We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in a historic home and 'go native' while being pampered!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Frederik Park House
Ranked #68 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Great location in QUIET neighborhood close to restaurants & shopping. Good value. Helpful, non-obtrusive hosts asked me about my interests and made on-target recommendations. Loved fresh Dutch breakfast delivered on tray to room. Rooftop balcony overlooking courtyard gardens --open to all guests-- is spectacular in spring!

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 113 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2010

We have been in Amsterdam for a week and have stayed at Frederik Park House. I would like to say that this B&B has such cosy rooms that you feel there very much like at home (especially when compared to a normal "standard" hotel
room) which is amazing. We stayed at the room with fireplace and at the loft. Both were very beautiful and original in terms of design and were rather spacious as well, which is remarkable. The electric fireplace that was in one of the rooms could also be used for heating (which may be convenient sometimes) and the loft has its own small balcony with flowers and a table where you can have your lovely breakfast when it is warm and pleasant outside. I also would like to mention that the breakfast was always delicious, full and fresh. The hosts of Frederik Park House were very hospital. It was a pleasant surprise that their tips and advice always helped us to see the city with the eyes of a Dutchman :) They suggested us various places to go to in and outside the city for almost each day of our stay (interesting sightseeing, streets, shops, restaurants). It was a very lovely experience to stay there. Just as an additional thing I would like to mention that the heating is turned off from 12 p.m. To 7 a.m. each day, however, this does not bring any additional inconvenience or loss of comfort, just keep this in mind. This was done in Autumn and probably the rule is different in Winter and the heating is not being turned off.
Overall we had an extremely pleasant stay at Frederik Park House and we without any doubts recommend this B&B to all our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Avrora_Zarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Just to confirm : the location is really good ; great room overlooking the park ; excellent breakfasts ; Lots of good tips from Martin on things to see and places to eat.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hurst58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Stayed here on a weekend away. Service was great. Breakfast was tasty. Nice fireplace in the room and confy bed. A walk away from Red Light and Central Station however, close to what matters - excellent shopping and the museums. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We stayed in the Blue Room (#201), which is actually 2 rooms. Plenty of space for a family of 3. The room was clean and pleasant, with easy access to the shared roof terrace. Breakfast was brought to our door each morning, and was ample and tasty. Our host, Martin, was very attentive and helpful.

The hotel is located in a relatively quiet residential area, close to shopping on Utrechtsestraat and the Albert Cuypstraat market. There are several good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We are a party of three with one elderly traveller. We had to change our travel dates because of the volcanic ash from April to May. There was no extra charge.
The hotel is about 2 mins walk from Frederiksplein tram station. It is not right in the centre of Amsterdam but is served by trams 4 (which goes to Central station), 7 and 10 (which goes to Leidesplein). Just round the corner from the hotel is a street full of shops, good restaurants and cafes (Utretchtsestraat).
The hotel is very cozy with wooden beams and is very homely with fresh flowers. Our only concern was the flights of stairs leading to our room at the top. This may not be suitable for the very elderly or those with mobility problems. However the views from our balcony were great. There is also a small table and 2 chairs where we can sit outside to have breakfast.
The host, Martin, was excellent in recommending places & restaurants to visit, how to get there, and other helpful tips.
Breakfast was sumptious and brought to your room every morning in a nice wicker basket. There is a choice of yoghurt, boiled eggs, selection of fresh pastries or bread, danish stroopwafels or muffins on some days, selection of cheese and ham, jams, and lots of fresh coffee, tea and orange juice.
There is free wifi throughout the hotel, and although there is no tea/coffee-making facility in the rooms, there is a coffee machine (Nespresso pod), kettle & selection of Twinings tea bags, and a jar of cookies on the ground floor at a very reasonable charge of 1 Euro per cup/item.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauitraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2010

First, the reception by Martin was warm and friendly. We entered our room and felt at home immediately. The room was spacious, comfortable and well-appointed. The house is located in a quiet neighborhood on the edge of the canal loop, but conveniently located and within walking distance to many great spots. We probably enjoyed daily breakfast prepared by Martin. But, we also enjoyed his recommendations for sight-seeing and local restaurants. We had such a wonderful time that we would recommend to anyone without hesitation that they stay here if considering a visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Amsterdam At Home
Amsterdam At Home
#28 of 338 in Amsterdam
201 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#26 of 338 in Amsterdam
787 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Museum Suites
Museum Suites
#5 of 338 in Amsterdam
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostelle
#35 of 242 in Amsterdam
271 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,282 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frederik Park House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederik Park House

Address: Frederiksplein 22, 1017 XM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $297 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Frederik Park House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Frederik Park House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing