We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Orlando

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Orlando
Save
You added Hotel Orlando to your Saves list
Prinsengracht 1099, 1017 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #224 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The hotel is good, with a fine location and quiet rooms. Service could be improved. Breakfast very good, but not available until 8:30AM. Has all necessary facilities, wifi etc. Hallways could look fresher.

Room Tip: Rooms face either the canal or in the back an interior garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marigold60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    58
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
74
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The Orlando is in an excellent location at the quiet, mostly residential, end of Prinsengracht, which made it very peaceful at night while being only 20 minutes walk from most of the main attractions in the city centre. The hosts were friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. We are a family of five, and booked rooms 111 and 112, which meant that we had the basement floor to ourselves. Room 112 in particular was enormous, with plenty of room for all five of us to sit together while 'back at base'. Even though the rooms were in the basement, the huge windows let in plenty of light and air. We enjoyed the breakfasts, which set us up for the day, and found plenty of good places to eat nearly, especially just round the corner in Utrechtsestraat (Tempo Doeloe, for example).

Top tip - book in advance online for major attractions (Anne Frank House, Van Gogh Museum) and avoid having to queue - we walked straight past a 90 minute queue to get into the Anne Frank House.

Room Tip: 112 would be ideal for a smaller family (3/4) and 111/112 together are perfect for a larger family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

This was my second visit to the Hotel Orlando. I gave a great review in 2010 and I am pleased to say that the stay here was as good as last time. I stayed here with my mother for 3 nights in February 2012. This time we had a room that had been newly open when I was there last. This is a really lovely room. It is at the back of the hotel, on the ground floor and faces on to a garden. You can also see other canal houses plus their gardens from your window. The room is extra large with almost floor to ceiling windows on one side. The bathroom is clean and spacious. All of this was extra important as I had a really bad cold and needed to stay indoors for a day. The stay in Amsterdam also coincided with the cold snap which hit Europe in February. On the day I stayed in it snowed heavily all day. We were able to watch the snow falling via the large windows – it looked magical. The heating also worked beautifully. Another bonus was the fact that the hotel has a variety of TV channels. I could watch BBC1 and BBC2 and not CNN all day. There is free Wi-Fi as well. I was also able to access the kitchen to prepare my cold medication.

Rose and Paul are wonderful hosts. On the first day we arrived early before the room was ready. Rose made us a pot of tea and we warmed ourselves by the fire in the breakfast room. They also helped us with transport and were happy to provide information if needed. Breakfast was good and plentiful – Ham, cheese, boiled eggs, cereal, bread, croissants, tea, coffee, orange juice and yoghurt. We had to leave early on the last day, before the usual breakfast time. Rose arrived earlier at the hotel so that we were able to have breakfast before our departure – much appreciated.

Hotel Orlando is in a great location and you can walk to most sites from here. We had dinner each night in Utrechtsestraat. We visited the restaurant L’Express on two occasions this trip and two occasions on the previous trip. Nice food, well priced.

The hotel is perfect for the self sufficient traveller who wants to get a feel of what it would be like to have a canal house as their home. I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Light03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We booked here for a short 2 night city break and found it to be in a perfect location and within walking distance of the city centre. Lovely views overlooking the Prinsengracht canal, and very comfortable rooms with good showers and plenty of space. Breakfast was served in a small but homely kitchen/dining room and included nice quality breads, pastries, fruit etc. Also plenty of cafes nearby and with access to taxis also. Overall a very pleasant stay and would recommend to anyone (especially families) looking for a well priced, small and friendly hotel in one of Amsterdam's most desirable locations.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ringofriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Have just returned from a trip with a friend and our two daughters. We stayed for 3 nights in the Orlando. The location is very convenient, about 20 mins walk to the Anne Frank House, and 15 mins or less to the start of the Museum Quarter, for Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum etc. Lots of restaurants and cafes nearby.

Located canalside, but away from the bustling centre, it suited us very well.

We reached the hotel from Schipol by train to Centraal Station (EUR 3.80 adult, £2.50 children) and then taxi from thr station to the hotel (EUR 16). On the way back to the airport the hotel pre-booked us a taxi at EUR 35, which for the 4 of us worked out only a little more than our arrival option (and a lot less hassle with the carrying of bags!)

The breakfast was great - delicious freshly squeezed orange juice, eggs, cheese, rolls, yoghurt, hot chocolate for the kids etc..

Very happy with our choice and would happily recommend.

Room Tip: Room 112 is in the basement, with steps leading up to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank azurebluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed in this hotel 2 times in January 2007 and May 2008. Both time we chose the same room 115. The hotel is very cosy and we find ourselves very well. The rooms are clean and the breakfast is quite good.
The hotel is near the center of the city and this makes it perfect for those that want to visit Amsterdam and have only 2 or 3 days.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FiloLavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed three nights in September. We had room 116, courtyard view and some steep stairs, for our first night and then had arranged to move to room 115, canal view and ground floor, for the next two nights. Both rooms were very nice and clean. Room 116 was very large. The pictures on the website accurately represent the rooms. Both rooms had a mini fridge with some items stocked but we liked that we could put our own items in the fridge. Breakfast was included in the rate and was a nice start to the day, breads, fruit, cereal, cheese, meat, boiled eggs, coffee and fresh OJ. The owner was incredibly helpful, carrying our bags up on the first day, providing us with a good map and help with the transportation system. We took a cab from the central train station on our arrival but used the tram on our departure. It was a 5 minute walk to the tram station. The hotel is in a very nice area with plenty of cafes within walking distance. It was a short walk to Rembrantplein, where there were lots of outdoor cafes and a tram stop. There was also a nice grocery store on the walk to Rembrantplein. We really searched long and hard for a canal view room on a first floor and while I'm glad we found it, you don't really see much of the canal due to the cars and the house boats, so I don't think canal view would be so crucial for the next visit. I really liked the hotel and would definitely return here.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, choose a ground floor room as the stairs were narrow and steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank saqsaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#32 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#165 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Keizershof
Hotel Keizershof
#116 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
#248 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#139 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orlando

Property: Hotel Orlando
Address: Prinsengracht 1099, 1017 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#71 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Orlando Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Orlando Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing