We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel in Amsterdam.”
Review of Cocomama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cocomama
Ranked #25 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Hostel in Amsterdam.”
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

This was my first time ever travailing alone and my first hostel and it was amazing. There are no words to describe how much I miss it. The rooms are grate & the common area is fantastic as it gives you a chance to meet other travellers. I had a fabulous time & will be back in mid August. I can't wait to be home :)

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bradley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    87
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
9
71
196
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you're looking to stay at a place with gorgeous women running it and amazing rooms to stay in. This is it. Unfortunately my friends and I only had the chance to stay one night before leaving but parting was such sweet sorrow...thanks for the pasta dinner and the wine.
Cheers <3

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ghriscallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Beach, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I stayed at Cocomama with my partner for 4 nights in Feb. We had a brilliant time from start to finish. The hostel has a very cosy, personal feeling from all the guests and especially the staff. The common area made it very easy to meet other travellers and the staff organise activities for every night. It felt more like a home than it did a hostel. The rooms are a little tight but it wasn't a problem for us at all. It's a short walk or a quick tram ride to the main square. So if you don't mind being just out of dam square then this is the place for you!

We will definitely be back! Thank you Cocomama!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrTPearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere is amazing. Very friendly staff and activities every night. The common area is always full of people who are easy going and talkative. I had a fantastic stay there. Not to mention it is very clean! And the beds are easily the most comfortable I've slept in at a hostel- especially the pillows!

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissyKelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Why would you stay anywhere else? I loved this place - the staff go above and beyond to be helpful and make everyone feel incredibly welcome, there's a great lounge room for when the weather's no good, you can rent a bike for five euros, the other guests staying there were lovely, there's a social event every night - whether it's a pub crawl or pasta night - so you're never short of things to do. One warning: it's so good that no other hostel will ever feel good enough again. Stay here and you'll wish you never had to carry on.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I was just at Cocomama last week, at the end of my 6 week Euro trip and it was easily the best hostel I stayed in. Franchise hostels get the job done, but Cocomama was different. The atmosphere is the thing that makes it a class above. It's just so friendly. They organise awesome events each night, like pub crawls, dinner nights, wine nights and nights out.
I just had the best time there and felt comfortable and safe, whilst meeting so many people.
The staff were so lovely and amazing. They were always around to talk as well if no one else was.
You must stay here if you're in Amsterdam.
Mitch - Straya xx.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a theme, so it's fun, whichever room you get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MitchStrayaHex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Cocomama was an absolute delight to visit, the staff are all lovely, and the hostel itself lovely. I stayed in the well equipped Brothel room (6 bed dorm), which had decent size lockers, and a great ensuite- but you'd be crazy to spend any time there when they offer such an amazing common room. Really well equipped with fridge for storing food, as well as an honesty bar, stove with free pasta on offer, a couple of 6 seater tables and a great comfy lounge and ipod dock for music. It was tempting to just stay in rather than leave!

Each night they offer a different activity I'd recommend everyone gets involved with, I was a solo traveller and met some wonderful people.

Couldn't recommend Cocomama enough!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick_Burgess89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Ecomama Hotel
Ecomama Hotel
#14 of 231 in Amsterdam
256 reviews
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#10 of 231 in Amsterdam
525 reviews
ClinkNOORD
#9 of 231 in Amsterdam
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
CityHub
#3 of 231 in Amsterdam
291 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#7 of 231 in Amsterdam
809 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocomama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocomama

Property: Cocomama
Address: Westeinde 18, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cocomama 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocomama offers the best of both worlds in a super central location in Amsterdam. The luxury and comfort of a hotel and the atmosphere (and budget) of a hostel. The rooms are all Holland themed and range from private doubles to 6-bed dorms (and everything in between). You might share a bathroom in some of the dorms, but those luxurious mattresses and feather duvets are everywhere. Even more importantly, at MAMA, you're not on your own. Travel stories are shared, as is the dinner table. It's a place where you'll make friends and hang out with other international trotters alike in the private garden, living room, cinema, or cook dinner in the fully-equipped kitchen (perfect to keep costs down). And if that doesn't keep you busy enough, the staff organises tons of activities, and Joop (the adorable house cat, a.k.a. man of the house), is there to get cuddled 24/7 too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Cocomama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocomama Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing