We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people and location”
Review of Cocomama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cocomama
Ranked #25 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great people and location”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Im not going to say it was a perfect stay- a few things went wrong but I ultimately the staff do everything they can to remedy issues and make guests happy. The facilities are great, WIFI right to top floor, common room with cooking facilities and free consumables like Pasta and oil etc, lovely garden. Organised Events are cool- staff always join in and some live in the hostel to so hang out with guests in the common room. Location is easy with a tram stop just down from hostel. Overall great hostel.

Room Tip: I was in traffic room 4 Person mixed- good as only one set of Bunks and 2 Singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    87
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
9
71
196
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2014

To start off, I have never written review before, but I had such an amazing experience at Cocomama that I decided I had to rave about it. I stayed here while on a grant trip through Holland. I have stayed at many hostels, and you never know quite what to expect. This hostel is clean, and has great facilities. It is in a very centrally located area. The rooms are beautiful, and the wi-fi flows freely (literally). While all the basic accommodations were great, far surpassing those of most hostels, the best part of my stay was the atmosphere. The hostel leaders were friendly, knowledgeable, and willing to offer any help or advice that they could. In addition, they plan activities like pub crawls and tours of the red light district, so that people travelling alone (like I was) can get together. This is a safe hostel offering a unique and wonderful experience! Totally worth the money! I would urge anyone considering a hostel (or even a hotel) in Amsterdam to look no further!

Room Tip: The private room is nice. A bit pricier, but it has its own private bathroom and is right next to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

On the positive side, it was clean, the beds were comfortable, and you can pretty much live off of the free pasta/leftovers people leave in the fridge. On the negative side, the rooms are not very sound-proof and the halls are resonant so you could hear drunk people coming home at all hours of the night, they have a cat they don't mention in the booking which was a problem from an allergy standpoint, and the beds were extremely creaky. Overall it wasn't bad and it's pretty perfect for the college-student population.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmbrownrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lotje H, Owner at Cocomama, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear guest,

We are sorry to read you were disappointed with your stay. Our cat's presence is very clearly announced on our website and booking websites. Beside that, he is not allowed in guest rooms, he mostly sleeps in a corner of our living room and we offer allergy pills free of charge to anyone with allergies.
As for the noise, this is not a complaint we receive frequently but we wil happily investigate and include your comments in our next refurbishment plans.
We are curious how you came to give us a 2 star "poor" review when the conclusion of your review is "not bad, and actually pretty perfect for a college student".
We hope you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam regardless of the noise and cat allergies.
Kind regards,

Lotje H. & team Cocomama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Made to feel very welcome on arrival and throughout the stay by the staff. Good communal area, free coffee & tea available. We stayed in the Tulip room which was very comfortable and well equipped including Bluetooth speakers. Only downside is that it was at the front, on the street so a bit noisy with people outside in the early hours and the roadworks starting at 7am. Overall though great stay!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beaujingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Simply the best hostel I have ever stayed in, yes its more expensive than most hostels but it is totally worth it.

Staff are fantastic always happy to help, Nicky, Moo and all the others

Beds are comfy, rooms are clean with a great common room and garden.

Stay here you wont regret it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djbowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Cocomama is a fabulous hostel! So cosy, feels very much like home as soon as you get there. Love the unmarked entrance- they give you a key also so you can come and go as you please. It's not right in the centre of the city, but that's a good thing because Amsterdam is so small it's very easy and quick to walk everywhere anyway. It also means its a bit more chilled out too which is nice. Dorms are nice, and they often organise events for guests which are fun. Anyway, great hostel! Perfect for solo travellers and those looking to meet people.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Herenion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Description: 4 person mixed room
This was a good place to stay:
-There were clean bathrooms in the rooms, which were also clean
-Beds were made, with a large warm comforter provided
-There is a kitchen to cook food with free coffee, tea and rice at all times
-It is clean and the staff is incredible nice
-The directions on the website are excellent and made getting there from the train station easy.

Over all this was a very good hostel. There is no breakfast but there is a grocery store across the street as well as ATMs. In the common area there is a well supplied kitchen, kitchen benches, sofas and a TV. I can recommend this place, although just incase, it is brothel themed with a lot of nude pictures in the rooms and at reception. It is not too long of a walk into the city but I recommend buy a 24hour tram pass for 7.60. It works for the Metro, buses and trams and since the city is deceptively large and very windy, it is nice to be able to get on a nice warm tram and see the city in comfort while you get to where you are going.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassierh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Ecomama Hotel
Ecomama Hotel
#14 of 231 in Amsterdam
256 reviews
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#10 of 231 in Amsterdam
525 reviews
ClinkNOORD
#9 of 231 in Amsterdam
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
CityHub
#3 of 231 in Amsterdam
291 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#7 of 231 in Amsterdam
808 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocomama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocomama

Property: Cocomama
Address: Westeinde 18, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cocomama 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocomama offers the best of both worlds in a super central location in Amsterdam. The luxury and comfort of a hotel and the atmosphere (and budget) of a hostel. The rooms are all Holland themed and range from private doubles to 6-bed dorms (and everything in between). You might share a bathroom in some of the dorms, but those luxurious mattresses and feather duvets are everywhere. Even more importantly, at MAMA, you're not on your own. Travel stories are shared, as is the dinner table. It's a place where you'll make friends and hang out with other international trotters alike in the private garden, living room, cinema, or cook dinner in the fully-equipped kitchen (perfect to keep costs down). And if that doesn't keep you busy enough, the staff organises tons of activities, and Joop (the adorable house cat, a.k.a. man of the house), is there to get cuddled 24/7 too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Cocomama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocomama Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing