We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gay Hotel in the Center of Amsterdam”
Review of Amistad Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amistad Hotel
Ranked #61 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Had a wonderful stay at the Amistad Hotel. It is a small hotel with a very friendly and personal touch from all the staff. The room was tight, but very clean with great bathroom ensuite. The access to internet was included as well as the traditional dutch breakfast with the boys. But for sure the location is it's main highlight close to all major sights and bars. Could walk every where you needed to be while staying in the great city of Amsterdam.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank TwoGuysCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 214 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2010

I had a reservation to the Amistad hotel on april 22 and had to cancel it, as the volcanic ash made it impossible to fly into Amsterdam. Of course I should have been more careful in reading there booking conditions, but the end result was that the hotel charged me for two nights (274 euros) for a room I never got to use. Travel insurance was no help here either. Wrote an email to the hotel, but they are quite inflexible if you cancel your reservation. So make sure you go there, or your money will be lost. Next time I will book a hotel with more flexible booking conditions.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JuhaTku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

We had a great stay in the Amistad Hotel, very nice room with great bathroom. We felt at home immediately!! It's like I'm staying at my best friend's house.
woke up earlier just to by in the breakfast room with all the cuteboys. I liked the breakfast a lot.
I'll be back!
Grande beijos São paulo

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brasil1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

The Staff is friendly and helpful. I stayed in the deluxe room and it was clean, warm, own smoking area. My room was located next to their main staircase so everytime someone when up or down you could hear it, loudly. This shouldn't be an issue if you are staying upstairs. All rooms do include a PC for surfing the net, it's included in the room price. If you bring your laptop you can easily connect the land cable to your pc and it works just fine. The location is great, close to everything. Breakfast is included and it's a great place to start meeting other guest and mingle a bit. I will definitely come back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GideonN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

I went to Amsterdam for The New years celebrations, whilst looking for a hotel I found The Amistad Hotel which offers free computers in the rooms, which ment that I could really travel light leaving my laptop and work at home. luckily I didnt need to use the computer exept to check the best cruising places in amsterdam and who was online at gaydar. The hotel is in the perfect location for the parties in the center and next to the Leidse square to get a cheap taxi to the ones outside. I love the staff and my styled room and lets not forget the nespresso coffee at the late breakfast and at 5mins to1 they still served me ;-) I havent been to any other gay hotels in Amsterdam so I cant say its the best but compared to other hotels which I have stayed in elsewhere its right up there.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank party_boy_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2009

A total, complet waste of money for and overrated hotel.

First of all, staff was not this kind and most limited in their servicing maners. They only give you a map with few and ONLY gay tips. If you do not need to be in a gay atmosphere, choose another hotel, where you'll find much much better service and quality-price relation. The breakfast was the POOREST I've ever had in a Hotel in my life.
The tub was not that clean.The door didn't close properly.There were ful ashtreys outside the room.

We've been to amsterdam several times and trust us : there are much better hotels to stay in.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Notcommingback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

This hotel is clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly gay males except for the female housekeeper. For gay travelers it is in a great location - Kerkstraat is fairly gay and it is not a long walk to the Reguliersdwars area. It's more of a trek to the train station, but I walked it. The price is reasonable for this expensive city. One drawback is that it does not have air conditioning. Now it does not get unbearably hot in Amsterdam but I was there for a week and for a few days it was actually hot and the room was a bit uncomfortable due to the heat. Also, there are no amenities like a fitness center but it does not claim to be a five star hotel.
I would stay there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lewisgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#309 of 374 in Amsterdam
377 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#190 of 374 in Amsterdam
339 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#51 of 374 in Amsterdam
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 374 in Amsterdam
5,241 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,976 reviews
Hostelle
#36 of 241 in Amsterdam
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amistad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amistad Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 42, 1017 GM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $88 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amistad Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amistad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amistad Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing