We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anco Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$247
$241
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$479
$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$326
$294
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$371
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$293
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$321
$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$298
$242
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$248
$229
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $280/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$561
$331
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$124
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveler rating
109
70
15
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
70
15
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared facilitiesthe red light districtgreat locationsingle private roomamazing hospitalityinternet servicecentral stationroom overlooked the canalwouldn't stay anywhere elsesmall kitchennice breakfastcontinental breakfastlovely citya great place to stayi highly recommend this hotelstay there againhear everything
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 211 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is a male only hotel, but very clean and delightful full breakfast made to order included, short walk to all gay life, bars and clubs, right on a canal, rooms very nice, and did i say clean and felt very safe there.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

I stayed there with a friend last weekend for 2 nights. Great location!

Everything was very nice. I'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigGameSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

the staff was very helpful and friendly. I just stayed for one night. I'm 25 and when I walked in I noticed it was a very cruisy atmosphere, The age range was older than me but sure as long as you know how to get past any come ons.

It was my first experience in a gay hotel, I stayed in the dorm, it was clean, fresh towels provided and a key to get you in late.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gav4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Thought id take the time to write a review of this hotel as i read all the other reviews on here before i went. Excellent location right in the redlight district of the city, only 5mins walk from "Bloedstraat" (shemale area of redlight district!) so ideal if thats your thing! There is a coffee shop a few doors up which i didnt actually visit as there is loads of others with 5 mins walk. There is also a handy take away (burgers chips etc.) on the corner of the street. As for noise i had a room facing the court yard so was very peacefull, cant see it being that nosiey if your facing the street its not a very busy street. As for the stairs ive heard a few others mention they are steep and a tight spiral but its really not a issue adds to the charm of the place to be honest. The staff where friendly although i didnt have much to do with them apart from checking out and in. Its no smoking but on my last night i had a couple of J's out the window and no one noticed. Ive heard a few people metion the breakfast is good...its not to be honest was just a fired egg on toast (need a couple slices of bacon or a couple of sauasages to go with it!) As for meeting other like minded guys i think i went at the wrong time of year as the hotel seemed pretty empty, i left my door open a few times in the hope of meeting someone but no one was around! About half an hour before i was due to check out in a last dicth effort to meet somone i decided to leave the shower curtain open and door to the shower open (opens on to corridoor) and someone did join me!! Upon arrival at central station i decided to get a taxi to the hotel to save getting lost/reading a map i would advise against this as it cost 20 euro and it is litlary a 15 min walk and easy to find. Overall a great location i dont think i went more than 10 mins walk away from hotel during my 3 day stay. Will defo return one day.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank shemale_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

The 'Anco Hotel' is a gayhotel located in the red light district of Amsterdam. The location is great for gays as a base of operation to visit clubs, bars ...
It's a little less suited if you're in Amsterdam for (regular) tourism or business. My room was located at the streetside, right opposite a very busy street full of bars and brothels, so I had a lot of noise all night long.
The great thing about the 'Anco' is the friendly and relaxed attitude of the managers and staff. They are extremely nice, respectful and always there to help or have a chat with.
And they are upgrading their hotel all the time... just when I left my bed was going to be replaced by a new one with spring-mattress. And a lot of rooms already have a flatscreen tv.
There's really nothing bad to say about the 'ANCO', you just have to accept that when you choose this hotel you're not going to have a quiet holiday.... but I don't think that those who select this hotel are very concerned about having a good night rest ;-)
It's a basic hotel, the prices are very reasonable, it's located nearby the central station (I walked to the station in less than 10 minutes), you get a good breakfast (with fried egg), everything is clean and the owners are lovely guys ...
Yes, I would recommend this hotel to any gay travelling to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonlover68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews