We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Canal House Ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anco Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anco Hotel
Save
You added Anco Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #165 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Isla Mujeres
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Canal House Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Small rooms, steep stairs, shared bath... That's Amsterdam! Anco has great canal-front location, extremely clean, great breakfast and friendly management. We loved sitting on the front stoop with a cold beer and soaking up the neighborhood. Our first choice for retrun accommodations

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    60
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
2
39
70
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

My name is mo I stayed at Anco's for 2 nights The new Management are very nice and friendly they know how to make you feel welcome the guest are also friendy
meet a few friends. Thanks

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moesvipmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Had the pleasure of staying twice during my recent holiday to Amsterdam & Belgium. Within a few hours of arriving I was on a private canal tour with a great bunch of guests & Dave is a wonderful guide. The morning breakfasts are a great start to the day & a nice way to meet others. Location is central for venturing out & easy to find your way around from. Great people, place & price. Happy to recommend & return again soon!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sxthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I had three great days staying at the Anco. Having read earlier reviews, I know what the reported problems with staff ' attitude' is. Actually, there is no problem, it is just a Dutch form of humor. Part sarcasm, part dry humor. Just play along and you will find the team here are great fun. Especially in the morning when the breakfast guy slams down you eggs! Look carefully and you will see a sly smile.

I went on the boat cruise that the Anco run on their small boat. Excellent value and a great experience.

The room was clean and the bathrooms serviced regularly. If you are looking for 'extra fun' you can find it with other guests although it is not too obvious (no orgies in the corridors). If you want to be left alone then that is easy too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

if you want to get an idea of their lousy service, just phone them and try to book a room. It'll give you a flavour of what to expect when you get there. I guess there are obvious reasons why gay men would want to go here, but that means the rude staff don't have to try. Be great if they got proper competition, hope some aspiring entrepreneur gives them some, it's needed. Should have followed my instinct. Avoid.

Room Tip: choice of noise or no view. no view is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Blimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

The Anco Hotel is conveniently located, clean, comfortable, and owned and managed by two very pleasant, friendly, and helpful gentlemen. The entire staff was friendly and helpful and always provided personalized service. The breakfast was delicious with a variety of choices. Our next trip to Amsterdam will definitely find us staying at the Anco!

Room Tip: We had the studio with an ensuite bath and kitchenette. It was a very large room with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crafty69er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, NL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Male only, super clean, can't get any more central, professional staff and service. Fabulous quality and service for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheocheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#55 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#142 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,084 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
#223 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Vijaya
Hotel Vijaya
#294 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#249 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#222 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anco Hotel

Property: Anco Hotel
Address: O.Z.Voorburgwal 55, 1012 EJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Anco Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing