We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Everything is so friendly at Amistad Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amistad Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amistad Hotel
Ranked #60 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Roma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything is so friendly at Amistad Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

I go to Amsterdam every year for business and this is one of the best experience I had in the city. When I arrived, I found my name with a big Welcome on the main door. The bell is directly connected to owner. Immediately the owner arrives with a big smile and positive energy to take us in. He helps me take my bags in the room. The room is the biggest room I have ever had in Amsterdam. Clean, very well equipped and with a good minibar, TV, coffee machine, hair drier, computer, safety box...etc. My room was on a little street, very nice to wake up and start enjoying the city and get the sun light in. Also bed was very very big and comfortable! Best part of our stay at Amistad was breakfast which is SERVED till late! You sit down and they just take very good care of you, with coffee, toasts, eggs, juices...very enjoyable. A coffee shop is right in front of the hotel if you like and you have easy access to a very good shopping area. Hotel is definitively gay friendly. You can tell from the care of details, cool look of the rooms and excellent service...from beginning to the end. I recommend this hotel even to very demanding business travelers who also need to relax!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Resinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    55
    12
    15
    14
See reviews for
2
64
51
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

I can't recommend this hotel enough, the staff were wonderful, the breakfast set up was great, our room was spacious and clean. Great location, computer in room and would stay there again for sure!!! A+

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brothersun86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

The rooms are quite small. That might be okay but especially the doors are very bad insulated. So, if somebody is walking along the corridor the stairs or entering the room beside your room it's like somebody is walking directly through your bed. In conclusion I woke up every night several times because somebody was entering the neighbor's room.
Clearness of the floor could be better.
Breakfast was quite cheap supermarket quality: no fresh breakfast rolls no croissant. The omelette were really tasty. The service quality was very much dependent of the guy who was in charge and his mood.
So, to come to a conclusion: Amsterdam has very outrageous hotel prices. But 188 € was to much for a small and loud hotel room together with a lousy breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WrongPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Starting from the location (Leidsplain) where shopping,restaurants,Cafes,Museums,Night life and more is only a few steps away! not to mention public transport (Trams & buses) only a few feet away.

the hotel is a cozy small and very friendly Gay and straight friendly with Amazing and lovely Staff starting with the owner Joost and the Manager Mike & the Lovely Dikky who are so happy to help and serve in anyway.

The rooms are lovely with free wifi,small fridge,DVD player and flat TV with international and local channels,tea & coffee and a PC to use (in case you forgot ur laptop or iPad)

the best part for me is breakfast were it is served on a huge table were you can meet all the guests and enjoy a lovely chat or share tips about where to go and what to do.

I have been staying in this hotel since 2009 and would never stay anywhere else anytime am in Amsterdam (I visit almost 4 times a year and have been in so many hotels)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Q8Rainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nice, clean rooms. Very friendly staff. Lovely breakfast too and they serve it until quite late (12h), which was perfect for us. Right across from a "Coffeshop", if you are into that sort of thing ;) .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed at Amistad over Pride weekend. We requested the room on the ground floor having stayed in this same room on a previous visit. The room is very good size with a private, en suite bath. The hotel is in a fantastic location. It is a 15-20 minute walk to Centraal Station. There are three tram lines that run on the cross street, very very close. It's so centrally located, we only rode the tram twice in 12 days, which was to and from the train station when we had our luggage. After reading some other reviews, I am pretty baffled about anyone who complains that it was far away from nightlife. There are bars on the same block, and about 3 or 4 block away. Yes, there are other bars, up near the Red Light District, that are farther away, so I guess if you MUST go to those bars, then it's a bit of a longer walk (15 minutes, maybe).

Breakfast in the mornings is very hearty, with eggs (cooked to order), fresh breads, meats and cheese. A nice assortment of jams and jellies, cereals, fruit, and coffee/tea. No reason to start your day hungry. There is a safe and a refrigerator in this particular room, and a computer. Mike, Dikky, and Joost were all very helpful with answering questions about the better way(s) to get somewhere or tips to avoid lines, etc. Be advised, there is no air conditioning. There was a fan in the room, which helped greatly, but during our stay it did get very hot (probably the hottest day of the summer). Luckily it was only 2 days that it was really hot weather. The rest of the time, the fan was really all we needed. Would rate "excellent" if there was air conditioning. In spite of that, we will definitely stay again on our future trips to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlngrdgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I had a very enjoyable stay here recently. All the staff I met were very friendly and they served a large breakfast till 1pm included in the price of the room. Ideal for those out on the town late the night before! The room I stayed in was probably the most basic in the hotel but the price reflected this. It still contained a small double bed despite being called a single room. But there was a free safe in the room for valuables as well as a TV and fridge. The hotel is very central in Amsterdam and it's easy to walk everywhere; I only used the trams when arriving and going home. I did find it a little bit noisy at night but then in the centre of the city you can't really complain. I will definitely stay here again when I next visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#272 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#64 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#276 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#77 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#36 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#194 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amistad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amistad Hotel

Property: Amistad Hotel
Address: Kerkstraat 42, 1017 GM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Amistad Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Amistad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amistad Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing