We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25 years on...”
Review of ITC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ITC Hotel
Ranked #272 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed August 22, 2014

I originally stayed here in 1989. The stairs were the same (very steep!) but now the prices are the same (very steep!). This place has a fantastic location on the Prinsengracht - right on the Tram 4 link to/from Amsterdam Centraal station and about 12 minutes away (worth checking out the ticket options during your stay). I avoided the breakfast (not worth the money) and went via tram to Dam Square where the is a McDonalds serving hot breakfast foods for 2.95 euros.
Three doors away is Cafe Bouwman with the amazing owner Mirella, her team and aloof white cat! The place and its annexe need a full refurb - I was in the annexe room 24 and it was tired and the WC cistern was not working well. Despite this. I would probably stay again. Couldn't face taking my luggage on the tram to get back to the airport so I booked the shuttle bus at 17 euros and arrived at Schiphol departures in about 20 minutes - expensive but stress free. Reception staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on lower floors - the stairs are seriously steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 594 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2014

We really liked the location of this hotel although we stayed in what is called the Townhouse, across the canal from the check-in location. The room was bare-bones but adequate. We had 3 twin-sized beds and a bathroom which is what we requested. However, whenever we flushed the toilet, it came up in the shower. This was obviously disgusting and a health hazard. I immediately went back to the reception area and told the woman about this problem. She said she would have someone come and take care of it. I didn't know what they would do because it seemed to be a problem with their pipes, but ok. However, the problem continued, so the next morning I went back to reception and she promised to have someone come to the room. We were out all day but when we returned, it was obvious no one had come. Again, I reported the problem and this time she sent a man with a plunger. The toilet was not stopped up; it was a matter of their pipes and sewer. Fortunately we left the next day but the woman never offered to move us of refund any money. While the room and view were good, this made our stay unpleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerSue2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights August 2014 with 3 friends in 2x twin rooms. The rooms were unmodernised with ridiculously small, the bathrooms are poorly positioned and very small. The location of the hotel does not match the cost either. This should be a €30 a night hotel and not €120 as we paid (a night). The rooms were nothing like advertised either!

Booked through Booking.com with a pre-authorisation on the credit card and when we arrived, the price increases by about 10% with no explanation given.

Would not recommend.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank StevenCraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

All was fine for us, as it was cheap. The room was presentable, staff very helpful. Location perfect. Close to bars, cafés and restaurants.
The water from the cold tap looked like it came straight from the canal. We didn't notice until we were sober so on the last day. And would have liked tea and coffee facilities in the room. Otherwise a perfect place for a few days away. Loved it! Oh and you can hire there biked, convenient.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomtalk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

My friends and I had a lovely weekend at ITC. We only stayed one night, and the room was perfect for us. 3-person room across the road - clean, very minimal. Perfect since we were weren't in the room much; we honestly just needed a place to sleep. The staff was very nice and helpful. The only concern we had was with the condition of the room; there was a large hole in the bathroom door (not see-through or anything). Our group just didn't want to be charged for an issue we didn't cause, but everything was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Blair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

if you're looking for a fancy hotel this is not the one. Bathrooms are shared, the room is too small for 2 single beds and the TV is impossible to watch due to its position in the room. But actually i wasnt there to watch Tv, so its a detail for me. Its really close to the city center and near to coffee shops, restaurants and nightlife. The staff are very helpful and I had no problems getting there by public transport and also, the price u pay to stay there was Ok. I'd recommend if u r looking for a comfy bed and not to spend lots of money to stay in a regular hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Thgsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a quad room which consisted of a double, two singles and an en-suite. The bathroom was more of a wet room however as the shower wasn't separated by a curtain. This was abit annoying but much better than having a shared bathroom which is quite common in Amsterdam. The beds were extremely comfy and we had our room cleaned and fresh sheets everyday. Would have liked to have more than one bin though. Had a lovely view of the canal from our room as well. The hotel itself does have a smell to it, like a damp or mould but fortunately this wasn't in our room. Some girls in our group had the continental breakfast one morning and said it was delicious. The location is pretty good, walking distance from Rembrandt square where there is a club and bars. The tram stops right outside the hotel and takes about 10 - 15 minutes to get to Dam central/red light district. All the staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helped us so much in terms of giving us directions to places and travel information. Thank you itc hotel!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#301 of 372 in Amsterdam
483 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#312 of 372 in Amsterdam
661 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
#287 of 372 in Amsterdam
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#308 of 372 in Amsterdam
376 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#264 of 372 in Amsterdam
509 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#269 of 372 in Amsterdam
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Hotel

Address: Princegracht 1051, 1017 JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $74 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ITC Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your ITC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing