We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“loved it and very frieindly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anco Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anco Hotel
Ranked #164 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“loved it and very frieindly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is a male only hotel, but very clean and delightful full breakfast made to order included, short walk to all gay life, bars and clubs, right on a canal, rooms very nice, and did i say clean and felt very safe there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    64
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
5
45
72
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

I stayed there with a friend last weekend for 2 nights. Great location!

Everything was very nice. I'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigGameSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

the staff was very helpful and friendly. I just stayed for one night. I'm 25 and when I walked in I noticed it was a very cruisy atmosphere, The age range was older than me but sure as long as you know how to get past any come ons.

It was my first experience in a gay hotel, I stayed in the dorm, it was clean, fresh towels provided and a key to get you in late.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gav4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

Thought id take the time to write a review of this hotel as i read all the other reviews on here before i went. Excellent location right in the redlight district of the city, only 5mins walk from "Bloedstraat" (shemale area of redlight district!) so ideal if thats your thing! There is a coffee shop a few doors up which i didnt actually visit as there is loads of others with 5 mins walk. There is also a handy take away (burgers chips etc.) on the corner of the street. As for noise i had a room facing the court yard so was very peacefull, cant see it being that nosiey if your facing the street its not a very busy street. As for the stairs ive heard a few others mention they are steep and a tight spiral but its really not a issue adds to the charm of the place to be honest. The staff where friendly although i didnt have much to do with them apart from checking out and in. Its no smoking but on my last night i had a couple of J's out the window and no one noticed. Ive heard a few people metion the breakfast is good...its not to be honest was just a fired egg on toast (need a couple slices of bacon or a couple of sauasages to go with it!) As for meeting other like minded guys i think i went at the wrong time of year as the hotel seemed pretty empty, i left my door open a few times in the hope of meeting someone but no one was around! About half an hour before i was due to check out in a last dicth effort to meet somone i decided to leave the shower curtain open and door to the shower open (opens on to corridoor) and someone did join me!! Upon arrival at central station i decided to get a taxi to the hotel to save getting lost/reading a map i would advise against this as it cost 20 euro and it is litlary a 15 min walk and easy to find. Overall a great location i dont think i went more than 10 mins walk away from hotel during my 3 day stay. Will defo return one day.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shemale_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

The 'Anco Hotel' is a gayhotel located in the red light district of Amsterdam. The location is great for gays as a base of operation to visit clubs, bars ...
It's a little less suited if you're in Amsterdam for (regular) tourism or business. My room was located at the streetside, right opposite a very busy street full of bars and brothels, so I had a lot of noise all night long.
The great thing about the 'Anco' is the friendly and relaxed attitude of the managers and staff. They are extremely nice, respectful and always there to help or have a chat with.
And they are upgrading their hotel all the time... just when I left my bed was going to be replaced by a new one with spring-mattress. And a lot of rooms already have a flatscreen tv.
There's really nothing bad to say about the 'ANCO', you just have to accept that when you choose this hotel you're not going to have a quiet holiday.... but I don't think that those who select this hotel are very concerned about having a good night rest ;-)
It's a basic hotel, the prices are very reasonable, it's located nearby the central station (I walked to the station in less than 10 minutes), you get a good breakfast (with fried egg), everything is clean and the owners are lovely guys ...
Yes, I would recommend this hotel to any gay travelling to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank londonlover68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

Thought the place was great for the price. Friendly and clean. Will return

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

Stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning of July. The staff were brilliant from the second I arrived in the taxi. My cases were taken upstairs for me to my room which was totally adequate and more than I expected for the modest price I paid. The room was serviced daily while I had my breakfast which was lovely and the staff were always on hand to keep me right on where best to go to make the best of my time in Amsterdam. The room was always clean and equipped with a TV and vanity sink and although the shower facilities were shared I think this is a small compromise to make for the amazing location and obvious space issues associated with any canal house in Amsterdam.

I would also like to add that the current owners (lovely guys) only took over the hotel in March and seem to have some good plans for the improvment of the rooms, although they are perfectly adequate for the price you pay to stay there at the moment. And having read previous reviews, I know they have already improved the quality of service beyond regognition.

I will definitely be back! Staff are A1! Location is brilliant and the hotel has an excellent atmosphere.

Well done chaps!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caedonianboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
#225 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#64 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#140 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
The Monk Amsterdam Apartments
The Monk Amsterdam Apartments
#255 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Vijaya
Hotel Vijaya
#307 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#242 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anco Hotel

Property: Anco Hotel
Address: O.Z.Voorburgwal 55, 1012 EJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Anco Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing