We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amistad Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$406
$367
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$379
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$238
ibis
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$260
$224
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
The Toren(Amsterdam)
$478
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$323
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$514
$313
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$433
$333
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$1,139
$496
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$326
$276
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveler rating
104
64
13
17
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
64
13
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgay clubsen suite bathgreat locationgreat hostsother gueststhe main hotelfirst floorcold cutsnoisy at nightcentral locationno liftbreakfast was deliciousmajor attractionsfour nightsclean hoteltram stopenjoyed my stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 214 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I had a very enjoyable stay here recently. All the staff I met were very friendly and they served a large breakfast till 1pm included in the price of the room. Ideal for those out on the town late the night before! The room I stayed in was probably the most basic in the hotel but the price reflected this. It still contained a small double bed despite being called a single room. But there was a free safe in the room for valuables as well as a TV and fridge. The hotel is very central in Amsterdam and it's easy to walk everywhere; I only used the trams when arriving and going home. I did find it a little bit noisy at night but then in the centre of the city you can't really complain. I will definitely stay here again when I next visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

this hotel is in a great location in amsterdam and next to a tram stop for travel within city. The breakfast and the person serving it are as good as it gets in any hotel, The gentleman also is very knowledgeable of the gay scene. The rooms are a climb which is no problem and they assist you but the rooms are dated and could use some refreshing

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddypittman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just returned from a 7 night stay at The Amistad, had the single room on the ground floor - ideal if you don't like steps (like Me), I was very surprised how quiet the room was being only about 70M from three main tram lines.
For an Amsterdam single room this was very spacious, very comfortable double bed with lots of large pillows, large bathroom and lots of storage space including a safe which although small in size did accommodate my 13in MacBook Air and many other bit and pieces.
Arriving at the hotel I was greeted like a long lost friend by Joost, this friendly but professional approach continued for the entire stay with all the various 'team' members i encountered - it was like staying with 'family' - only a lot better!!!
I would recommend The Amistad to any gay guys requiring decent, clean accommodation in the city centre, close to all amenities.
Finally, it also seems to attract a decent type of client of all ages - I'm 66 and felt a lot younger being in their company - an excellent highly recommended hotel (but a little bit more).
I will return!!!

Room Tip: The single room on the ground floor is excellent!!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

For those not familiar with Amsterdam, this property is located in a great location. It is just a half block of one of the primary shopping and tram corridors. Numerous trams from the train station run nearby every hour (you do not hear them). The flower market is a couple of blocks away. If you choose not to use the trams, the museum district is about 10 or so minutes away. There are numerous restaurants also within just a couple of minutes.

Joost is a great host and he makes a great "made to order" breakfast.

Room Tip: As a general rule, all hotel rooms in the Netherlands are, regardless of the price, smaller than most American's will view as "standard". The hotel will promptly respond to emails on booking questions and they have a variety of room classifications for your to choose from.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HornsAndTail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this Hotel was great, staff, service, breakfast. Can't say enough good things. Certainly helped make my first visit to Amsterdam not be my last. The location could not have been better, close to everything.Highly recommend !

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pisarola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews