We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Overrated” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocomama

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cocomama
Ranked #21 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overrated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

I get that hostels in Amsterdam are pricey. And admittedly, this hostel has a lot of small touches that add up: the Wifi was great, my bed had its own socket to charge my phone, the lockers were spacious, the map tour was useful, there's an adorable cat, etc. There was nothing wrong with my stay.

But I fail to see what completely amazes other reviewers about this hostel and I don't think all of the amenities combined justify the price. I would sooner recommend any of the other hostels I stayed at in Europe where I endured minor inconveniences but got a full free breakfast (not limited to cereal), just as friendly staff, and a much more reasonable price.

Also, be warned that some of the hostel arranged activities are really expensive, or at least they were during my stay. For instance, the sex show was 40 euros. I don't expect something like that to be cheap, but given that many guests are on a tight budget I would have thought cheaper options were called for.

I would stay again if I couldn't find something less expensive, but I found Cocomama overrated.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alinka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    81
    22
    10
    4
See reviews for
8
62
186
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

This hostel is beautiful. It's in an old town house, slightly out of the hustle and bustle of central Amsterdam. The staff are the loveliest, eager to give recommendations, and get you out and about to see what Amsterdam has to offer. There is always something on in the hostel, making it easy to meet people. Beds have their own lights, and the kitchen is fully equipped.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

I spent 6 nights at Cocomama and was happy with the hostel - the room was good, the bathroom was always clean (which is a big deal to me) and the bed was comfortable. I liked the staff, they were all welcoming (gave me a full intro to the city on my arrival) and ready to answer my questions. Joop the cat was also happy to say hello. The hostel has a good kitchen, which I ended up not using, but you can certainly prepare food for yourself if that is your preference. I also liked the location, a 10 minute walk from the very centre, and it is also very well connected with trams. I quite like the fact that getting to and from the airport is really painless. The hostel is a bit pricey, but I think that is just how it is in Amsterdam - accomodation is an expense - supply and demand...Oh, and also, they have excellent wi fi, did not have any issues with the connection. I would definitely stay at Cocomama again :)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skara81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with 3 friends for 2 nights. The first night we were suggested to go for a walk around the red light district, as we didn't want to do the arranged "sex show" activity. The second night we went with the hostel on a bar crawl. It was made out as if we got far more free drinks than reality.

The room was very tidy with clever cubby holes next to your bed. The bathroom was quite small. One morning we woke up to find a missing shower curtain.

The staff were exceptionally kind and welcoming, giving a very good overview of the city on arrival.

The communal areas were tidy too. Free cereal and pasta is a great idea!

The price is quite high, towards the highest for hostels in the city, but worth it if price is less of an issue.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Will E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Not just for the young ones; for the young at heart too. My sister and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at Cocomama and can only say good things about the place. The people are incredibly friendly, both staff and other guests, love the 'honestly shelf' in the kitchen, fresh clean sheets on each of the beds as well as clean bathrooms and decants showers. We used both the bikes and trams to get around and were really impressed with how friendly everyone was, either those that weren't smoking!

Cant recommend it enough and hope to return. Thanks Cocomama x

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieT3922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Cocomama is a really nice place in Amsterdam. It's set on a great location: near the tram and near nice spots of Amsterdam. Nice people, good atmosphere, sociable common room and great bedrooms: very comfortable beds (but véry small...). However, a price of 38 euros for a bed in a 6 bed dorm, is far too much, even though it's a really nice hostel and I know house prices in Amsterdam are very very high, you simply can't ask that for a bed in a dorm with even no breakfast included (there are cereals, but no milk or yogurt to put in in for example). I slept very well there and I like the place (and it was my own choice to sleep here), but to be fair to your guests, I'd say: increase the price with 25%.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

The staff was very friendly, and if you don't mind walking then this is a great place outside of where all the action is going on in Amsterdam. I walked everywhere, and if the weather is nice then it is no problem. The rooms are much smaller than the average hostel, but the bathrooms are much cleaner than the average hostel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#69 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Generator Amsterdam
#6 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Plantage & the East
Ecomama Hotel
Ecomama Hotel
#13 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
CityHub
#3 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#9 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocomama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocomama

Property: Cocomama
Address: Westeinde 18, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cocomama 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocomama offers the best of both worlds in a super central location in Amsterdam. The luxury and comfort of a hotel and the atmosphere (and budget) of a hostel. The rooms are all Holland themed and range from private doubles to 6-bed dorms (and everything in between). You might share a bathroom in some of the dorms, but those luxurious mattresses and feather duvets are everywhere. Even more importantly, at MAMA, you're not on your own. Travel stories are shared, as is the dinner table. It's a place where you'll make friends and hang out with other international trotters alike in the private garden, living room, cinema, or cook dinner in the fully-equipped kitchen (perfect to keep costs down). And if that doesn't keep you busy enough, the staff organises tons of activities, and Joop (the adorable house cat, a.k.a. man of the house), is there to get cuddled 24/7 too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cocomama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocomama Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing