We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant trip!”
Review of Cocomama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cocomama
Ranked #24 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed at Cocomama for 4 nights recently, and I can't speak highly enough of this place. The staff are brilliant and love to socialise with their guests and organise lots of cool activities. I also met lots of interesting travellers and particularly loved the communal / lounge area and the camaraderie between travellers. It is a little more expensive than other hostels but it is worth every penny and more. The rooms are very spacious with high ceilings and massive, comfy bunk beds. They are all themed. I stayed in the windmill room, but there are plenty of others too. The hostel cat Joop was also a little star. I felt sad to leave and will definitely be booking here again when I return to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
There are newer reviews for Cocomama
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 466 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here for three nights just recently and had a fantastic experience. The rooms, facilities and service was faultless, but the little touches were what made it so pleasant...free basic food rations, a relaxed, sociable and clean common room, incredibly cheap bike hire and the friendly hostel cat.

The staff took the time to talk to us when we settled in and during our stay, and gave us some great recommendations and advice about where to go and when. We discovered some brilliant little spots with their help, but also had a lot of questions answered about how locals viewed Amsterdam and tourism, what their opinions were about things like the Red Light District and the coffeshop culture.

Thank you for making our stay so comfortable, we would definitely recommend a trip to Cocomama!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gems91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

First and foremost the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are excellent with in-room shower/toilet, comfortable beds and good space and the communal area is clean with good facilities (including free wifi) and a homely feel. There are activities to do in the evenings however I myself travelled with a friend and so we were often out in the evenings, but for a solo traveller it would offer something to do and opportunities to meet fellow travellers. The hostel isn't amongst the very centre of Amsterdam however it is close enough to walk to the attractions and cultural locations. It even has a cat!

I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone and everyone looking to visit Amsterdam and have a great time knowing that there is a warm and friendly home to go to.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a map (the hostel provided me with one) and Amsterdam is easy to get lost in!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great hostel! Good location. Very attentive and welcoming staff - they were willing to do whatever they could to help and to make your stay enjoyable. Some evenings the staff organised activities. Brilliant lounge area with wifi, nintendo, books, board games, sofas. Well equipped kitchen, always kept very clean by the staff. Back garden for sitting out in nice weather. Friendly atmosphere but it was never too loud or over the top. Cute hostel cat called Joop. My room was compact but big enough. There was a large locker for each person. The massive wooden bunk beds were very comfortable. They will keep your luggage after you check out or if you arrive too early to check in. English seemed to be the main language.There was nothing to complain about really. I don't think I've ever stayed in such a clean hostel. A little more expensive that some Amsterdam hostels, but for what an enjoyable stay I had, it was worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Cocomama was my first time staying at a hostel in Europe, and they totally delivered. The staff was warm and inviting, the beds were incredibly comfortable, and it was great for a solo traveler such as myself because it was really easy to meet people. I took advantage of their bike rental service as well; it really is the best way to get around the city! Cocomama felt like a home away from home. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Absolutely a wonder full stay! Clean! Great bed and sheets! Amazing staff, friendly, helpful, and social. Really enjoyed the bike rental service. I loved the supplied food essentials (spices, pasta, and rice). Awesome and clean kitchen. I made supper almost every night and ate every breakfast at the hostel. And the cat was a pleasant and enjoyable breakfast buddy! Worth every penny!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
merimbula
68
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Ecomama Hotel
Ecomama Hotel
#12 of 238 in Amsterdam
266 reviews
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#9 of 238 in Amsterdam
577 reviews
ClinkNOORD
#6 of 238 in Amsterdam
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#7 of 238 in Amsterdam
821 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
CityHub
#2 of 238 in Amsterdam
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocomama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocomama

Address: Westeinde 18, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $41 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cocomama 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocomama offers the best of both worlds in a super central location in Amsterdam. The luxury and comfort of a hotel and the atmosphere (and budget) of a hostel. The rooms are all Holland themed and range from private doubles to 6-bed dorms (and everything in between). You might share a bathroom in some of the dorms, but those luxurious mattresses and feather duvets are everywhere. Even more importantly, at MAMA, you're not on your own. Travel stories are shared, as is the dinner table. It's a place where you'll make friends and hang out with other international trotters alike in the private garden, living room, cinema, or cook dinner in the fully-equipped kitchen (perfect to keep costs down). And if that doesn't keep you busy enough, the staff organises tons of activities, and Joop (the adorable house cat, a.k.a. man of the house), is there to get cuddled 24/7 too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Cocomama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocomama Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing