We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice, even for straight dudes!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anco Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anco Hotel
Save
You added Anco Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #167 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice, even for straight dudes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very, very well located, very kind staff, cool breakfast (they serves smalls kips leverworst!) and cheap! Guest keys so no reception issues!
Even if you are straight (like I am), you'll feel comfortable!
Anco is a great place for a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozzy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    61
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
2
39
71
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The ANCO is a wonderful place. Just don' take alot of suit cases. As there is not lift and the stairs are typical of old Amsterdam homes, narrow, steep and winding, kind of hard to get any big luggage up. Karl, Dennis, Dave and the rest of the staff were wonderful and very helpful. Get Dave to take you on a private canal cruise on his boat parked in front of the hotel. Better then the customary commercial ones in Amsterdam. A great spot in the heart of the Red Light district. Very close to all of the gay bars. And those are another subject what a place Amsterdam is.
Oh and lets not forget breakfast great selection and good food. We even on morning had an early day trip and they got us breakfast early so we could eat before we left. We were there 8/29 - 9/5/2013 and we will go back and only stay at the ANCO.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul-Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in room 24, its well worth a visit, the hotel is clean & very friendly staff (Dave is so funny & as camp as they come). Its in a very good location, its a short walk from the station too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had Room 14 which is the one pictured right at the front of the hotel on the first floor by the canal - despite this it was very quiet with the gentle hum of boats passing, a slight murmur of passing tourists and the tinkle of the ever present bicycle mob.

The room came with en-suite, TV, Microwave, toaster, sound system, fridge and 2 ring hob.

The bed was a split double and was exceptionally comfortable.

The manager (David) also runs private canal excursions from his small boat parked outside (seats 4-6) which is much more personalised than the commercial ones, lasts about 90 minutes and goes to places the other trips doesn't go - very, very recommended. He also has bicycle hire for the full package.

There is a wonderful view of the Old Church juxtaposed with the windows of the "Ladies" - so you can sin in the afternoon and repent in the evening :-)

We watched as one night a drunk tourist fell into the canal - all praise to the bypassers who fished him out and the staff of the Fast Food joint "Favourite" opposite who took care of him afterwards.

There is as small courtyard downstairs which is well shielded where you can breakfast and/or smoke.

The staff are exceptional (watch out for the man with the French Bulldog - that thing will lick you to death!)

Breakfast is typically Dutch which may or may not be your thing.

You are right in the grip of the Red Light district which funnily enough is one of the safest parts of Amsterdam due to a heavy but unobtrusive presence.

Only downside are those really steep Amsterdam stairs which with a heavy suitcase can be tricky.

Room Tip: Some rooms share facilities so ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn_Grinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed at the Anco as a solo traveler in late-July 2013. I had a wonderful five-day stay there, and an amazing sleep every night I was there.

It is an all-male hotel, so if you like a cruisy gay atmosphere (which I do), it is perfect.

The shared shower and toilet were also never a problem; they were always available when I needed them.

Overall, this is a perfect hotel for the gay male visitor to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hkyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Came here for 4 days in summer with my friends and the owners were very hospitable and friendly. Great location close to all the bars and coffeeshops in the area as well as shopping areas. Split a room with a friend so it was cheap and the rooms were nice. They were overbooked when we arrived but gave us a nicer room than we booked which was very nice. Over all great place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This place was fantastic on service.
I stayed at the hostel room. I got the feeling of a bed and breakfast because the owners and employees were sooo helpful and nice. If I come back to Amsterdam I will definitely be staying here again.

The shower needs a bit more ventilation and having a TV in the room is kind of a downer taking away from meeting other travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mil0oo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#58 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 879 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#140 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,108 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
#221 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 903 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Vijaya
Hotel Vijaya
#296 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 575 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#222 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anco Hotel

Property: Anco Hotel
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 55, 1012 EJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Anco Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing