We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KO” 1 of 5 stars
Review of ITC Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ITC Hotel
Ranked #276 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“KO”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

well positioned, next to the tramline 4 and also a canal view. the asian girl from the reception was very nice and we could make a switch to get another room. the room was very small, but the bathroom had about 0.5 squared m and we couldn't possibly use it. also the sheets seemed not so cleaned. it's ok only if u use the hotel room for depositing the luggage. i would not recommend a stay here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank swarthofole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    138
    139
    68
    80
See reviews for
43
130
97
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The ITC is a typical -a bit shabby- bed & breakfast.It also is a cosy spot located in a perfect area close to central Amsterdam, red district and main commercial streets, but far enough to not to notice the sometimes disturbing touristic buzz that comes with all that.

Our room was not ready when we arrived at noon but we could leave our luggage there (right in the middle of the lobby next to the other guest's suitcases...that was a bit concerning). Came back at 2pm -check in time- and our room was perfectly ready. It was a beautiful, big enough for two cosy room on the 2nd floor, private bathroom, double bed and window overlooking the canal at Princegracht street. I had already asked for this and I have to say the responded to what I asked for, even tho they never replied to my emails.

They made me pay the whole stay upfront during check in, even though the room was not ready. Fair, but not nice. Check out was very quick and smooth. We did not have breakfast in the b&b, it was 7.5€ each but I don't think it is worthy. The atmosphere is nice tho.

The blonde girl at reception was very accommodating and helpful, offering free wifi access, city maps, etc. You can also print your Boarding Pass at reception.

The maids cleaned our room every morning, changed the towels (two per person) and tidied our room. Heating is great, you could go for a walk in the afternoon, leave it switched on, and find the room hot enough once you are back in the evening. Shower was surprisingly good, perfect temperature and correct pressure. I could not fit my legs inside the bathroom though (this was fun).

If I am back in Amsterdam, I will definitely go back to the ITC!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RGSerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a triple room on the 2nd floor (steep stairs, no lift) that was very basic...more like a hostel room than a hotel. Breakfast was good and convenient
The location though is great, just next to tramline 4 and on a very picturesque canal street. It was easy to walk to the museums (about 20 minutes to the Rijksmuseum)

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank jenniferp70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We felt a bit mislead with the how the hotel described itself online and were a bit surprised when we we directed to the "townhouse across at our other hotel across the road". It did not look any of the pictures online and has not been serviced yet. You could not swing a cat in our room!

Oh the plus side, the hotel ("hostel") is located in a quiet and hip part of Amsterdam. We loved this area. We have since found out that it is very expensive to get accommodation in Amsterdam city, so overall this was okay, especailly if you out alot. Just make sure you get a room facing the canal , as you can open the windows and enjoy the view.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing the canal or don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francaussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The location is wonderful. Stay on the first floor (no elevator for luggage and the stairs are tight and steep) and ask for the river view, i switched rooms and the river view is wonderful! Clean (even shared shower & bathroom) and affordable!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Rola Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Small main building overlooks the Prinsengracht Canal on a relatively quiet street. Continental breakfast (not buffet-style) is adequate and good value at 7.5 euros. (Just 3 two-seat tables available in canal-view alcove.)

Convenient location for canal strolls, dining and catching trams. There's also a tempting herring stand just steps away!

Those are the only positive comments because we were bumped to a highly undesirable second-floor room above a yogurt shop half a block away on a thoroughfare with heavy pedestrian and vehicle traffic -- including clanging trolley service from 7 a.m. to midnight. Keeping the window shut wasn't an option, as the bare-bones rooms (more like a cell) lack air conditioning or ceiling fans, (Speaking of windows, they're old and open only a few inches when propped up with a small holder.)

We were awakened repeatedly by drunken revelers from nearby Rembrant Plein (square) and by the ding-dinging cable cars.

The room, though clean, was uncomfortable. No desk, outside phone, desk or wall-mounted hair dryer (had to request one from desk).

Definitely undeserving of 3 stars -- a laughable over-rating, though we were hardly felt like laughing.

Room Tip: Insist that lodging in main building is guaranteed, or book elsewhere. Trust me on this -- it should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan_Stamm_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#290 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#284 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#311 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#237 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#214 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#253 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Hotel

Property: ITC Hotel
Address: Prinsengracht 1051, 1017 JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ITC Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your ITC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing