We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cocomama
Nearby Hotels
$406
$367
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$379
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$238
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$260
$224
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
The Toren(Amsterdam)
$478
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$323
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$514
$313
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$433
$333
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$1,139
$496
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$326
$276
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (502)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveler rating
361
94
28
12
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
94
28
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roomhostel catcoco mamahonesty fridgeroyal roomboutique hostelmeet other travellersresident catbunk bedsthe red light districtcommon areasother guestslounge areatram stoprent bikeswalking distanceprivate bathroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 502 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I guess that is the best way to put it! it definitely felt like being at home, the place is unbelievably cosy and home like, the staff friendly and always ready to help you out and the whole experience just felt great! all the people we met just got drawn into this atmosphere, and I would say its probably the best hostel i have ever stayed at. Highly recommended, 6 out of 5 stars!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Juan4aigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Whilst the price is quite expensive for the facilities the amazing hospitality of the staff and small homely feel of the place make it well worth it. I would certainly like to stay again at Cocomama when I visit Amsterdam next.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed for three nights in mid-October. It was definitely one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. The atmosphere, people, and location were top notch.
The hostel is fairly new, clean and and nicely decorated. I stayed in a two bed dorm that was really great. The upper bed had it's own loft area instead of just the regular bunk bed style. There was an ensuite bathroom that was spacious and very clean. The staff is great to chat with and very helpful in helping you find activities for your time in town. Even though it seems like the hostel is a bit far out from the red light district and Centraal Station, it is still very walkable or a short train ride away.
I traveled solo, and it was a great place to meet other travelers to go out with. Everyone was super friendly. The common area is a nice place to hang out, they have free pasta and rice, and cheap beer in the fridge. They coordinate daily hostel activities such as pub crawls and family style dinners.
I seriously have no complaints, I had great time and would love to come back some day.

Room Tip: The 2 bed dorm wasn't much more than the 4 person dorm, but way more private and quiet. You can hear people come up and down the stairs, but other than that it was quiet and easy to sleep.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hostel was great! I was able to walk to everything, the beds were comfy and the hostel
had everything I needed. There's a great kitchen/ common room area and a good atmosphere. Everyone was really friendly and the staff were really helpful!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackattack10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I had the best time here. Cocomama has the absolute best staff, who are fun, friendly, and helpful. Britt deserves special mention for being a total boss. The hostel has a great location- in a great part of the city, but outside the red light district, so you can sleep if you want to or go out if you don't. Easy access to public transit, and excellent food nearby, for all different budgets. I had a lower one, and I loved a kebab place just down the street.

The other people staying at Cocomama were also enjoyable. Mature, respectful, and fun-loving. This is one of those rare hostels where it's safe to leave your computer out if you so choose (they have lockers so you don't have to, of course!). I must admit that Amsterdam was not my favorite city on my trip, but entirely thanks to Cocomama (and maybe the Van Gogh museum too) I still had a great time. I can't recommend this hostel highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews