We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KO”
Review of ITC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ITC Hotel
Ranked #272 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

well positioned, next to the tramline 4 and also a canal view. the asian girl from the reception was very nice and we could make a switch to get another room. the room was very small, but the bathroom had about 0.5 squared m and we couldn't possibly use it. also the sheets seemed not so cleaned. it's ok only if u use the hotel room for depositing the luggage. i would not recommend a stay here.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank swarthofole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 597 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The ITC is a typical -a bit shabby- bed & breakfast.It also is a cosy spot located in a perfect area close to central Amsterdam, red district and main commercial streets, but far enough to not to notice the sometimes disturbing touristic buzz that comes with all that.

Our room was not ready when we arrived at noon but we could leave our luggage there (right in the middle of the lobby next to the other guest's suitcases...that was a bit concerning). Came back at 2pm -check in time- and our room was perfectly ready. It was a beautiful, big enough for two cosy room on the 2nd floor, private bathroom, double bed and window overlooking the canal at Princegracht street. I had already asked for this and I have to say the responded to what I asked for, even tho they never replied to my emails.

They made me pay the whole stay upfront during check in, even though the room was not ready. Fair, but not nice. Check out was very quick and smooth. We did not have breakfast in the b&b, it was 7.5€ each but I don't think it is worthy. The atmosphere is nice tho.

The blonde girl at reception was very accommodating and helpful, offering free wifi access, city maps, etc. You can also print your Boarding Pass at reception.

The maids cleaned our room every morning, changed the towels (two per person) and tidied our room. Heating is great, you could go for a walk in the afternoon, leave it switched on, and find the room hot enough once you are back in the evening. Shower was surprisingly good, perfect temperature and correct pressure. I could not fit my legs inside the bathroom though (this was fun).

If I am back in Amsterdam, I will definitely go back to the ITC!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGSerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed in a triple room on the 2nd floor (steep stairs, no lift) that was very basic...more like a hostel room than a hotel. Breakfast was good and convenient
The location though is great, just next to tramline 4 and on a very picturesque canal street. It was easy to walk to the museums (about 20 minutes to the Rijksmuseum)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank jenniferp70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We felt a bit mislead with the how the hotel described itself online and were a bit surprised when we we directed to the "townhouse across at our other hotel across the road". It did not look any of the pictures online and has not been serviced yet. You could not swing a cat in our room!

Oh the plus side, the hotel ("hostel") is located in a quiet and hip part of Amsterdam. We loved this area. We have since found out that it is very expensive to get accommodation in Amsterdam city, so overall this was okay, especailly if you out alot. Just make sure you get a room facing the canal , as you can open the windows and enjoy the view.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing the canal or don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank francaussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The location is wonderful. Stay on the first floor (no elevator for luggage and the stairs are tight and steep) and ask for the river view, i switched rooms and the river view is wonderful! Clean (even shared shower & bathroom) and affordable!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Rola Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Small main building overlooks the Prinsengracht Canal on a relatively quiet street. Continental breakfast (not buffet-style) is adequate and good value at 7.5 euros. (Just 3 two-seat tables available in canal-view alcove.)

Convenient location for canal strolls, dining and catching trams. There's also a tempting herring stand just steps away!

Those are the only positive comments because we were bumped to a highly undesirable second-floor room above a yogurt shop half a block away on a thoroughfare with heavy pedestrian and vehicle traffic -- including clanging trolley service from 7 a.m. to midnight. Keeping the window shut wasn't an option, as the bare-bones rooms (more like a cell) lack air conditioning or ceiling fans, (Speaking of windows, they're old and open only a few inches when propped up with a small holder.)

We were awakened repeatedly by drunken revelers from nearby Rembrant Plein (square) and by the ding-dinging cable cars.

The room, though clean, was uncomfortable. No desk, outside phone, desk or wall-mounted hair dryer (had to request one from desk).

Definitely undeserving of 3 stars -- a laughable over-rating, though we were hardly felt like laughing.

Room Tip: Insist that lodging in main building is guaranteed, or book elsewhere. Trust me on this -- it should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan_Stamm_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#305 of 374 in Amsterdam
485 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#311 of 374 in Amsterdam
661 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
#289 of 374 in Amsterdam
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#265 of 374 in Amsterdam
212 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#309 of 374 in Amsterdam
377 reviews
Vondelpark
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#208 of 374 in Amsterdam
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Hotel

Address: Princegracht 1051, 1017 JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $66 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ITC Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your ITC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing