We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frederik Park House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Frederik Park House
Ranked #49 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Frederik Park House at the end of August 2012. We had a lovely room on the top floor where my 2 daughters and myself could stay very comfortably. The room was very clean and spacious, overlooking the park. The B&B owner was very welcoming and gave us excellent recommendations. Breakfast was brought to our room every morning and was composed of delicious varieties of breads, some cheese and ham, eggs, yogurt, orange juice and of course tea or coffee. We also had tea and coffee in our room. The location was superb: a quiet street in a trendy area a few minute walk from everything. I would recommend this place to anyone (except if you have trouble going up stairs - lots of stairs everywhere in Amsterdam). We had a perfect stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CesarCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
61
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

** Summary**
- Clean, spacious, well-lit rooms. Think of it as a stay in your friend's house (i.e. nothing fancy, but you have everything you need)
- Quiet location away from center of action. But easy access to public transportation, which brings you to the city center/attractions in less than 10 minutes
- Friendly and helpful owner (Martin) who speaks perfect English
- Full breakfast prepared fresh and brought to you in a basket every morning!

** Rooms **
- We stayed in the loft room, which was spacious with a small balcony
- Bed was comfortable and room was well-lit with natural light or lights at night
- Amsterdam weather itself is cool, so the room temperature was comfortable even with windows closed (no AC I think)
- Toilet and shower was small, but it's well-maintained
- There's a small TV in the room with a few local channels
- In general, everything was very clean and well-maintained
- Free Wifi with decent connection speed, but signal is weaker in certain parts of the room

** Location **
- In quiet and safe neighborhood; around a minute walk from the tram and taxi station
- There are no particular "sights" around the hotel, but taking the tram to the "city center" takes around 10-15 minutes, so it is still very convenient

** Service **
- Martin, the owner, is very friendly and helpful. He speaks perfect English and is happy to tell you more about the Netherlands or just to have a friendly chat
- Every morning, he prepares and brings breakfast to your room in a basket. It's a pretty full breakfast with boiled eggs, coffee, yogurt, pastries, fresh juice, etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithkcleung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We felt like we were staying at the friend's house. Owner Martin was very friendly and nice. Breakfast was perfect (various and substantial), we found it every morning under the door. The location is very good, 15 minutes from Dam Square, 15 minutes from Van Gogh Museum, 5 minutes from Rembrandtplein. As well the hotel is located near metro station, that is important if you arrive by car and leave it at P&R.
It was excelent experience, It couldn't be better!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross shire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Wonderful location, wonderful rooms, very special, better than a hotel, its more like being a guest in a lovely home, our room was the loft which was awesome with its wooden beams, charming bed, private roof terrace where we had breakfast, so special to do that at your leisure, each morning breakfast is brought to you in a basket and as previous readers have said, lovely fresh orange juice, breads, bolied eggs, cheeses, meats, fruits, coffee etc, its wonderful, the house is so quiet and peaceful and welcoming, the owners so unobtrusive yet so helpful and genuine, that this is indeed a rare find, and reluctant in my own way to tell the world about it least we dont get a room when we want to return ! martin suggests excellent restaurants and things to do, and in this area there is an abundance of both - favourite restaurant was klockspijs - and dream of returning there again - I love it when you can see the cooking being done in the kitchen, and we had a wonderful bottle of dolcetto that was well priced- such a great place to go, dont miss it ! A day trip to Haarlem was wonderful as well, its so quaint, and great shops ! Knowing you could go back to your room at Frederik park house and make yourself a coffee or get a cold beer from the mini bar was so unique, they have got everything right and deserve all the awards they get ! We will be back for sure. So dont keep reading, just book your rooms ! And enjoy. Pub on the corner is fantastic too, so many many good things.

Room Tip: Loft room is special as you have your own private roof garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosieRossshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
210 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 wonderful nights. The location is in a good neighborhood, near Rembrandtplein by foot and 2 station far from leidsplein. Martin the owner was more than nice, so helpful and smiling. The breakfast was delicious and the room (201) was big enough for three adults, even though we had to sleep 2 adults in one double bed.. We'll sure va back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nimrod-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

The Frederik Park House Amsterdam was the chosen location for my wife maria and I for our first trip to Amsterdam. The tripadvisor reports were my first call on the planning stage but I have to tell you even though the reviews are brilliant you "HAVE" to experience it to really understand what a gem we have here.The tranquil location is on a quite road overlooking a sweet park with fountains and play areas.We were met by a very attentive Martin who carried my very heavy case up to the superb library room overlooking the little garden. Shortly after settling in Martin arrived with a map and spent next half hour marking down places to go we had particularly asked for good restaurants as my 25 years in the Hospitality Industry demands that I eat well ha! ha! .You will not have to go far to find fine dineing as the street round the corner the "UTRECHSESTRAAT" has some great restaurants many with Michelin mentions (some a little old but many current ) The very typical dutch pub on the corner is a good place to peruse what I am sure will be a map tailored to your needs by Martin we did.You have to eat at "SLUIZER" Finally the typical and amazing Dutch breakfast delivered to your door is a great personal touch, as was the free wi-fi, great coffee making machine,docking station for I-Pod very resonably priced mini bar in reception ( if you wonder where all the biscuits went you may want to chat to Maria ) and the fresh flowers in the room. I could go on but I urge you to find our for yourself thank you Martin and Franz for inviting us into your home.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SETAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

It is a saying that you shall never try to repeat a success.You may be utterly disappointed. We took the chance, and returned to Frederik Park House two years after our first visit - which we do not at all regret. The same warm welcome, the same nice hospitality, the same good breakfast tray, the same nice french little restaurant on one corner, the pub on the other, and so on.
Frederik Park House has four rooms, all of them very different styled. Last time we had the Library Room, this time the Grand Room. We have to come back at least two more times to check out the remaining two. The neighborhood is very charming, and Martin, our host, is much knowledeable when it comes to restaurants and nice things to do and see, both in the area and elsewhere in Amsterdam. This time we were especially filled with enthusiasme after visiting the maritime museum, located in an old building, but newly reopened after a renovation. We most certainly would not have visited the museum without Martins recommendation.
Since last trip, every room has got its own little coffee machine and water boiler for tea. Very nice when you come back to your room after a long day in full speed around the city....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReisegladTrondheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#65 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 796 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#161 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#116 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Dwars
Hotel Dwars
#19 of 217 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
PH Hotel Oosteinde
PH Hotel Oosteinde
#31 of 217 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frederik Park House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederik Park House

Property: Frederik Park House
Address: Frederiksplein 22, 1017 XM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Frederik Park House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Frederik Park House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing