We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anco Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anco Hotel
Save
You added Anco Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #178 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location and nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel is located directly in Red Light Disctrict. So around are all the coffeshops, bars, etc. So the busy and "living" area. Anco Hotel is a gay hotel, but hetero guests are welcome as well. We had studio room with own bathroom. The other rooms are sharing bathroom on the corridor. Our room was very nice and clean.
The studio room has the windows into the busy street. So dont expect quit nights :-) But still, its not that bad. And if you come after the party back to the room, it just doesnt matter :)
In the room price is the breakfast included. The Staff of the hotel, the owners, been very nice and friendly. I can only recomend this hotel to everyone. Gays will feel very good and the heteros as well.

Room Tip: I would recomend to choose studio, as you will have your own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrikCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    62
    13
    8
    6
See reviews for
4
41
71
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed five nights in this hotel that is centrally located in Amsterdam, within walking distance to Central Station and many of the key sights. The room was clean as were the shared bathroom and shower. The continental breakfast was quite good. Yes, it is noisy, but that obviously is a function of the hotel's location and not an issue with the hotel itself. Their price offers a very good value in that part of the city. Karl and the rest of the staff were very friendly and accommodating and made our stay one to remember.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveling_Boomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisy9700
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

i stayed in the shared accomdation...4 beds in a large room.all very clean as were the shared wc and showers.its not perfect but for the price(including a good breakfast) you cant complain.very friendly staff

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisy9700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The location is perfect. you are set right in the middle of the city so getting around is easy. The room i stayed in had a view of the canal but necessarily did not come as a joyous experience because of all the noises but still at least they had a view. Price is affordable and the rooms are nice. service is good as well. so pretty much everything i required out of stay was included in here so i was pretty happy with the stay at the place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Pros: Excellent Location, staff is very friendly and speak good english, room was clean and decent size for 2 people, decent wifi.

Cons: Shared bathroom, can get noisy (but hey its Amsterdam), room was a little dusty but for the most part pretty clean.

This place was the first stop on our 8 week Euro-Trip. We stayed here for 3 nights. It is in the center of the red light district so it can get noisy at night, but there are tons of bars and shops a few steps away. The staff was great and very helpful. They also had some good suggestions for places to eat/bars to go, etc. Our room wasn't the biggest I've stayed in but it wasn't tiny and cramped either. All-in-all, not the fanciest hotel but it worked for a place to keep your stuff and sleep. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Very cute and charming hotel, in the middle of Amsterdam (you can easily walk to the central station). The staff was really nice and helpful. We (3 girls) stayed there 4 nights, affordable prices and although the shower was shared, it was very clean. Breakfast was nice too :)

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

if you just want a place to rest to explore the centre of Amsterdam, then this is ok. The service is ok, the rooms are ok, the price is ok. I looked around for other acco in the same area, and it all seems to be of that standard. The owner looked tired of his own establishment, and for the other staff, it was just a job, so don't expect too much of a welcoming or sharing of info. My room overlooked the canal and Oude Kerk, so it was drunken noise till early mornings if you wanted to keep your window open for some ventilation. The wi fi did not work. I will not stay there again, since there are other parts of Amsterdam that I discovered that are better value and utterly charming. If you want to be in the central area, this is one of many such establishments you can choose from

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joshua r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#59 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#140 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,123 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
#229 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
misc eatdrinksleep
misc eatdrinksleep
#8 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 920 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#222 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anco Hotel

Property: Anco Hotel
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 55, 1012 EJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Anco Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing