We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frederik Park House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Frederik Park House
Ranked #52 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This small boutique hotel has only four rooms and is located in a quiet street overlooking a park. It's been lovingly restored and you feel as if you're stepping back in time when you enter the narrow hall with the classic black and white tiles. The staircase is steep and winding and there is a pretty roof garden. Our room 101 was beautiful, our bed very comfortable and was very quiet. We really liked the little touches like fresh flowers in the room and as well a Nespresso machine. A huge breakfast was served in our room and was delicious. The hotel is in a great location, away from the hustle and bustle but close to tram routes as well as lots of restaurants and Rembrandt Square. All the main attractions are easily reached by walking or tram. Martin and Franz were very helpful and gave us lots of good advice about places to visit and recommended several excellent restaurants. Would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again should we visit Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Digini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
61
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We spent six nights at this wonderful oasis in May 2014. Our room, 301, was large, beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and had the most comfortable hotel bed (and luxurious bed linen) we have ever had the pleasure to sleep in!
The incredible breakfasts, delivered to your room every day, were different every time…croissants, pancakes, rolls, eggs, cheese, ham, yoghurt, fruit, freshly squeezed juice…!
The location was wonderfully quiet and yet within an easy walking distance of all the main attractions…an absolute gem!
Martin and Frans's attention to detail, impeccable standards and commitment to ensuring each guest has the best experience possible is commendable. Really nice people who really couldn't do enough for us.
Should we visit Amsterdam again we would not hesitate to stay here again. Why would anyone want to stay in an anonymous corporate hotel when they could enjoy the experience of living in a genuine Dutch canal house?
You've found what you're looking for…don't hesitate to book!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this marvellous, small hotel. The room was big and very comfortable, beautifully decorated, plenty of space (a big wooden cupboard), high ceiling, with windows overlooking trees and private gardens. Absolutely quiet, which is a challenge in Amsterdam « downtown ». Breakfasts delivered to our rooms were absolutely delicious – with i.e. home made pancakes, fresh fruits. Great also : the excellent coffee machine in the room. Ideal situation for visiting Amsterdam center and museums. Public transport around the corner. The private terrace on the roof is a small "oasis" ! We recommended Frederik Park House to everyone who like charming, small houses with historic flair. The price is absolutely fair. We also appreciated the privacy ; the owner, Martin, being around when we needed him, but not intrusive. His gave us useful tips for restaurants in the neighbourhhod, far from touristic mainstream. Thank you ! We hope to come again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We have only good comments to share with you about this place. The small hotel (Bed and Breakfast I am not sure how to characterize) is located close to the center but far enough that it is quiet. The rooms were well cared for, very clean and spacious. There is enough room to empty out your bags so that you will be comfortable during your stay. Another nice touch is that breakfast is served in the room. The owner is extremely nice and helpful. Great value for money!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cpapageorge2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We have just stayed four nights at this beautiful hotel. Small but perfectly formed as the saying goes! Large spotless room with sitting room overlooking a small park. Very comfortable bed and attractive furnishings and decor. The breakfasts, delivered to our door were absolutely wonderful - pancakes and mini chocolate eggs were a special pre-Easter treat. Perfect hosts, helpful but unobtrusive. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to visit in this lovely city very easily from this quiet location which is situated a little away from the more noisy and tacky centre. Particularly well placed for the museum area, and with many very good restaurants nearby. (We were particularly lucky to find this hotel as we had previously made a booking with bookmyplace.com but had our booking unceremoniously cancelled by the company with two weeks to go, and are still waiting the return of our deposit - don't use them. Happily, we found Frederik Park which I have no doubt was by far the better place to stay.)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieJ19058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed her for 4 nights in August. It was a pleasure to stay here. Martin was informative and extremely helpful with tips and recommendations, The room was spotless and stylishly furnished. Breakfast was always beautifully presented. The hotel's situation is perfect for exploring the sights, museums and galleries. There was a communal minibar based on trust and the prices were very fair. What we really appreciated most though was the privacy. Martin had a knack of being there when we needed him, but not intrusive. I like that in a host. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had 9 nights from 28th August to 6th September and had a wonderful time.
The room was lovely and big and the breakfasts were great. Also the terrace at the
back was wonderful for sitting and having an afternoon drink. Martin was so helpful in showing us where to go and what to see and also telling us about some great restaurants. Franz also told us about a bike ride by the side of the Amsel River out to the countryside which we did and it was amazing. It is such a central position that you can walk everywhere.
Jan & Kevin
Sydney Australia

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 461Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#68 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#112 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#115 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#151 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me
Vondelpark
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
#24 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frederik Park House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederik Park House

Property: Frederik Park House
Address: Frederiksplein 22, 1017 XM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Frederik Park House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Frederik Park House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing