We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anco Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anco Hotel
Save
You added Anco Hotel to your Saves list
O.Z.Voorburgwal 55, 1012 EJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

What is the most brilliant feature of this hotel?
Yes - the hosts are! They perfectly manage this hotel in a warm and considerate way making guests welcome.
Yes- the location is! Walking distance from the main railway station and in the middle of everything. Note: there is some red light business around which was not intimidating or disturbing at any moment I have been there.
Yes - it is the view from the window (street side rooms). One glimps and you perfectly know where you are. It looks like the essence of Amsterdam with a canal, typical buildings and even church bell chimes to the hour.
Yes - it is the room quality. Although small, the rooms are renovated, fresh and accomodating. I would say they offer all you need.
There is a bar where breakfast is served, too. Dutch breakfast with international features. Good coffee and teas.
Thank you, Karl & Josef, for making my stay so wonderful and cosy. I am longing to come back to the Anco hotel soon!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    60
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
2
39
70
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Once again my partner and I stayed here for six nights. Our second stay. I have to say this is a great welcoming place to stay. If you want to be in the middle of the red light district it's location is superb. Shared facilities are kept clean and tidy. Rooms are serviced and the staff are very kind and helpful. I have no hesitation in staying here again, and will do on the next visit to Dam.
Friendly atmosphere, good price, ideal location, great staff and the owners treat you like one of their own. 10/10.
Nice to see key deposits gone and replaced with door swipe cards.
Great breakfasts
Good coffe
Sweet hotel pooch
Friendly customers.

Room Tip: Ask for room 21,22 if you want a canal view, highly recommend the front studio apartment too but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I have visited Amsterdam several times and good accomodation is difficult to find at avergae prices. This hotel keeps a good balance, for Amsterdam standards; located in an old property overlooking the Oudekerk, it has a great atmosphere, very gentle staff that look after your needs in all moments and a great location if you want to be right in the center of the city. The canal can get noisy but it did not disturb me at all. An experience I would like to repeat in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerinbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

From the minute I walked in until I left, the staff was amazing! The owners are an adorable older couple that love to have fun with each other. I didn't like my first night where I didn't have an apartment suite with a private bathroom because someone over flowed a toilet in the middle of the night and I stepped in the water...but that is not the hotels fault. However, the apologized, without a second thought asked for all of my dirty clothes and washed them, gave me a free drink and really went above and beyond...again it wasn't even their fault.

The next night my suite was ready and it was amazing. Everything was as described, the view of the red light district was awesome and I was in love with Amsterdam. If you are going to Amsterdam, go to Anco Hotel...it is the only place to stay!

Room Tip: Get the suites...it's worth it for the private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Ended up at the Anco hotel after originally booking a hostel and not liking the look of it. The Anco was great for us as a gay couple. The staff were so friendly and helpful. They were knowledgable about the local area and able to recommend some great bars and places to eat. Would recommend. There were also a couple of straight couples there too who seemed to enjoy the friendliness and unpretentiousness of the place. Great location. A little noisy, but to be expected for the location. The after hours basement door is great fun after a few drinks :-).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel is located directly in Red Light Disctrict. So around are all the coffeshops, bars, etc. So the busy and "living" area. Anco Hotel is a gay hotel, but hetero guests are welcome as well. We had studio room with own bathroom. The other rooms are sharing bathroom on the corridor. Our room was very nice and clean.
The studio room has the windows into the busy street. So dont expect quit nights :-) But still, its not that bad. And if you come after the party back to the room, it just doesnt matter :)
In the room price is the breakfast included. The Staff of the hotel, the owners, been very nice and friendly. I can only recomend this hotel to everyone. Gays will feel very good and the heteros as well.

Room Tip: I would recomend to choose studio, as you will have your own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrikCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed five nights in this hotel that is centrally located in Amsterdam, within walking distance to Central Station and many of the key sights. The room was clean as were the shared bathroom and shower. The continental breakfast was quite good. Yes, it is noisy, but that obviously is a function of the hotel's location and not an issue with the hotel itself. Their price offers a very good value in that part of the city. Karl and the rest of the staff were very friendly and accommodating and made our stay one to remember.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveling_Boomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#55 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#142 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
#223 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Vijaya
Hotel Vijaya
#294 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#249 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#222 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anco Hotel

Property: Anco Hotel
Address: O.Z.Voorburgwal 55, 1012 EJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Anco Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing