We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy rooms, good location, excellent host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Frederik Park House
Ranked #53 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cozy rooms, good location, excellent host”
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We are a party of three with one elderly traveller. We had to change our travel dates because of the volcanic ash from April to May. There was no extra charge.
The hotel is about 2 mins walk from Frederiksplein tram station. It is not right in the centre of Amsterdam but is served by trams 4 (which goes to Central station), 7 and 10 (which goes to Leidesplein). Just round the corner from the hotel is a street full of shops, good restaurants and cafes (Utretchtsestraat).
The hotel is very cozy with wooden beams and is very homely with fresh flowers. Our only concern was the flights of stairs leading to our room at the top. This may not be suitable for the very elderly or those with mobility problems. However the views from our balcony were great. There is also a small table and 2 chairs where we can sit outside to have breakfast.
The host, Martin, was excellent in recommending places & restaurants to visit, how to get there, and other helpful tips.
Breakfast was sumptious and brought to your room every morning in a nice wicker basket. There is a choice of yoghurt, boiled eggs, selection of fresh pastries or bread, danish stroopwafels or muffins on some days, selection of cheese and ham, jams, and lots of fresh coffee, tea and orange juice.
There is free wifi throughout the hotel, and although there is no tea/coffee-making facility in the rooms, there is a coffee machine (Nespresso pod), kettle & selection of Twinings tea bags, and a jar of cookies on the ground floor at a very reasonable charge of 1 Euro per cup/item.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauitraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
64
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

First, the reception by Martin was warm and friendly. We entered our room and felt at home immediately. The room was spacious, comfortable and well-appointed. The house is located in a quiet neighborhood on the edge of the canal loop, but conveniently located and within walking distance to many great spots. We probably enjoyed daily breakfast prepared by Martin. But, we also enjoyed his recommendations for sight-seeing and local restaurants. We had such a wonderful time that we would recommend to anyone without hesitation that they stay here if considering a visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JeremyDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We stayed at Frederik Park House three nights during Palm Sunday weekend, and we can only confirm all the good reviews we read before we arrived. We were met by the extraordinary nice Martin, humoristic, knowledgeable, welcoming us, giving us a lot of information from the start, followed up every morning before we set out exploring this fantastic city, tips to small museums, nice areas, shops, pubs, cafés, restaurants etc., etc. Martin is a true professional, personal, but not private.
There are only four rooms in Frederik Park House. We had the smallest one I think, the Library, but it had all we could wish for. A good bed, bathroom and a separate wc. And some humoristic details. Go and see for yourselves!
Breakfast-tray outside the room every morning, full of good stuff - got us going for hours.
Small chocolate Easter eggs on Palm Sunday - things like that make the hotel something special. Got a glimpse of the other owner, Franz, bringing out the trays! Thank you, Franz.
The surrounding area, the old city with the small park Frederik Plein and the shopping- and restaurantstreet Utrechtstrasse, has so much to offer you don't have to leave the area!
The pub on the corner is what we would think a typical Dutch pub. The third time we got there for our daily (some days twice a day) genever, we were treated like patrons. Very nice. The coffee shop around the corner can also be recommened. Very good coffee and cakes, and a nice interior. On the second floor we found our favourite table, overlooking first floor and the street.
Don't miss the small French restaurant just to the right leaving the House, Bouchon du Centre. In one room, about 40m2, Hanneke (with a French grandmother) , runs the whole, setting up menys, cooking (delicious), serving, entertaining. I am sorry we only had one dinner there. The next day she was fully booked, then closed. Open only from Wednesday to Saturday for lunch and dinner. Eating there was an adventure. People coming in were locals we think, and, as we could see, very fond of Hanneke. We felt like we were participating in a feel-good-movie. See her homepage at www.bouchonducentreamsterdam.com
All in all, Amsterdam is a fabolous city, and Frederik Park House is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReisegladTrondheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2009

Frederik Park House greatly exceeded our high expectations. Our room (#301) was spacious, immaculate, bright, comfortable, with a terrific bed and shower. Martin, the owner, is a phenomenal host. Every morning, he delivered the most perfect breakfasts to our door (eggs, meats, cheeses, assorted breads, yogurt, coffee with warm milk, among other things). He was extremely generous with local advice and excellent recommendations. The location of this hotel cannot be beat; super convenient, but feels authentic and local. Steps away from a beautiful canal and park scene. Could not recommend this bed and breakfast with more enthusiasm; no need to look further.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DShapir0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latvia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

We have just returned from a fantastic stay in Amsterdam. Frederik Park House hotel is excellent for a short weekend break. They provide perfect service. We got really good advices for restaurants, places to see, boat trips to take and above all was the facilities of the hotel. If you are used to standard 5 star hotel service, this is not the place, but if you look for something authentic and special for the city, then this is the pace for you. The rooms are of good size and nicely decorated ( a combination of antique furniture and modern facilities ). Breakfast is brought in a tray to your room. The choice of food was excellent even for me- vegetarian.
I would highly recommend this place to anyone. It is worth every Eur you pay for your stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ievinieks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2009

We (couple from London) stayed in Frederick Park House a long weekend and really recommend it.

Frederik Park House is in a good location, its not on a canal but just round the corner from the nicest ones. It's on a small park which has a tram stop and taxi rank. It is next to a street with great restaurants. It's only a 5 minute walk to the museums. It is a beautiful house, really nicely decorated, done with great taste and sophistication.

It is run by friendly helpful hosts who make the effort to talk to you each day to give you advice and ask how your day was. Frederick Park House had a really peaceful atmosphere because there are only 3 rooms it feels like being in your own house. Breakfast is included in the price and very generous. (and very delicious) It nice to have it delivered to your room each morning makes it feel really homely and not impersonal like staying in a hotel.

Don't hesitate - you will have a great time.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamAndCaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Closter, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2008

I just came back from a wonderful stay at Frederik Park House and I know that I will be coming back to this B&B!
The owners, Martin and Franz, are the perfect hosts and have the most helpful tips. The room was beautiful, comfortable and spacious. The breakfast, which was discreetly placed right outside our door every morning, was rich, tasty and exactly what you need to start the day.
I stayed at the B&B with my two sisters and I'm sure they'll agree with me: we had a marvelous time in Amsterdam and our choice of B&B was one of the main reasons. Absolutely perfect. Make your reservation now!

  • Liked — The rooms are comfortable, clean, spacious and beautiful
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EfratMoshkoviz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amsterdam
Augusta Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ijmuiden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#118 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Dwars
Hotel Dwars
#21 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
La Remise
La Remise
#34 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frederik Park House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederik Park House

Property: Frederik Park House
Address: Frederiksplein 22, 1017 XM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Frederik Park House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Frederik Park House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing