We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't stay anywhere else!”
Review of Anco Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anco Hotel
Ranked #179 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Do you want to meet friends without really knowing them in advance? Welcome to Anco Hotel!

The place where the staff are your unknown friends just waiting to get to know you. You have to understand the Dutch humor, and you have to have the same sense of humor yourself. If you do, you will feel most welcome and at home while staying at Anco Hotel. I took a bit of a chance. I placed two bookings for this hotel even before my first stay, but I only needed to spend one minute here to realize that I had made the right choice. The people here are friendly, the breakfast i great and the location is perfect. I arrived here on a friday and went out to the bars and clubs for the night, which made me sleep through the breakfast. When I got downstairs to have my morning cigarette, the staff looked at me like they were really offended askin "And where were you this morning? We missed you at the breakfast" followed by a great smile.

The rooms here are typical Amsterdam size. Not too large, but it was okay. Most rooms have shared toilet and shower in the hallway, which were kept clean all the time. Hotel staff knocks your door every evening asking if you need fresh towels. Breakfast is served from 9:00 - 11:30 and is included in the price. Free WiFi internet for all guests with good coverage and bandwidth. The rooms are equipped with a cable TV with several channels including two free adult tv channels. The only thing I missed during my stay was some ventilation. I stayed here for the hottest weekend ever recorded this year with approx. 34 degrees celsius at the hottest.

Getting here is easy. Looking at Google Maps can give an impression that getting here is hard because there are no metro or tram station nearby. That impression is very wrong. I took me not more than a five minute walk from Amsterdam Centraal to the hotel. Just follow Damrak south to Oudebrugsteeg. Then follow Oudebrugsteeg and cross Beursstraat and Warmoesstraat, and continue in the same direction until you hit the canal. Cross the bridge, take to your right, and you're there. Ten minutes walk stoned or drunk, five minutes walk sober :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 193 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just back from a weekend in Amsterdam. Stayed in the ANCO hotel for the first time and its a great place to stay. Its right in the centre of the city, about 5 mins walk from Central Station. The rooms are very clean and the beds comfortable. Towels are change every day and breakfast is served until 11.30 if you fancy a long lye in.
The staff are all very helpful and couldn't do enough for you. The room rates are also very reasonable. Cant wait to go back !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is a great place to stay for Gay Men. The staff are friendly the Breakfast is good and the rooms are clean. My room was small but I had a single so I knew what to expect on arrival. Same with steep staircases very common in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tımothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I have stayed in hostels that are much better quality. Staff gave off a sense of indifference. Staff or friend of staff mocked my answers to their questions while smoking on the front porch. Rooms narrow and poor quality furniture. Very disturbing event one night when the fire alarms went off at 3 am due to someone apparently smoking in their room. On-site staff ferociously yelled at this person (room across the window from me) with a huge argument and threats to kick the person out on the street then and there, with very degrading language towards hotel guest. For the red light district the location felt safe. Shared bathroom smelled like mold and was minimal levels of clean. Should have been cheaper for this low quality.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
5  Thank Brandon Barton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is a hotel for gay men. A single room is small, and just adequate, with a shared toilet in the hall, and a separate shared shower in the hall. There was a sink in the room. This is nothing fancy at all, but adequate, and if you choose this not expecting anything upscale, it's OK. This is about 10 minute walk from Central Station, and very close to the red light district. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rickpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I don't recommend this place to stay. The rooms are very basic, no confort at all. The stairs very narrow. The Hotel workers no always willing to help you. If by any chance you get a room in the top floor, you better have a light carry on, nobody will help you with your luggage. The bathrooms are old and outdated. Very expensive for the horrible service and lack of quality. One positive thing, Great location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank L E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here on a recent excursion to Brussels, Antwerp and finally Amsterdam. I was not dissappointed in the least! David, the host, was a perfect gentleman who has a great knoledge of the city. He is funny and very accomodating. We stayed in the apartment which has it's own kitchenette and private bathroom. It also has a great view over the canal and is worth the extra Euro's. The Anco is perfectly situated in the Centrum area of Amsterdam where literally everything you could want is out you doorstep or a way to get there always available. They even have private boat canal tours for 17 Euro. I could go on and on but by now youe probably guess....we LOVED the Anco and will definetely be back!

Room Tip: Get the Apartment...1st floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#147 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,353 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
#218 of 372 in Amsterdam
139 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Vijaya
Hotel Vijaya
#333 of 372 in Amsterdam
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
The Monk Amsterdam Apartments
The Monk Amsterdam Apartments
#223 of 372 in Amsterdam
53 reviews
Centrum
Best Western Dam Square Inn
Best Western Dam Square Inn
#140 of 372 in Amsterdam
841 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
misc eatdrinksleep
misc eatdrinksleep
#8 of 372 in Amsterdam
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anco Hotel

Address: O.Z.Voorburgwal 55, 1012 EJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $51 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Anco Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing