We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean, dull depressing room”
Review of ITC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ITC Hotel
Ranked #270 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Basic, clean, dull depressing room”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this hotel which by british standards is little more than a 2 star. We had asked for a smoking room with tea and coffee facilities, which we had to ask for again when we got there. The room had 3 windows each looking out towards a high wall we could see the sky only if we crouched down and looked up with head fully back! The whole room seemed to slope, from the semi-circle table attached to the wall (badly as it sloped downwards) to the mattress on the bed which sloped fairly badly so i almost rolled out a few times! The lady on reception was lovely however the chinese/asian man was like Manuel from fawlty towers, when i asked for an ashtray we got first a bowl and then a cup??? The room was cleaned once while we were there, nothing was replenished or replaced also the chambermaids work til 5 so if you want a siesta good luck!! The hotel website states a bar and lounge to relax in ...i dont think so its the reception area and when we asked about the bar were told they dont have one. Breakfast is served next to reception not a nice place to relax, and as they are currently decorating even less appealing! Bits of skirting missing, curtains not hung completely and general wear and tear in the bedroom makes it rather depressing. The bathroom was a wetroom which is a pain if you need to go in after someone else, and the bathroom doors are louvre doors which have no handles inside so you either have to leave the doors ajar or someone has to close them for you,they also didnt provide much privacy. Its not the worst hotel i have ever stayed in but tbh for the money it wasnt great. The location however was perfect, a leafy neighbourhood, Rembrandtplein ten mins away, shame the hotel didnt live up to expectations.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steffi42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    160
    157
    73
    98
See reviews for
47
167
108
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zuerich
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Like many others here i stayed in the House opposite the main hotel. When i arrived i first walked upstairs just to realize that my room is in the basement. Little narrow room , small bed and the toilet and shower was 1 floor up. And yes there is only 1 shower/toilet for the 10 rooms!! When i first came in i was a bit "shocked" , i wanted to call reception to get another room, but the phone wasnt working. And i was too tired to go back to the hotel. Once in bed, you see feets passing by the window and not only see them , you hear them too. Lucky me i brought my earplugs !! ... way to expensive for what it is. Amstedam goes New York ...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubuzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Firstly some internet searches and publications list this as a gay hotel. It is NOT a gay hotel. The only resources there for gay travellers were a couple of out of date maps. There are 2 sides to this hotel. We pre booked on the internet and gave a credit card for a deposit. Once we did that we were trapped by their cancellation policy. We stayed 5 nights and were given a room downstairs at the back of the main hotel. The room was large, it was summer, the was a small fan that sounded like a plane taking off. The only ventilation was from a window without screen that opened onto a roof littered with cigarette butts, stagnant water in drain pipes and a couple of used condoms. With the window open we got devoured by mosquitoes and the walls and ceiling were smeared with the blood and remains of mosquitoes squahed by previous guests. No attempt was made to clean them. We asked for another room but were told there was none. I said I had noticed a better room at the front was vacant and was told that room was for 3 people not 2 and a lot more expensive. The next day I heard the receptionist rent the room to a single woman who walked in off the street and the rate was about 2/3 of what we were paying for a vastly inferior room. We also heard another man who had booked in advance and was tied into their cancellation policy leave his room and move to another hotel because it was so bad. The receptionist spoke to the "boss" over the phone and the boss said that the man would be charged for his full stay even though he was not going to be there and later that day I heard the receptionist let the room at a greatly reduced rate to someone who phoned up and then arrived from the station without booking ahead.
There are some ok rooms at this hotel but they seem to be reserved for walk ins and people who book on the day. Those who book in advance are given inferior rooms at inflated rates because they are captives to the cancellation policy whllst those who are not tied into the cancellation policy are treated very differently with better rooms at cheaper rates.
Also when we were there, there was a street festival on. The street were packed with drunk people and the owner opened the toilets in the hotel to the public, charging people 2 euros each to use them. This meant queues of drunk loud people in the corridors and that the guests sharing these facilities had to wait in a line. In addition despite heavy volume of use there was no extra cleaning of the toilets.

Room Tip: Dont book in advance. Ask to see the room first and go for a room at the front and in the main hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I enjoyed an attic room overlooking the canal, the room was clean and just enough room for a single. It was mid february when the canals were frozen over, with a slight draft from the opening window, however adequate heating made the room comfy. Staff were helpful and friendly, WiFi was free in the room and in the reception dining area. I spent three nights here and would definitely return. One staff member told me a story late one evening about this building having secret partitions where people had been hidden during the Nazi Occupation. He couldn't show me them but it was a good story. Being more of a beer person, the staff told me of places nearby to enjoy the broad range of Dutch beers. There are two very good french restaurants nearby and good breakfast coffee cafes. If you are looking for a good steak and beer restaurant cafe, try Cafe Loetje, also good for fish menu and deserts.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xristo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#295 of 367 in Amsterdam
468 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#300 of 367 in Amsterdam
636 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#294 of 367 in Amsterdam
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#217 of 367 in Amsterdam
277 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#265 of 367 in Amsterdam
203 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#293 of 367 in Amsterdam
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Hotel

Property: ITC Hotel
Address: Princegracht 1051, 1017 JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ITC Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your ITC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing