We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do not expect more than bed & breakfast”
Review of ITC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ITC Hotel
Ranked #271 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this hotel in this month ( June). The room was small but enough for just spending nights. Bed sheets were clean but the room not. Bathroom was too small, washbasin was in the room not in the bathroom. Hot water was always available. But internet connection had always problem. The stairs were so steep like most hotel in Amsterdam. Location was good, walking distance from center, cafes and pubs. We didn’t have breakfast but as I see from other guests it was nice. The worst thing during our stay was NOISE. Walls and windows were in bad position, all noise from inside of hotel and outside were in the room. To sum up, if I have chance to visit Amsterdam, I won’t stay this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aysenurust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 602 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this hotel which by british standards is little more than a 2 star. We had asked for a smoking room with tea and coffee facilities, which we had to ask for again when we got there. The room had 3 windows each looking out towards a high wall we could see the sky only if we crouched down and looked up with head fully back! The whole room seemed to slope, from the semi-circle table attached to the wall (badly as it sloped downwards) to the mattress on the bed which sloped fairly badly so i almost rolled out a few times! The lady on reception was lovely however the chinese/asian man was like Manuel from fawlty towers, when i asked for an ashtray we got first a bowl and then a cup??? The room was cleaned once while we were there, nothing was replenished or replaced also the chambermaids work til 5 so if you want a siesta good luck!! The hotel website states a bar and lounge to relax in ...i dont think so its the reception area and when we asked about the bar were told they dont have one. Breakfast is served next to reception not a nice place to relax, and as they are currently decorating even less appealing! Bits of skirting missing, curtains not hung completely and general wear and tear in the bedroom makes it rather depressing. The bathroom was a wetroom which is a pain if you need to go in after someone else, and the bathroom doors are louvre doors which have no handles inside so you either have to leave the doors ajar or someone has to close them for you,they also didnt provide much privacy. Its not the worst hotel i have ever stayed in but tbh for the money it wasnt great. The location however was perfect, a leafy neighbourhood, Rembrandtplein ten mins away, shame the hotel didnt live up to expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steffi42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Laurel P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Inge G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Like many others here i stayed in the House opposite the main hotel. When i arrived i first walked upstairs just to realize that my room is in the basement. Little narrow room , small bed and the toilet and shower was 1 floor up. And yes there is only 1 shower/toilet for the 10 rooms!! When i first came in i was a bit "shocked" , i wanted to call reception to get another room, but the phone wasnt working. And i was too tired to go back to the hotel. Once in bed, you see feets passing by the window and not only see them , you hear them too. Lucky me i brought my earplugs !! ... way to expensive for what it is. Amstedam goes New York ...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bubuzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Firstly some internet searches and publications list this as a gay hotel. It is NOT a gay hotel. The only resources there for gay travellers were a couple of out of date maps. There are 2 sides to this hotel. We pre booked on the internet and gave a credit card for a deposit. Once we did that we were trapped by their cancellation policy. We stayed 5 nights and were given a room downstairs at the back of the main hotel. The room was large, it was summer, the was a small fan that sounded like a plane taking off. The only ventilation was from a window without screen that opened onto a roof littered with cigarette butts, stagnant water in drain pipes and a couple of used condoms. With the window open we got devoured by mosquitoes and the walls and ceiling were smeared with the blood and remains of mosquitoes squahed by previous guests. No attempt was made to clean them. We asked for another room but were told there was none. I said I had noticed a better room at the front was vacant and was told that room was for 3 people not 2 and a lot more expensive. The next day I heard the receptionist rent the room to a single woman who walked in off the street and the rate was about 2/3 of what we were paying for a vastly inferior room. We also heard another man who had booked in advance and was tied into their cancellation policy leave his room and move to another hotel because it was so bad. The receptionist spoke to the "boss" over the phone and the boss said that the man would be charged for his full stay even though he was not going to be there and later that day I heard the receptionist let the room at a greatly reduced rate to someone who phoned up and then arrived from the station without booking ahead.
There are some ok rooms at this hotel but they seem to be reserved for walk ins and people who book on the day. Those who book in advance are given inferior rooms at inflated rates because they are captives to the cancellation policy whllst those who are not tied into the cancellation policy are treated very differently with better rooms at cheaper rates.
Also when we were there, there was a street festival on. The street were packed with drunk people and the owner opened the toilets in the hotel to the public, charging people 2 euros each to use them. This meant queues of drunk loud people in the corridors and that the guests sharing these facilities had to wait in a line. In addition despite heavy volume of use there was no extra cleaning of the toilets.

Room Tip: Dont book in advance. Ask to see the room first and go for a room at the front and in the main hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#305 of 373 in Amsterdam
489 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#311 of 373 in Amsterdam
665 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#228 of 373 in Amsterdam
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#259 of 373 in Amsterdam
213 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
#288 of 373 in Amsterdam
491 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#184 of 373 in Amsterdam
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Hotel

Address: Princegracht 1051, 1017 JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $62 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ITC Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ITC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing