front basement room. It is just 2 steps down from street level with it's own door to the street - nice to be able to pop out for a weather check in the morning. The lower ceilings were no problem for my 5'10" husband. The couch became our 21 year old's bed - it was reasonably comfy - but our beds were quite comfortable. There was plenty of floorspace and room to walk about even with our three suitcases and carry-ons in use. The wardrobe with the fridge and safe was quite handy. I certainly appreciated the table and chair in our room - so much easier to plan your day with a desk top to set your maps and iPads on instead of trying to spread it all out on a bed or on the floor.

Hotel Orlando's location is THE BEST for walkers like us! In our 7 night stay we only used the tram once (even though the stop is on the bridge at the end of the street and quite handy). Paul's canal house is centrally located enough that most sights are approximately a half hour or less walk. It is also a good safe-feeling neighbourhood.

You are greeted each day with a good table-served breakfast of freshly squeezed orange juice, warm bread/rolls/croissants, meat and cheese, yogurt, jams and a hard or soft boiled egg on request, along with self-served cereal and fruit. It was a good filing start to our day (but a bit repetitive for our long stay). We had a nice view of the garden and the heater cozied up the room on our cool mornings.

Paul enjoyed his breakfast coffee with his guests - that's the best time to have any questions answered. He was happy to print out our timed entrance tickets for the Anne Frank House for us. (Note: you can pay 0.50E extra over the regular admission price to receive a time to visit - then just walk in - no line-ups. Also, the Museumkaart was a great purchase for us - we avoided the long entrance lines with it at both the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum even though both had just been re-opened recently.)

Rose, the master controller of your breakfast, was happy to chat in the morning too. She even looked up the train times to Alkmaar between orange-pressings and then got us off in time to catch it so we did not miss the Friday Cheese Market!

We are certainly pleased to have found such a great place to stay! We hope you choose to stay in Paul's canal house too - the steeper stairs just added to the charm of our Amsterdam stay for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank just-us-Canadians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    58
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
74
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed at the Orlando for a long weekend in March 2013. We arrived early to our room, but Rose let us drop our luggage there while she cooked breakfast for us and told us she'd have it cleaned and ready for us in a couple of hours.
Our room was on the basement level with its own street access. The room was absolutely huge - and could've slept 4-5 people. Had a hairdryer/safe etc too - all free of charge. The best part of the room was the bathroom though, fantastic! Had a huge walk in shower, big tub, and gorgeous dark tiles.
Rose cooked a wonderful European breakfast each morning (warm croissants, bread and rolls, cheese and meats, boiled eggs) and was just lovely...a real asset.
Hotel is excellently located, only a 5 minute walk to Rembrandt Square, and about 30 minute walk to Anne Frank's house (all other attractions can be reached in 10-15 minutes on foot).
An ideal place to stay in Amsterdam (if you're okay with stairs as there are a few). I'd definitely return.

Room Tip: If you've got mobility issues, this hotel isn't for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FT87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in March and had a lovely stay. We were booked into Room 111, the smallest and cheapest room, but when we arrived we were upgraded to 114 for free as we were the only guests.
The room was very large and comfortable and extremely quiet! The location was fantastic as it was right by the fashion/museum district, but a short enough stroll into the centre of the city. It sat right on a canal which was especially pretty at night.
The breakfast was fantastic! All fresh and delicious in a lovely kitchen/diner.
The only reason I have not rated this hotel as excellent is because the bed was 2 single mattresses pushed together, and I would say it is a Guest House rather than Hotel. Fabulous Rosina looked after us well!
My husband and I would definitely book again when returning to Amsterdam. Thank you for a wonderful stay. See you again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Really fabulous hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Right around the corner from great shopping, but where isn't in Amsterdam? In room 111, we may have the worst room in the place, and it is great. I was expecting a room the size of our 2 beds, in the basement. What I got was a sweet room with a nice size bath, comfy beds and a huge window that looks out on a small courtyard. We have a safe in the room -- which I really value -- and a solidly decent breakfast that includes fresh-squuezed OJ. If you need an earlier coffee fix, Starbucks is close by, and the Starbucks, unlike the US, sells fresh-baked pastries. I will be back in Amsterdam, and I will stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AirJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weems, VA
Level Contributor
198 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

After tiny rooms in Barcelona and Venice, the spaciousness of our second floor room was amazing. The room was large enough to have a table/desk and chair and a couch. What a pleasure to spread out. The view from the second floor of the canal was lovely. The host and staff went the extra mile to make our three night stay most enjoyable - from helping with reservations to allowing us to use the breakfast room for a business meeting at no cost and providing coffee. The included breakfast was more than continental with offerings of soft or hard boiled eggs, fresh juices and fruits, tempting meats and cheeses, wide assortment of breads and pastries, cereal, yogurt and more. The location is just steps away from a tram and in a nice neighborhood with many eateries. We rate it five stars because it was in every way except the double bed was two beds pushed together which came apart easily and the stairs to the second floor were steep, spiral and dangerous. The first floor did not have the concerning stairway but would have no view being at street level. For the money it was a good deal but at our age we need less adventurous steps to navigate. Lovely people, lovely time, lovely location.

Room Tip: If steep, curving and narrow steps are a concern stay on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a very nice stay in Room 117 for a couple of nights in late March. Our friend had a room on the ground floor overlooking the lovely garden. The room was on the second floor with larger windows overlooking a quiet street and beautiful canal. Room 117 was spacious, bright, clean and comfy. The best part is the location. Excellent restaurants and around the corner. Galleries and boutiques in the neighborhood. I asked and the owner suggested Sluizer restaurant for my partner's birthday and it was excellent- just around the corner. The location is away from the touristy areas while giving you easy access to museums and entertaintment. Recommended for travelers that look for "in the know" neighborhoods, sites, and accomodations.

Room Tip: 117 has tall windows with lovely views over the canals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Micah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a short break. Large clean room with view over garden and good bathroom. Hotel is in great location on pretty canal in good part of town. You can walk everywhere or use the tram which is 100 metres from front door.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank guy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#32 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#169 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Keizershof
Hotel Keizershof
#121 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
#235 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#139 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orlando

Property: Hotel Orlando
Address: Prinsengracht 1099, 1017 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#71 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Orlando Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Orlando Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing