We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“feel like at home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frederik Park House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Frederik Park House
Ranked #48 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“feel like at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

We have been in Amsterdam for a week and have stayed at Frederik Park House. I would like to say that this B&B has such cosy rooms that you feel there very much like at home (especially when compared to a normal "standard" hotel
room) which is amazing. We stayed at the room with fireplace and at the loft. Both were very beautiful and original in terms of design and were rather spacious as well, which is remarkable. The electric fireplace that was in one of the rooms could also be used for heating (which may be convenient sometimes) and the loft has its own small balcony with flowers and a table where you can have your lovely breakfast when it is warm and pleasant outside. I also would like to mention that the breakfast was always delicious, full and fresh. The hosts of Frederik Park House were very hospital. It was a pleasant surprise that their tips and advice always helped us to see the city with the eyes of a Dutchman :) They suggested us various places to go to in and outside the city for almost each day of our stay (interesting sightseeing, streets, shops, restaurants). It was a very lovely experience to stay there. Just as an additional thing I would like to mention that the heating is turned off from 12 p.m. To 7 a.m. each day, however, this does not bring any additional inconvenience or loss of comfort, just keep this in mind. This was done in Autumn and probably the rule is different in Winter and the heating is not being turned off.
Overall we had an extremely pleasant stay at Frederik Park House and we without any doubts recommend this B&B to all our friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avrora_Zarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
61
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Just to confirm : the location is really good ; great room overlooking the park ; excellent breakfasts ; Lots of good tips from Martin on things to see and places to eat.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hurst58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

Stayed here on a weekend away. Service was great. Breakfast was tasty. Nice fireplace in the room and confy bed. A walk away from Red Light and Central Station however, close to what matters - excellent shopping and the museums. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

We stayed in the Blue Room (#201), which is actually 2 rooms. Plenty of space for a family of 3. The room was clean and pleasant, with easy access to the shared roof terrace. Breakfast was brought to our door each morning, and was ample and tasty. Our host, Martin, was very attentive and helpful.

The hotel is located in a relatively quiet residential area, close to shopping on Utrechtsestraat and the Albert Cuypstraat market. There are several good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

We are a party of three with one elderly traveller. We had to change our travel dates because of the volcanic ash from April to May. There was no extra charge.
The hotel is about 2 mins walk from Frederiksplein tram station. It is not right in the centre of Amsterdam but is served by trams 4 (which goes to Central station), 7 and 10 (which goes to Leidesplein). Just round the corner from the hotel is a street full of shops, good restaurants and cafes (Utretchtsestraat).
The hotel is very cozy with wooden beams and is very homely with fresh flowers. Our only concern was the flights of stairs leading to our room at the top. This may not be suitable for the very elderly or those with mobility problems. However the views from our balcony were great. There is also a small table and 2 chairs where we can sit outside to have breakfast.
The host, Martin, was excellent in recommending places & restaurants to visit, how to get there, and other helpful tips.
Breakfast was sumptious and brought to your room every morning in a nice wicker basket. There is a choice of yoghurt, boiled eggs, selection of fresh pastries or bread, danish stroopwafels or muffins on some days, selection of cheese and ham, jams, and lots of fresh coffee, tea and orange juice.
There is free wifi throughout the hotel, and although there is no tea/coffee-making facility in the rooms, there is a coffee machine (Nespresso pod), kettle & selection of Twinings tea bags, and a jar of cookies on the ground floor at a very reasonable charge of 1 Euro per cup/item.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mauitraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

First, the reception by Martin was warm and friendly. We entered our room and felt at home immediately. The room was spacious, comfortable and well-appointed. The house is located in a quiet neighborhood on the edge of the canal loop, but conveniently located and within walking distance to many great spots. We probably enjoyed daily breakfast prepared by Martin. But, we also enjoyed his recommendations for sight-seeing and local restaurants. We had such a wonderful time that we would recommend to anyone without hesitation that they stay here if considering a visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JeremyDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

We stayed at Frederik Park House three nights during Palm Sunday weekend, and we can only confirm all the good reviews we read before we arrived. We were met by the extraordinary nice Martin, humoristic, knowledgeable, welcoming us, giving us a lot of information from the start, followed up every morning before we set out exploring this fantastic city, tips to small museums, nice areas, shops, pubs, cafés, restaurants etc., etc. Martin is a true professional, personal, but not private.
There are only four rooms in Frederik Park House. We had the smallest one I think, the Library, but it had all we could wish for. A good bed, bathroom and a separate wc. And some humoristic details. Go and see for yourselves!
Breakfast-tray outside the room every morning, full of good stuff - got us going for hours.
Small chocolate Easter eggs on Palm Sunday - things like that make the hotel something special. Got a glimpse of the other owner, Franz, bringing out the trays! Thank you, Franz.
The surrounding area, the old city with the small park Frederik Plein and the shopping- and restaurantstreet Utrechtstrasse, has so much to offer you don't have to leave the area!
The pub on the corner is what we would think a typical Dutch pub. The third time we got there for our daily (some days twice a day) genever, we were treated like patrons. Very nice. The coffee shop around the corner can also be recommened. Very good coffee and cakes, and a nice interior. On the second floor we found our favourite table, overlooking first floor and the street.
Don't miss the small French restaurant just to the right leaving the House, Bouchon du Centre. In one room, about 40m2, Hanneke (with a French grandmother) , runs the whole, setting up menys, cooking (delicious), serving, entertaining. I am sorry we only had one dinner there. The next day she was fully booked, then closed. Open only from Wednesday to Saturday for lunch and dinner. Eating there was an adventure. People coming in were locals we think, and, as we could see, very fond of Hanneke. We felt like we were participating in a feel-good-movie. See her homepage at www.bouchonducentreamsterdam.com
All in all, Amsterdam is a fabolous city, and Frederik Park House is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReisegladTrondheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#68 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#112 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#115 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#148 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me
Vondelpark
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
#25 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frederik Park House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederik Park House

Property: Frederik Park House
Address: Frederiksplein 22, 1017 XM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Frederik Park House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Frederik Park House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing